We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Job Well Done” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY Beverly Hills

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SIXTY Beverly Hills to your Saves list
SIXTY Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9360 Wilshire Boulevard, Beverly Hills, CA 90212 (Beverly Hills)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Beverly Hills
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A Job Well Done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

The Thompson is awesome! From the valet, to the front desk, to the pool, I was treated with a warm sense of welcome, and a desire to please. With decor as inviting as the Thompson the service can easily become lost. I never waited for my car, an attendant at the desk, or service on the roof whether poolside or barside. On my last day, I had an evening appointment before my red-eye flight, and was worried about having to hang around town because of the regular check out time. No worries, $100 and I was extended till five - perfect. That meant I could spend more time at the pool, and then prepare for the evening in my room rather then wandering around LA trying to kill time.

OK let's get to the digs. The design is awesome from top to bottom. For those who bemoan the hip-swanky feel of every detail I've got two words for you...RITZ-CARLTON. I'm sure you'll find the conservative, understated design and culture that you desire. Newsflash, sleek upscale hotels cater to a large and I'd venture to say growing segment of the market. Ask Ian Schrager, or better yet ask his accountant. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy a well executed Ritz as well. (see my past reviews) The point is not go to one hotel, and complain because it's not like the other. I met guests of every age that appreciated The Thompson and all of its charms.

In my view, LA is a different city then NY, Chi-Town, or Miami. You kinda have to be in the know to find a good place to people watch or just relax. The great part about the Thompson is that the scene comes to you. Have a few hours to kill before your next appointment stroll up to the roof and see what's going on. Not sure where to eat, travel down stairs for great food, in a wonderful atmosphere. Want do to a little walking around, Rodeo is 4 blocks away. In the market for a Ferrari there's a dealership next door.

My one mistake was renting a car. I generally would never consider being in the land of traffic without a vehicle, since it's not a pedestrian city, but Beverly Hills is a stroll around town, and that's just what I did with the Thompson serving as my base of operations. I set a personal record for least miles expended on a 4 day rental.

This hotel offers a great value great location, atmosphere, and service. For business or pleasure, single or with spouse I highly recommend. I can't wait to come back, I miss The Thompson.
Cheers

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    160
    65
    38
    39
See reviews for
52
174
58
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

For the money, this place isn't worth it ... unless you're under 40 and looking for action!
The location in Beverly Hills was fine, but the room was straight out of a slick magazine ... visually hip, but with nothing you expect from a $300/night hotel. The bathroom was so dark that I needed a flash light to shave. The bed was hard, but the bigger problem was that it was covered with a simple bed-spread that was too hot for the level of A/C. No sheet, just bed-spread. The hip flat screen had fewer channels than an old fashioned rabbit-ear variety.
The hotel has a great roof-top deck with a great view. However, it's also a West LA hot spot, so, if you're of average looks or a day over 40, you simply don't belong. And the "velvet rope" extends to the lobby and you're forced to show your room key to go to bed ... not a bad thing for security, but this was all about "belonging."
We got an LA Times each morning, but that didn't make me much happier. At least I had something to read while they searched for my car at $30 a night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

i have stayed at many many los angeles hotels, from santa monica to west hollywood to beverly hills. i was concerned that this was a 'party' hotel but was proved wrong.
i have now been a guest 5 times runnub=ng in the last 4 months and have experienced different rooms with different views. i was amazed at how QUIET the hotel is. There can be alot of hustle and bustle going on dowmstairs as well as up at the pool but i have never been inconvenienced or kept awake (a big big concern) by any of this.
there is a great security system, need your key for the elevator, so this also means that anyone ebjoying the evening poolside must be a hotel guest, and strangers are not roaming the hallways.
it is also a bonus to have a wonderful restaurant downstairs. i was surprised that the offerings seemed so scarce until i discovered that the sushi chef looks forward to creating according to individual taste...
the staff i have always found to be ready to help with anything and very attentive. room service was even 'peppy' when i called at midnight for a burger...not your typical yawning second string staff, like i have found in other hotels.
the rooms are minimalist in design, sometimes you do wish for more carpeting, but thus is a design element, and surprisingly does not mean that the rooms are cold or noisey

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

My boyfriend and i stayed for 5 nights in Thompson Hotel before our road trip to Vegas and we loved every second there. The staff were fantastic, especially Rebecca on the concierge who was so helpful. The front desk and valet were fantastic too.

The rooftop bar and swimming pool were out of this world with the most amazing 360 degrees view of L.A and The Hills. The food and drinks were yummy. The pool was clean with fluffy white towels on the sun beds, very quiet and relaxing up there.

The rooms were modern, comfortable and cleaned every day with fresh towels. The shower was great and the bed was so comfortable with the huge plasma TV on the wall.

I don't understand what other people are complaining about, i loved it here and would recommend it to anyone. Rodeo Drive is a 5 min walk away, we had breakfast there every morning. Had the best time!!! The only thing i would say is that the hotel is not very child friendly.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

Stayed at this hotel last year for a week, posted a review, but it never showed up. No sure why, but now that I've found some down time, I highly recommend it for tourists, though not necessarily for work, which is what I was doing. The lobby and bars are dark and intimate and posh. The rooms are done in a retro 70's style, with large platform beds, with strips of blue-tinted mirror on the ceiling, leather and chrome furniture that is much more for style than comfort, and big acrylic ball lights. Black sheers on the sliding glass door to the balcony make a beautiful, muted backdrop of BH at night, and there are, of course, gorgeous marble bathrooms. This is a Thompson property after all. But my favorite thing about the room? Hardwood floors! In an L.A. hotel! Stained dark and in a herringbone pattern. A little scratched from all that rolling luggage, but still really appreciated.

The service was excellent from start to finish, with unexpected extras like sake and wasabi peas to greet me, and milk and cookies the night before I left. My only gripe was that the beds don't have top sheets. The maid changes the duvet cover every day, so you either have to sleep with a down comforter every night, or nothing. Strange. Also, the desk chair, made of chrome with a cowhide seat was really not comfortable, though it sure looked sharp, but after hours at the computer my lower back longed for something more practical.

All the food ordered from room service was also quite good. Unfortunately, the pool was being repaired during my visit so I can't comment on it.

Don't know how older, more conservative travelers will feel about the 70's
"louche" style of the place, with its long, dark hallways, and I wouldn't recognize it for business travelers who have to work in the room, but I think others will be quite happy with the style and service here, but it doesn't come cheap.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

Thompson, Beverly Hills is a wonderful experience from Valet to fabulous dining. The hotel is in a great location - 10 minutes from Century City Business District, 20 minutes from downtown LA, and very close to Beverly Hills designer shopping. Thompson is comfortable, relaxing, and incredible roof-top city views, I was greeted with a smile from the valet to the doorman. They offer internet access, excellent guest services, and a very hip, unique style.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

I met some friends who were staying at the Beverly Wilshire, and had heard that the rooftop bar was the hippest place in Beverly Hills, and had tried to get in earlier in the week. They were very pleased to be able to get in with me, and we all loved my room with the leather, the high end AV and all the rest of the glamourous accoutrements.

Can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SIXTY Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY Beverly Hills

Address: 9360 Wilshire Boulevard, Beverly Hills, CA 90212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Beverly Hills > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
#11 Luxury Hotel in Beverly Hills
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — SIXTY Beverly Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
California Cool meets East Coast sophistication at this erudite respite located in the glamorous Los Angeles enclave, minutes from Rodeo Drive boutiques and Hollywood power-playgrounds. The International Style-designed SIXTY Beverly Hills is a serene-but-scene-stealing outpost featuring luxurious comforts like bespoke furnishings, artfully designed bedroom suites and a gallery of Hollywood-evocative imagery. A cinematic Above SIXTY Beverly Hills rooftop bar and outdoor poolside lounge provide balmy zephyrs and panoramic views of L.A.'S fabled canyons while the tony-but-fuss-free Caulfield's Bar and Dining Room is the all-hours spot for casual New American cuisine comforts. SIXTY Beverly hills is part of SIXTY Hotels, the new, innovative brand of luxury inns in New York, Los Angeles, with Miami debuting soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your SIXTY Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Hotel Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills Thompson Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIXTY Beverly Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.