We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Family Restaurant We have found” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Country Coffee Shop

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Alpine Country Coffee Shop
41546 Big Bear Blvd, CA 92315
909-866-1959
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 106 Restaurants in Big Bear Region
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Family Restaurant We have found”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great homemade soups, very reasonably priced, very diverse menu, with daily specials. Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Legitimate Local and Friendly Spot for Breakfast - OK Food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

There aren’t too many brunch / breakfast options in Big Bear Lake - for that matter it’s a small town there aren’t too many of any kind of options - but you might find yourself thee anyway taking advantage of the lake, the alpine slide, the clean air etc. - which means you probably will need a decent place to put food in your mouth to start the day. The Alpine Country Coffee Shop will take care of that for you. We settled here on Easter Sunday after a small amount of research ruled out the giant pancakes at Grizzly Manner and the “German Specialities” (which we read as potato pancakes...) as both of those restaurants we’re closed.

I ordered an egg-white omelette with cheese and onions. It was the perfect size and they did the egg whites just right. (If you’re an egg white eater you know how easy it is to get an order of those cooked by someone who doesn’t know what they’re doing so kudoes to the Alpine Country Coffee Shop for getting this right.

The hash browns though we’re a little undercooked and the biscuit which I had for the bread-side was also undercooked. That’s a step better than the fast food or chain diners who microwave their biscuits, but they advertise biscuits and gravy as a house specialty on their menu so would have been nice if that had been completely baked.

My wife had Huevos Rancheros with extra corn tortillas and she found it to be a good basic interpretation of the dish.

The coffee achieved the status of “drinkable.” Not the browned water that some places serve but not quite the bold and robust blends we prefer.

The staff was VERY friendly and the place had a very local feel - though not particularly nicely appointed it was cozy and a legitimate local dining experience. We’d probably try one of the other restaurants assuming we weren’t there on a national holiday, but if they weren’t an option, the Alpine Country Coffee Shop would do the job.

For more reviews from a vegetarian perspective visit Rick and Addie's Vegetarian Food Blog: http://poetrysuperhighway.com/vfb

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatay, ca.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great weekday special breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

For $4.99 we had a full breakfast on a Tuesday AM. This is a nice clean cozy place with a polite staff. The food was good and prices even better.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California
Top Contributor
388 reviews 388 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise In Big Bear Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I am a local in the area and had been to this restaurant many years ago under the prior ownership. I was pleasantly surprised with the food and service as in years past this place was horrible. It is very basic coffee shop fare so do not expect a fine dining experience however, the menu has a variety of American and Mexican dishes and everything is cooked to order. Most important, you receive the food hot , fresh, and prepared as you ordered it. I recommend this location if you have an appetite and do not care about other dining amenities like decor, food presentation, etc.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“These MEXICANS rock”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We were sent here by the owner of the cabin we were staying in, and he recommended to try out their trout.
Well, we followed his advice.
The place is cozy, in the traditional family diner-style.
There was a huge selection of breakfast items( served all day) + an interesting combination of traditional dinners + mexican faves.
It was awesome!!The soup was hearty and homemade, the trout was excellent and the dinner came with the tastiest garlic bread ever.
Seriously, if you want to have spice up your skiing experence with some Mex flavor, this place is the best))

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Country Coffee Shop also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Fawnskin, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Alpine Country Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Country Coffee Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.