We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Atmosphere & Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonora Cantina

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sonora Cantina
41144 Big Bear Blvd, CA 92315
909-866-8202
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 105 restaurants in Big Bear Region
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Tehachapi, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Atmosphere & Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a big group of people and they seated us in an area all to ourselves, so that was a bonus!

It is decorated with mural paintings of old Spanish settings, nicely done.

It was Clean. Staff were Fun and helpful and quick.

I had Shrimp Quesadilla which had big shrimp and was delicious. My husband really enjoyed his dinner as well as the rest of the group. The group has eaten here every year on Memorial Day for many years, so that should tell you something.

The chips & salsa were very good. I can't handle hot, but I could this salsa. You could make it hotter if you wished, they had whatever you needed.

They have a full bar, so you can compliment your meal with whatever you wish.

Prices were reasonable and you got a Full meal.

We will return!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    13
    8
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Big Bear Lake, California, United States
1 review
“Good Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Wonderful food and service. My favorite Mexican rest. on the mountain. The Rojas family is so committed to this community and give back at every opportunity.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“nice mexican restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Eclectic decoration, decent food (on the bland side, I should add) but nice experience. I had the menudo, was not bad but nothing really taste. Wife had a couple of tacos, same thing. Mexican beer $4.00... The place was quite pack despite the fact is not in the Village.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great family Mexican place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We love the chips and salsa here, and always try to bring some home. Service is excellent. Do not expect the entrees to arrive super fast - they are actually cooking it back there. Decor and atmosphere are fun. My kids like to go here every time we go to Big Bear.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“yummy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Love this place~ Have to stop here on every trip to have chili relleno, fresh chips & delish margaritas! Best Mexican food in town!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonora Cantina also viewed

 
Fawnskin, Big Bear Region

Been to Sonora Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonora Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.