We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly tasty soups and good sandwiches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vons

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Vons
42170 Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear City, CA 92315
909-866-8459
Website
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Surprisingly tasty soups and good sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stopped into Von's to pick up some staple items for our stay. We were surprised to see a line at the deli sandwich counter. After a disastrous lunch at a local sandwich shop, we decided to find up what the line was all about. We were very pleased with the sandwich (made with fresh cut deli meats) and the soups. Service was friendly, price was reasonable and it was a great take out meal.

There is a table with chairs and a bench outside the store but we opted to eat on our unit's balcony and enjoy the fresh mountain air.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
san Diego
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Yay it has a Starbucks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The only major supermarket in Big Bear is Vons.This was a welcomed find especially finding a Starbucks right inside.Prices were good and people were friendly.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California
Top Contributor
396 reviews 396 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“THE BEST GROCERY STORE IN BIG BEAR VALLEY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My wife and I are full-time residents of Big Bear Lake and have been going to the Big Bear Lake Von's for many years. Their service is very friendly, their prices are competitive, their produce is of very good quality, and they have a good selection of alcoholic beverages (especially wine) to chose from. The only negative is that their sub and other sandwiches made in their deli tend to be very dry, plain, and tasteless (an issue we have made known to management). I highly recommend this grocery store when in the Big Bear Valley as they should be able to meet all of your needs.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“One essential place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Went to this store several times in September 2013.

It has a wide variety of supermarket items, fresh fruit and bakery and co-operative staff.

Really great specials if you are a local, so, if you make friends with a local, and can get their phone #, write it down, show it at the check-out and we were able to qualify for the reduction!

Plenty of parking too with other shops nearby. Go there!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Price and Inventory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great Price and Inventory like any other Vons... Had everything that we needed for our 2 day vacation,.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vons also viewed

Big Bear City, Big Bear Region
Big Bear City, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear City, Big Bear Region
Big Bear City, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Vons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.