We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Marina Resort to your Saves list
Marina Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   40770 Big Bear Blvd., 40770 Big Bear Blvd., CA 92315   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Redlands, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My husband and I have stayed here before, this time we came on a mini vacation while our daughters were at camp and we weren't disappointed. The staff is very nice, accommodating and responsive to requests. We were always greeted with a smile and "good morning/afternoon" from any staff we saw in the hallways. The room was very nice, clean and comfortable, we had a balcony with an awesome view of the lake. Their beds are very comfortable and they have a great rule of quiet time after 10 pm. This hotel is right across the street from the village with shopping, restaurants and bars so you don't have to drive if you don't want to. It's also right on the lake and next to one of the marinas where you can rent water craft, they even have their own slips if you have your own boat/wave runner. We will be back.

Room Tip: The top floor has awesome views of the lake and privacy. The bottom rooms are great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaBBL, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Denise we are thrilled you had a great time and we appreciate you staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    107
    32
    22
    14
See reviews for
85
98
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The first night we were in Big Bear, we stayed at another hotel but the pool filter broke. We checked-out and they suggested we try the Marina Resort. The moment we walked into the lobby, we knew we were in the right place. The knotty pine furniture and killer lake views combined with a welcoming attitude by the staff made for a nice welcome. We got a great rate and although it was only noon, our room (209) was ready within 20 minutes. We opened the door to a lovely and totally remodeled room with two double beds (firm, 7 pillows each), sliding door to balcony, good size frig., granite counter top (in the mini-bar and throughout bath), flat screen TV on wall, tons of towels including 4 pool towels in the closet, ceiling fan, desk w/stool. Lots of details…. Like a night light in the bathroom, modern fixtures and make-up toilettes. Room was super clean and I felt easy bringing a kid into that. We loved the pool area and jacuzzi. Plenty of chairs and again, such a nice overview of the lake…right at the edge. The hotel does have a playground for the little ones and some bbqs. If you have toddlers, maybe get a room on the lowest level so the room walks right out to the grass, lake and pool level. Everyone here is very nice. The maintenance gentleman even let my son feed the koi fish this morning. It’s the little things that make a hotel become a home away from home. This one succeeded. My only complaint if you can even call it that is the water pressure in the shower was a bit low. I would recommend this hotel without any reservations for families or couples. Also and very importantly, it is family owned and operated which is a great thing to support.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaBBL, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Meg, we so appreciate your review and were thrilled to have you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytle Creek, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We have taken our grandkids (ages 16, 14, and 5) twice and both times they had so much fun that they didn't want to leave. They spent the day on the park-like grounds playing volley ball, badminton, ping pong, swimming. There is a tot lot for the little ones. We got a lower level room with a nice patio table where we ate food that we brought and we could observe the kids at play. The rooms are decorated in rustic cabin decor that I think is beautiful. There is good storage space, 3 large drawers that came in handy for storing our food. The bathroom had shelves for personal items. The beds are comfortable. We saw several guests catch fish from the lake then carry it up to barbecue right on the property. If I were to go without the grandkids, I would get an upper level room but the lower level is nice for them because the fun is right outside the door.
There were only two things that I can think of that were a problem for us: no microwave and the noise from the room above us (footsteps constantly).

Room Tip: If you bring kids, bottom level is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaBBL, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Mary, we appreciated your feed back on the noise. We are currently working on intsalling a new sound proofing system throughout the hotel. We apologize if the lobby microwave was inconvenient for you. We really try to have a lot of activites for our guests, and we were happy to know you were able to enjoy them. Thanks so much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel focuses on the "woodsy" country look and feel, with large exposed beams and wooden furniture and fittings. The rooms are not large, nor particularly well appointed. We paid $10 extra for a lake view, only to discover that all of the rooms face the lake! So we felt a bit "ripped off". However, the beds are comfortable, which is the main thing you want. The bathroom was small, but serviceable. We were there in summer, and the weather was good. Big Bear Lake is a nice area, and the restaurants were within easy walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaBBL, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
All of our rooms do have a lake view, you are right. Perhaps you were charged for a different floor or room size. Nonetheless, we do apologize if you were negatively impacted by the miscommunication. Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The pro on this hotel is the view and location.
There is easy walking distance to the "village center".
You are right on the lake.
The con is basically the room itself.
Comes across great in photos but really not that impressive.
Lots of needed repairs and just plain unfinished work.
I wouldn't stay here again for the money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaBBL, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
We thank you for your feedback and apologize if you were dissatisfied with your stay. We are continuing to make improvements to the property, including remodeling rooms, in order to better accommodate our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We loved this place. After a long trip, it was like a breath of fresh air. Friendly, clean, and comfortable. It is within walking distance of stores and restaurants. I would definitely recommend it to anyone and will stay here again the next time we are in the area.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaBBL, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Stephanie, thank you so much for the great review! We appreciate you staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twentynine Palms, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Wow, just stayed here on 5-21-14, and the rooms were AMAZING. Everything was brand new and so comfortable. I was worried when I saw the review about the dirty carpet, but was relieved when I showed up and saw brand new carpet, granite in the bathroom, wood flooring in the entry and new mirror closet doors. This was well worth the money! And to top everything off... the view is killer! You are literally right on the lake and have a gorgeous view of big bear!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaBBL, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We are so glad you gave us a try Vicky! Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Resort

Address: 40770 Big Bear Blvd., 40770 Big Bear Blvd., CA 92315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake front Lodge themed hotel on the shore of Big Bear Lake. Centrally located to Big Bear Lake Village and only 1 Mile from Skiing. All rooms are lake front. Beautiful location for Summer Weddings and & special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Big Bear Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.