We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of food for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lumberjack Cafe

Lumberjack Cafe
1001 W Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear City, CA 92314-9561
909-585-2129
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Big Bear City, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lots of food for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Great breakfasts..homemade taste.Lunch and dinners are great also. Live close so we go often..Almost better than what I can make

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    9
    7
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“If you use a GPS to find it is two words "Lumber Jack" and prepare to wait”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I'm always interested in new things so I tried the chilequiles. This is an concoction of corn tortillas quartered upon which they layer onions, radishes, Mexican soft cheese and they smother that in green tomatillo salsa (red was another option). On this were a couple of eggs to order. Quite tasty but a couple of things were a bit off: the tortillas really should have been fried to a crisp (I knew this before I found out the traditional version http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chilaquiles) because they turned out to be soggy. Another problem was the salsa was canned, too salty, and lacked any amount of freshness. This would be a really great dish with just a couple of tweaks.

The coffee was pretty good, The other dish we ordered was a veggie omelet homemade biscuit with fruit on the side. There was no German options on the menu as indicated by an earlier review (dang, I wanted potato pancakes with apple sauce and sour cream), they had been replaced by Mexican options.

Service: Very nice people. I did get my dish 8 minutes after the omelet was served, a big disappointment. Somebody came in after us and had their food before they started mine which is a particular gripe. This cost them one rating point.

Parking is good, the place is clean. I didn't see the restroom. Local crowd which is a good thing.

$28 for two was too expensive. The other place we ate breakfast was the Teddy Bear which was a better deal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great meals at great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Love the atmosphere and food. Great breakfast menu. Will definitely become a regular. Have not been there yet for lunch, but I will definitely do that. If their lunch is as good as their breakfasts, I will be more than satisfied.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This rustic, mountain cafe is small, but the service is great (they strive to go out of their way to please), the food is always delicious (the menu has several options), the prices are very reasonable and it has a fun atmosphere! This place probably sees more locals than tourist, as it is away from the main part of town. You would stop here if someone has referred this restaurant to you, you were leaving the mountain going down the back way (Route 38), or you have eaten here before! See you soon! Patricia (Fawnskin resident)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent home town style restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Excellent place to stop unwind and relax. Excellent food with an amazing atmosphere. Gonna stop here next time I go back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lumberjack Cafe also viewed

Big Bear City, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Region, CA
 
Fawnskin, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Lumberjack Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lumberjack Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.