We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected happiness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mulita

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Mulita
201 W Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear City, CA 92314
909-584-8736
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Fallbrook, CA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Unexpected happiness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

It looked like the perfect "hole in the wall" type of homemade establishment. We were served stale tortilla chips and underwhelming salsa so we were a bit nervous about the food. Well, the food was unbelievably good. I got the special "Spicy Beef" which was in a green sauce with lots of black pepper and I am still craving it. The boys got crispy tacos which were very good and my Sis got a Carne Asada Burrito that fed her 2 more meals but it wasn't just big...it was tasty!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Seafood Enchilada was to die for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

It was pretty busy but the servers were still there for a smile and very attentive to our group of 5. I had to take my plate home and enjoyed it the next day for lunch. Great place for margaritas!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food to go ?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Service slow food was average order was wrong in parts

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear City, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Thats-a some-a spicy salsa!!!"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

If you like spicy, you'll love their salsa! Really the best on the mountain. I live in Big Bear and La Mulita really does have the best Mexican food. Everthing is fresh and from scratch. The staff is so friendly. Nothing fancy so don't expect ambiance, but absolutely do try it for good food!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake
1 review
“Quality Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

My family and I went for the first time to La Mulita and were so surprised when the food we ordered was absolutly delicious! We ordered two burritos which were very large and contained high quality ingrediance. We ordered a steak Quesidia for our little boy and I found myself wanting to try a 2nd piece. The steak was high quality and seasoned absolutly perfectly. Great restaurant and well worth the money! Thanks!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mulita also viewed

Big Bear City, Big Bear Region
Big Bear City, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear City, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to La Mulita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mulita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.