We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose one of the other Mexican restaurants in town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sonora Cantina

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sonora Cantina
41144 Big Bear Blvd, CA 92315
909-866-8202
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 106 Restaurants in Big Bear Region
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Big Bear Region, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Choose one of the other Mexican restaurants in town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I never feel good about writing negative reviews, but there are several really good Mexican restaurants in Big Bear Lake and unfortunately this is not one of them. My husbands exact words with his dinner are "that was the poorest excuse for an enchilada I've ever had."

The atmosphere is average, the food is below average, the location is good, the service is average.

But there are so many much better choices and we would never return here again. Stick with El Jacalito, Hacienda Grill (best atmosphere) and Azteca Grill (great prices and very friendly family run).

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is our go-to place for Mexican food in Big Bear. Everything that we have tried has been delicious, but two of our favorites are the chile verde burrito, and the shredded beef quesadilla. Very good chips and salsa, and the service is always good. Bright, colorful atmosphere, with the booths and walls depicting traditional Mexican culture.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestline, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Amazing Mexican Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

If you are looking for authentic Mexican food, this is the place to go! Everything was fresh and cooked to perfection. I ordered a margarita, but didn't care for the house tequila so I passed it on to my mom. The restaurant has a wonder ambiance, however it feels a little crowded once all of the tables are filled with patrons. I cannot wait to go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great Mexican food at reasonable prices especially considering it is in a resort area. I had the make your own pick 2 combo for about $10. There was also a pick 3. The service was great. If you order a mug of beer take the small size instead of the larger one which cost more per ounce.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I thought this place was cool and the decor was over the top Mexican and very fun.
We had the combo nachos and took home a big box of food after we finished lunch.
The waiter was very nice and it was a cheap meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonora Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Sonora Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonora Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.