We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sandwiches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grizzly's Beer Belly Deli & Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Grizzly's Beer Belly Deli & Cafe
42530 Moonridge Rd, CA 92315
909-8585-4266
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 106 Restaurants in Big Bear Region
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Indio, CA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The name of the Deli is incorrect!! It is Grizzly's "BEAR" Belly Deli not "BEER"!!!
We have spent July and August in Big Bear Lake. Based on a local's recommendation we went to the Deli for lunch. Our sandwich was wonderful. Since then we have had 15 more sandwiches, 6 different ones, there or took them with us. My husband didn't care for the chicken salad sandwich, but I thought it was very good. All the others have been grand. My favorite was the BBQ Beef and my husband really liked the Philly Cheese Steak. The sandwiches are huge and we have split them. One half was more than enough. They have a card and each time you buy a sandwich they punch the card. Ten punches and the next one is free. What a deal!! The employees are super friendly and I feel like a friend when I go in the place. The sandwiches range in price from $6.00 to $9.45. They also have weekday specials.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worst Customer Service EVER!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I were in Big Bear for the weekend and stopped by this place after reading about it on Trip Advisor. We have literally NEVER experienced such rudeness, and we live in Southern California so that's saying a lot. We called before we got there just to verify they were open since it was a Sunday. The girl on the phone was very abrupt, but we didn't put too much stock in that and went ahead on over to the deli. When we arrived, my husband went in and asked if he could purchase some chicken salad. The girl at the counter said, "What do you want?" so he repeated that he would like to get some chicken salad. She just stared at him blankly and shoved a menu at him saying, "Here's our menu!" There was one other girl working behind the counter and she just glared at him. Needless to say, he walked out without purchasing anything. I don't know if they just don't sell chicken salad by itself, but how on earth is that an excuse for this kind of rudeness?! Just tell your customer that you don't happen to sell what they're asking for. Whoever runs this business should be ashamed of the staff they had working on Sunday May 12th. Don't bother. Go to Amangela's in Big Bear village instead!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good quality, kinda pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Just had lunch here. Good quality meats & cheese. Not as big a sandwich as I thought they'd be based on prior reviews. Sides are extra - fries were ok.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

It's actually BEAR Belly Deli, not BEER. The food is very good--high quality ingredients which complement each other. My husband had a Salsalito Turkey sandwich and I had a custom grilled ham sandwich. Very tasty. Also, the coleslaw wasn't too sweet so I was happy with that. Seating is limited and although it's a clean, fairly comfortable place, it doesn't have much ambiance. In one corner they have posted a bunch of pictures of people's bare bellies to go along with their theme which I decided not to look at. I'd go there again, for sure.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great sandwiches and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stopped here after a hike and enjoyed great sandwiches and yummy potato salad. The staff was very nice and checked in on us during our lunch. The small eating area was very clean and they have tables outside on the patio and water for our pups!

A great place that we'd definitely visit again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grizzly's Beer Belly Deli & Cafe also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Grizzly's Beer Belly Deli & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grizzly's Beer Belly Deli & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.