We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place with good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cowboy Express Steak House

Cowboy Express Steak House
40433 Lakeview Dr, CA 92315
909-866-1486
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 107 Restaurants in Big Bear Region
Price range: $10 - $30
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
301 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“Fun place with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The place was recommended to us by the front desk of our hotel. We visited on a weekend-evening and enjoyed a perfect prime rib, great quality and really prepared to our order. The ambience is fun and the place was very busy, even during off-season with most of the shops and accomodations around closed. The service was somewhat slow, as they have probably been slightly understaffed during weekend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    31
    15
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Good food and friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had never been here before but decided to give it a try. The steak was tender and the baked potato was crazy big. Our daughter had the 6oz sirloin steak and fries kids meal with desert included. She said everything tasted magical, finished everything. Devin our waiter was friendly. We will be back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good steaks, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

A fellow guest referred us to this cowboy themed bar/steakhouse right across the road from our hotel. They gave us a nice table next to a window with a view of the lake. We ordered a steak on a sizzling hot plate which came perfectly medium rare covered in garlic butter. Choose the baked potato as one of your sides, its great. Even though it was out of season the place was full and this added to the warm, friendly atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California
2 reviews
“Good Service !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I am sometimes slow on getting around to posting things, we went to CESH for a late lunch during midweek food was good , it was nice to sit and it a quiet lunch with no interruption's from the busy day to day activities. We had time to enjoy our drink and talk , without a waitress standing over us ( service was great ). We just ordered a simple lunch type meal which was cooked well done just as we had asked for . Next break we get will be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food and Friendly People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We visited Big Bear Lake for the first time and tried out this place on our first night. I had the Sizzling TriTip Platter at the recommendation of our server. It was great, flavorful, tender, and huge. The meat was served on a sizzling platter drizzling with butter and sprinkled with tiny pieces of garlic. I had the baked potato with butter, sour cream, and chives and baked apple. The sides were also great. The dinner was a special for $21.95 (usually $23,95) and it was worth every penny. My husband had the Pork ribs, also at $21.95, and said they were great. They were accompanied with rice and baked apple. The rice was a mixture of wild and long grain. The portions were huge. We brought home steak, ribs and rice, enough for an second dinner with the addition of some vegis. Our server Chelsea was friendly, efficient, and helpful. She also helped us select a bottle of wine. When we left several of the patrons spoke to us and this really added a pleasant touch to our already great dining experience. We are planning to spend two months at Big Bear Lake this summer and will definitely return many times.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cowboy Express Steak House also viewed

 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Cowboy Express Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cowboy Express Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.