We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad hotel choice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY Beverly Hills

Save Saved
You added SIXTY Beverly Hills to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SIXTY Beverly Hills
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9360 Wilshire Boulevard, Beverly Hills, CA 90212 (Formerly Thompson Beverly Hills)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 14 hotels in Beverly Hills
Bonn, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad hotel choice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We spent 2 nights in Thompson Hotel and this was the worse experience from our one month US tour.
The first issue was with the valet parking: they are charging a huge amount of money for parking on their premises but their service is extremely bad: the first day when we picked up the car we had to wait around 10 minutes for them to bring us the car and, when they finally brought it, the car was smelling like cigarettes and we also found a cigarette bud on the floor.
The second issue was when, after returning to the room, we realized that the maid has thrown away my night guard which I left on a napkin on the bathroom sink. After complaining to the reception they investigated and concluded that the maids have seen it and they did not throw it out. They also claimed that they checked the trash from our room but couldn't find it. So, the result was that I will need to pay a considerable sum to replace it and they declined all responsibility and suggested that I should go to the police and file a theft report.
Overall, the hotel is far too expensive for what they offer (the rooms are small as well) and their service is really poor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    125
    56
    34
    36
See reviews for
42
142
54
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Md. USA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Very conveniently located, 20 minutes from airport (not during rush hour!) We arrived late--2 am due to flight delay but were promptly serviced. First room had smell of smoke so they gave us another room. Decor is all black and white, shiny and "sophisticated". Clean, roomy, nice amenities like leaf-shaped soap. Rooftop has small pool and view of LA, also a popular bar.
We enjoyed coffee and appetizers there. Valet parking available. Excellent service all-around.
Would stay there again. No 5 star review because of smoke smell in first room and one elevator was not working for a while.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor facing another building so it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We spent 2 nights here during out Honeymoon in California and thoroughly enjoyed it. As soon as you arrive the Hotel feels very stylish, modern and personal. Our room was a good size, spotless and really comfortable. We were even given a bottle of champagne as it was our Honeymoon. The reception staff were really helpful and gave good recommendations. This hotel is literally 5 mins walk from Rodeo Drive and about 10 mins to the start of the LA bus tours. We will definitely stay here next time we visit LA.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBH, General Manager at SIXTY Beverly Hills, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Kelda D,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about you recent stay. I am thrilled to hear that you had a memorable Honeymoon trip and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back next year for your Anniversary trip.

Kind regards,
Dene Nui
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I came back to the Thompson last month, this time for 6 days- the longest I have stayed yet. Everything was perfect especially thanks to the amazing service from Peter at the front desk once again! Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBH, General Manager at SIXTY Beverly Hills, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Diana504,

Thank you for your loyalty to Thompson Beverly Hills. It is always great welcoming back a familiar face. I will make sure to pass on the kind words about Peter.
We look to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Dene Nui
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My son and I visited LA for the first time and staying at the Thompson Beverly Hills made the trip very special. Stunning views from the rooftop pool, comfy beds and really friendly staff- big thank you to Adam our concierge- nothing was too much trouble .The location is great and we used local buses to get to most places . It's the most relaxing city centre hotel ever ! I'm planning a return trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBH, General Manager at SIXTY Beverly Hills, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear A S,

Thank you for your kind words. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel and the service from our staff. We are very proud of Adam. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Dene Nui
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London. U.K.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at the Thompson Beverley Hills for three nights from 2nd October. It was our first time in LA and we'd heard very different suggestions about where to stay but decided to stay in Beverley Hills on a friend's recommendation. It was a great choice.

It was the beginning of our honeymoon and we were delighted to be upgraded to a Thompson Suite (we had booked a Wilshire Suite). The room was huge and had great views over LA. We were also treated to a half bottle of champagne in our room, which again was a lovely touch. The room had a huge soaking tube in a separate room and the most comfortable bed ever! The concierge gave us good recommendations about places to eat and also gave us tips about getting around LA and sightseeing (we didn't have a car).

There are good places to eat in the vicinity (would recommend Urth Cafe for a casual lunch/dinner and the Farm of Beverley Hills for a lovely breakfast) and it was also surprisingly quiet which was a nice relief after sightseeing.

We also took advantage of the gym which has great equipment for a hotel gym and had a really nice early morning swim in the rooftop pool.

The staff were pleasant, efficient and attentive. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend the Thompson for a trip to LA!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBH, General Manager at SIXTY Beverly Hills, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Thejimbletons,


Congratulations, and thank you for choosing to celebrate the honeymoon with us at The Thompson Beverly Hills! We are delighted to hear that you and your spouse enjoyed the Thompson Suite.

Come back and see us again soon, possibly for your one-year anniversary?

Kind regards,

Dene Nui
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I just enjoyed a wonderful weekend stay at the Thompson. The hotel is modern and sleek, and the rooms are very comfortable. What stood out for us was the service. Upon check-in, and upon learning that we were newlyweds, the front desk staff upgraded us to a suite - which was so not necessary, but so very appreciated! We found Adam, the concierge, to be especially helpful and enjoyable to sit and talk with. All of his recommendations were outstanding because he was really good at understanding what we were looking for. I've found that other concierges just have their "list" and don't really listen to what the guest wants. Adam is the opposite - he really takes the time to listen, and then tailors his recommendations so that they're a perfect fit! We will definitely stay at the Thompson again the next time we're in L.A.

Room Tip: The madeline cookies from the restaurant are fantastic!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SIXTY Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY Beverly Hills

Address: 9360 Wilshire Boulevard, Beverly Hills, CA 90212 (Formerly Thompson Beverly Hills)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Beverly Hills
#11 Luxury Hotel in Beverly Hills
#13 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY Beverly Hills 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merging the cool aesthetic of late 1960's design with the manicured elegance of Beverly Hills, Sixty Beverly Hills is an outpost of decadence in the heart of Los Angeles. Designer Dodd Mitchell has outfitted the sleek 107 room hotel with authentic exotic materials and custom made furniture, highlighting guestrooms with unexpected glass and leather accents. The guestroom artwork throughout the rooms and hallways is by world-renowned fashion photographer Steven Klein. The on-site restaurant Caulfield’s features classic renditions, delicate farmers market small plates and homemade desserts, topped off with handcrafted cocktails, artisan wines and craft beers. ABH, the stunning rooftop bar and pool lounge serves as an exclusive escape for guests and members, offering breathtaking views of downtown Los Angeles and the Hollywood Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Loews Hotels, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your SIXTY Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Hotel Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills Thompson Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIXTY Beverly Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.