We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deepest Darkest Beverly Hills” 2 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY Beverly Hills

Save Saved
You added SIXTY Beverly Hills to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SIXTY Beverly Hills
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9360 Wilshire Boulevard, Beverly Hills, CA 90212 (Formerly Thompson Beverly Hills)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 14 hotels in Beverly Hills
Toronto, ON
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Deepest Darkest Beverly Hills”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

If you're looking for a trendy Beverly Hills Hotel with dim hallways, dark bedrooms and 14.95/day barely working wifi, this is your spot. The only thing this hotel has going for it is the location, close to Canon and Rodeo Drive. For the business traveller this is not the spot for you, if you are here to live like the stars this is your speed. Besides the bonus of a central location the rooftop deck is gorgeous and has a great view but watch their serving times, there's a switch over period between 4-6pm when there's no service???? Also, I think my room was below the gym at 6am, I swear I could hear someone running on a tread mill…sound proofing not so good.

Room Tip: Avoid the 8th floor, see note about treadmill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    125
    56
    34
    36
See reviews for
42
142
54
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Location is amazing, 2 blocks walking from Rodeo drive (for whoever wants to walk in LA!! yes, it is possible!) and 1 block from Canon Dr, full of restaurants and bars.
The rooftop pool is really nice and during the week less busy than at the weekends. Rooftop bar is nice overlooking Hollywood hills, it also serves some food.
Wifi free at the rooftop bar and in the lobby

Room a bit dark, but newly refurbished and slick. I'd recommend it

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My friend and I had booked this hotel in a British Airways deal which included flight and car. We arrived one busy Friday evening. Imagine our disappointment when we found they'd lost our 6 night reservation somewhere in their system! However the staff were very helpful and put us in the penthouse for one night ($4,000 dollars a night, RRP), and then transferred us to our double suite the next day, with very little hassle. I must say the front desk staff were excellent throughout our stay.

Valet parking is essential here, and with the exchange rate for the pound being increasingly favourable, we didn't mind paying the $35 daily charge. The car was promptly stored and delivered and we gave the lads a small tip each time, ensuring excellent service.

The restaurant on the ground floor has a full and varied service - we dined here twice when we were too tired to go out. The food was delicious, and the staff were again, very friendly.

The rooms - the penthouse was immaculate and enormous. We were also content with our double suite for the remaining 5 nights. On the fourth floor were glad that our room faced away from the road. Anything you wanted, housekeeping brought up - wine glasses, iron board, help with switching a light on- all very prompt.

The lifts - there are two, but one was not working for most of our stay, which was a little annoying at times because the rooftop bar (8th or was it 9th floor?) is understandably frequented by visitors to the hotel, due to it's idyllic setting and amazing views across Hollywood.

Would I stay here again? Definitely. Good value for it's location, and easy to drive to places from here. Cabs to West Hollywood for dinner in the evening were cheap, and there's a Whole Foods 5 minutes walk away to do some celebrity spotting!

All in all, thank you for a great stay in our first trip to LA.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBH, General Manager at SIXTY Beverly Hills, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Gordor10,

Thank you for the kind thoughts all around. We are incredibly happy that you enjoyed your time with us! I am happy that my team was able to accommodate you well even though the reservation was somehow lost. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind regards,
Dene Nui
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Overall, great hotel. Great location close to amazing restaurants and shopping all within walking distance. The decor is kind of retro modern...my room was a king premium which was a really nice sized room with desk, great snacks, small but functional bathroom. The view as great which was on wilshire blvd but quiet. The hallways of the hotel are made of a black, shiny laminate which gives the hotel its overall look. Room service and attached restaurant was overly pricey in my opinion but there are a lot of other options nearby. The rooftop pool is amazing!

Room Tip: Get a premium room...a little larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBH, General Manager at SIXTY Beverly Hills, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Cooking_Hawaiian,

Thank you for providing us with your kind thoughts! I am happy that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Dene Nui
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed here as part of our honeymoon. Were promised champagne and chocolates on arrival which never came - which is fine as it would have been an extra.

Extremely dark rooms, not sure if they are saving on electricity or what. Watch for the ugly timber bed frames - you will knock your leg at least 2-3 times against it. Rooms tiny fit for midgets otherwise quite clean and cute.

Nice rooftop bar with fantastic views.

Overall 4.5/10

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Overall I did not like this hotel and would not return but there were a few pros. Great location right off Wilshire, just a few blocks from Rodeo Drive. The staff was friendly and professional. The rooftop bar/patio was amazing with great views.

Unfortunately there was nothing else about this hotel I liked. The décor, wallpaper, mirrors and furniture make you feel like you are on the set of "The Shining". You enter a small mirrored elevator to get to your rooms, when you exit the elevator the mirrors and paint are so overwhelming you can't figure out which way to go to find your room. Once you finally get to your room you open the door and the rooms are small, oddly shaped with long hallways leading to miniature rooms. Most rooms have poor view over a parking lot. There are so many mirrors and bizarre artwork in this little room its impossible to get comfortable. I was here in a large group and many of us discussed how challenging it was sleeping in the weird rooms. The temperature control was very poor and it was difficult to get comfortable. The beds, linens, towels, bathroom fixtures and furniture felt very cheap.

There are plenty of nice hotels in Los Angeles, I would recommend staying at one of them and pass on the Thompson Beverly Hills. Great place to visit for a drink on the roof.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBH, General Manager at SIXTY Beverly Hills, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Airbound13,

Thank you for the kind response in regards to the staff as well as the ABH - Rooftop, Bar & Lounge. We are sorry that this hotel was not a proper fit for your stay.

Kind regards,
Dene Nui
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

had the best time in LA staying in this fab hotel. walking distance to rodeo drive and felt really safe staying here. loved the free coffee before 7am kept me going till we left for our daily trips. went to spago which is so near great food and rooftop pool is the coolest place. loved it. rooms were clean ,fresh and immaculate always choc left when we got in at nights. would recommend to stay to anyone wanting to walk for shops and restaurants

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBH, General Manager at SIXTY Beverly Hills, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Susiebfur5678,

I so happy to hear about your pleasurable stay! We are glad you enjoyed the hotel, location, complimentary coffee & chocolate. Come back and visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
Dene Nui
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SIXTY Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY Beverly Hills

Address: 9360 Wilshire Boulevard, Beverly Hills, CA 90212 (Formerly Thompson Beverly Hills)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Beverly Hills
#11 Luxury Hotel in Beverly Hills
#13 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY Beverly Hills 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merging the cool aesthetic of late 1960's design with the manicured elegance of Beverly Hills, Sixty Beverly Hills is an outpost of decadence in the heart of Los Angeles. Designer Dodd Mitchell has outfitted the sleek 107 room hotel with authentic exotic materials and custom made furniture, highlighting guestrooms with unexpected glass and leather accents. The guestroom artwork throughout the rooms and hallways is by world-renowned fashion photographer Steven Klein. The on-site restaurant Caulfield’s features classic renditions, delicate farmers market small plates and homemade desserts, topped off with handcrafted cocktails, artisan wines and craft beers. ABH, the stunning rooftop bar and pool lounge serves as an exclusive escape for guests and members, offering breathtaking views of downtown Los Angeles and the Hollywood Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Loews Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your SIXTY Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Hotel Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills Thompson Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIXTY Beverly Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.