We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bear Lake

Big Bear Lake
Hwys 30, 330 & 18, CA
909-866-4345
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Skiing, Hiking, Biking, Sailing
Attraction details
Yucca Valley, California
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My wife and I took our first trip up here for our anniversary. I'm sure we'll be back when it's a bit warmer to go hiking. I think we'll try to go in the middle of the week to avoid some of the weekend holiday crowd as it's very much a weekend destination for Southern California

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    65
    21
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cordoba, Argentina
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“I will come again, for sure...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My wife woke up and told me: "Let's go to Big Bear...."
I was not really convinced (of course) I agreed.
It became a beautiful surprise.
Other than the painfully slow traffic along Riverside Highway, the road is one of those you want to drive again and again.
Once there, the Visitor Center gives you plenty of useful information, you get a warm welcome in every store, the lake side is a place to spend hours.....
Will come again.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg District, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“WAOUW! This is an uncredibly beautifull spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

By chance, on the road between Death Valley and Palm springs, we discovered the very charming village with all it's small nice wood houses into the trees. We immediately decided to rent skis because the snow was just fresh and we loved this first american skiing experience. This is not Courchevel of course but here no french arrogance, only kind people everywhere. We do not recommand to travel 12 hours plane just for going this place but I do recommand if you are joining the coast from the desert to drive through this just beautifull nature around Big Bear Mountains!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Snow Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Lake was partially forzon. Beautiful. There are lots of family with kids play snow, sledding, walking, making snow men in the park. It's a great stopping point to relax, bring a picnic, Kodak moment.

This lake has a marina that you can do boating activities, fishing, etc in summer time as well.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Grrrreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Big Bear Lake is excellent, must do a boat ride across it. Beautiful and peaceful...what more to ask for?

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bear Lake also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Big Bear Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bear Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.