We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonora Cantina

Sonora Cantina
41144 Big Bear Blvd, CA 92315
909-866-8202
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 110 Restaurants in Big Bear Region
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Big Bear Lake, California, United States
1 review
“Good Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Wonderful food and service. My favorite Mexican rest. on the mountain. The Rojas family is so committed to this community and give back at every opportunity.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    7
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“nice mexican restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Eclectic decoration, decent food (on the bland side, I should add) but nice experience. I had the menudo, was not bad but nothing really taste. Wife had a couple of tacos, same thing. Mexican beer $4.00... The place was quite pack despite the fact is not in the Village.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great family Mexican place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We love the chips and salsa here, and always try to bring some home. Service is excellent. Do not expect the entrees to arrive super fast - they are actually cooking it back there. Decor and atmosphere are fun. My kids like to go here every time we go to Big Bear.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“yummy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Love this place~ Have to stop here on every trip to have chili relleno, fresh chips & delish margaritas! Best Mexican food in town!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
“Terrible food, great salsa & margaritas”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Our anticipation of a great meal was set by great margaritas, great salsa, good chips, excellent & friendly service. Sadly, the food was terrible! Tacos tasted like meat had been simmered in dishwater, carne asada burrito was so tasteless even the salsa didn't help. we filled up on chips, salsa, margaritas & will never return

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonora Cantina also viewed

 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Fawnskin, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Sonora Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonora Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.