We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was perfect...or better.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beverly Hills Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Beverly Hills Hotel to your Saves list
The Beverly Hills Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9641 Sunset Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90210-2938   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter 3 for 2
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Beverly Hills
Key West, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Everything was perfect...or better.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2007

We arrived at the Beverly Hills Hotel around 8:30am, after spending 3 days on the train traveling from Chicago, Il. It was the middle of a 2 week train/plane/automobile excursion across the USA. Unfortunately, the check in time wasn’t until 2:00pm. When our taxi arrived we were whisked inside (I never even saw our luggage come out of the trunk). The service at reception was outstanding. The clerk informed us our room was available, and was in the process of being cleaned, and then would be approved by 2 different Managers (said about a 1 hour wait). We were floored, we thought it would be at least 5 hours before we saw the inside of our room.
We enjoyed coffee at The Fountain Coffee Room, and reflected on the history of the room and bar. Afterward, we walked the grounds a little, and checked out the pool. In what seemed like no time at all we were being escorted to our room by our concierge and his manager. We were given a full tour of the room and amenities, and they even went so far as to ask if they could make our dining plans for us. We had prearranged for dinner at Lucques in West Hollywood, and they commented that it was an excellent selection. By 10:00am we had completed check in and were left in our room (4 hours early, almost unheard of at a large hotel – and on the weekend).
We were in a standard room, but you could have fooled us. We had a great view where we could see all the comings and goings of the hotel. Everything in the room was so beautiful and so immaculately maintained. When I saw the bathroom with it’s sunken Jacuzzi tub, I think my heart actually skipped a beat. After 3 days on the train, you can guess that was the fist place we headed.
We called down to have our dinner shirts pressed, and when they answered they said “How may we help you Mr. Smith”? In the dresser you will find an order card, and a nice pink bag to place laundry articles in. It will cost you ($20 per shirt, just for pressing) but the quality of the work was quite impressive, and they were back before we returned from lunch.
We had lunch poolside at the Cabana Café. We just wanted something light, so we ordered smoothies and fries and sat at the bar. After we had ordered our server came back and most apologetically informed me they were momentarily out of peach. It was no big deal to me, and to their credit the strawberry banana was quite tasty. When we signed for the bill we noticed that we had been comped on our fries.
The room came with all kinds of little extra’s such as fresh fruit, and an assortment of bathroom supplies. They also provide you with a signature bath robe and slippers. The slippers are complimentary (so take them home as a memento). However, the bath robes will set you back about $130 if you want to take one home. The mini fridge comes fully stocked with a wide variety of beverages and liquor, and several drawers stocked with all different snacks. Make sure to check the price list, then have a good laugh and close the drawer. There were 3 phones in the room (including 1 in the toilet) and a fax. They even go so far as to provide complimentary stationary and post cards, so all your friends back home can envy you.
In the evening the valet had the hotel chauffer drive us to dinner, complimentary in a limo. The driver was great. He knew right where to take us, and even went so far as to offer his service for the future. Trust me, he got a GOOD tip. It really put a special touch on a great dining experience. If you ever have a chance to have Sunday dinner at Lucques, do it…you won’t regret it. When we returned to our room, the bed had been turned down, and the room had been completely re-cleaned. Even the personal effects we had left laying around had been neatly arranged, and a new (dry) bath mat placed at the tub.
The bed and sheets were so comfortable. Unfortunately, we were still feeling the movement from the train, so sleep was kind of off and on. In the morning I had to be practically dragged out of bed. The worst moment of staying at the Beverly Hills Hotel was when I opened my eyes, and realized we were going to have to leave today. We did however enjoy lounging around reading the complimentary LA Times that had been delivered to our door neatly tied in a pink ribbon.
Before departing we treated ourselves to a delicious breakfast at The Polo Lounge. The coffee is served in a french press. This was the first time we had tasted coffee made this way, and the first purchase we made after returning home was a french press.
Everything at the Beverly Hills Hotel was PERFECT…or better. The staff was so attentive, and all of them greet you, some by name. They will go out of their way to please you, and enjoy doing it. We were totally impressed. The Beverly Hills Hotel was perfectly placed in our vacation, as the crown jewel in the center of an amazing 2 weeks.
Before our trip we anticipated the celebrities we might see here, but in all honesty I don’t recall seeing a single one. At the Beverly Hills Hotel every guest is a celebrity to them, they treat you like one, and you feel like one. Everyone else is just a B-lister.

  • Liked — The bath tub
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    68
    28
    14
    10
See reviews for
165
223
42
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mattoon, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2007

The Beverly Hills Hotel is hands down the best hotel I have ever visited. Sure, the room price is high but the service you get at this
hotel makes the experience all worthwhile.

My friend and I are high school teachers from the midwest...not the upscale crowd the hotel is known for at all. We were wondering how we would fit in here but it was obvious that EVERYONE is welcome at the BHH.

The minute the shuttle pulled up to the red carpet leading to the hotel entrance, the employees welcome you and grab your luggage in a flash. Walking into the hotel lobby with its plush furniture and enormous floral displays is unbelievable.

We were immediately checked in and personally escorted to our spacious room. We waited no longer than 5 minutes for our bags, which
has been a problem at other hotels we have stayed in.

The room was extremely spacious with a small foyer, a large walk-in closet an enormous bathroom with marble floors and shower and a sunk-in tub. The bed was extremely comfortable and we had a view of the LA skyline. We couldn't have been more pleased.

Using the complimentary house car, a stretch limo, was also a real treat. The grounds and pool are immaculate and every employee you pass by greets you with a warm "hello."

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are up for something luxurious and pampering and if a high level of service is your thing.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2007

My 18 year old daughter and I spent March break at the Beverly Hills Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Everyone on staff was welcoming and friendly. The hotel gets its share of stars -- while we were there we saw Uma Thurman, Courtney Cox, and George Hamilton -- but does not reserve the A-list treatment for stars alone.

Our room was large, with a sofa and pair of club chairs, the bathroom was gorgeous and huge. The restaurants and pool areas are really pretty and comfortable and the food is very good. We were fortunate to have excellent weather but a couple from Boston told us that even though it rained on their last visit to the hotel, they couldn't wait to return.

If you like to jog, the surrounding neighbourhood is ideal - gorgeous homes with manicured grounds, and a wonderful scent of blossoms in the air.

Parking is not included with the room rate and is definitely not cheap, but a car is really a necessity in LA so you don't have much choice.

I would definitely return and maybe try to get one of the rooms that has its own private balcony.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Expense
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

Each employee I had contact w/ bent over backwards to accomodate me. I spent the night, Feb 24, 2007, Oscar weekend,and they were sold out. They were busy with the "A Listers", but still treated ordinary people as "A Listers" too. Every person I met from the Security Guard, Johnny, to the reservation manager, Kyle, to the waiter, Joseph; all were courteous and respectful. Even though the price of the rooms are high, $590, for a Superior Deluxe, it is worth it! (And, I'm not the kind to spend more than $150/night on a hotel.)

Room was big and luxurious. Some updating could be done on the furniture. There were scratches and wear and tear. There is a free limo service to anywhere w/ in 3 miles. We took it to Starbucks and saw Al Pacino. All in all, I was treated like a "Star"!!

  • Liked — Service & Historical
  • Disliked — Furniture needs replacement
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2007

The Beverly Hills Hotel is a glamorus hotel. Because of the recent renovation, everything in this hotel is pretty much new. The bedrooms are very spacious, and the service is superb. My reccomendation is to eat breakfast in the fountain coffee shop in the downstairs portion of the hotel. This 1950's diner is not only notable for seeing stars, but the food is phenominal. Freshly squeezed orange juice is a must, along with freshly prepared belgian waffles. This hotel keeps the ledgend of the hotel alive, but it has done an excellent job in staying on par as one of the nicest hotels in Beverly Hills. At the Beverly Hills hotel, you will feel like a celebrity, and be pampered like one too.

Bottom Line, at this hotel everything is 5 stars, the food, service, ambience, and decor. There is nothing to complain about! Only the Beverly Hills hotel can provide you with that expierience. You can get luxury service and decor at the peninsula, bel air or four seasons, but you can only get the feel of being in the real beverly hills hotel if you stay there. You won't be dissapointed.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2007

We pushed the boat out for Oscars week and stayed in the Beverly Hills hotel (for a few days anyway!). The hotel was very nice indeed - as you'd expect - and in particluar the food, housekeeping and restaurant service was exemplary.
For those planning a trip, some tips:
1. Confirm your room - we booked a "suite with balcony" in October for February. Call me picky but there was no balcony and when asked, I was told I'd had a reduction on my rate ($5 a night!! on a $600 room). Nobody told us.
2. Ask if there are any events going on while you are there - obviously the Oscars were on but we were not told until the day before they were closing the whole pool area. The hotel is not actually that big so this did have an impact on our stay.
3. Book early if you want to eat in the Polo Lounge - being Brits we didn't realise this was THE place to be.
4. Use the complimentary limo service - it runs you around the local area, and our driver (Tom) was outstanding giving us loads of info and tips on what to do, and gave us his number for picking us up, brilliant!
5. Ask specifically for a response if you have a complaint - not wanting to cause confrontation during our "dream holiday" we just filled out a questionnaire assuming we would get some form of response, this has not happened. Don't be shy, it's expensive and the next time I would be more vocal.
6. Push the Concierge team - as above I didn't push enough and only had my transport queries answered when I gave the Concierge my tickets to a Clippers game for free as due to illness we couldn't go. Prior to that he was too busy on the phone and generally assuming his very short answers were good enough (they may have been for a local, but for a Brit I was still bemused).
Do not stay in suite 347 - it must have been next to the busiest doors in the hotel, which sound like they are entering your room! We got used to it in the end!

Overall we really enjoyed the history and experience of staying here, and although the Reception and Concierge staff did not pick up on my queries well enough, and generally they were not very sharp we would go again. It is ideal for a special treat, and if you can the suite added to it.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2007

My wife and I are fortunate that when we go on vacation we have stayed at some of the very best hotels. Sometimes the Hotel act as if you are lucky to be staying with them rather than a welcome guest so it was with a degree of apprehension that we stayed for the first time at the famous Beverly Hills Hotel. All I can say is that from the moment we pulled up outside to the time we left everything about it was of the highest order. We didn't know it at the time we booked but it coincided with the Grammys but not once did the personal attention drop. If you want style, 5 star attention and an experience to remember don't hesitate to go here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beverly Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beverly Hills Hotel

Address: 9641 Sunset Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90210-2938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Beverly Hills
#1 Family Hotel in Beverly Hills
#2 Spa Hotel in Beverly Hills
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beverly Hills
#3 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Beverly Hills Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beverly Hills Hotel is a luxury, five-star hotel, located on Sunset Boulevard in the center of Beverly Hills and surrounded by 12 acres of lush, tropical gardens, exotic flowers, and private walkways. Providing privacy and tranquility in a truly residential setting, The Beverly Hills Hotel is within easy access to the business and entertainment centers of Los Angeles, Century City, Rodeo Drive, and many of the Hollywood studios. The hotel is just a 35-minute drive from Los Angeles International Airport. Referred to locally as "The Pink Palace" The Beverly Hills Hotel is a place to see and be seen, to catch glimpses of famous faces, or to revel in splendid luxury. What makes The Beverly Hills Hotel stand out is its superlative combination of service, a location that offers guests privacy, yet in the heart of a city, and a refreshed facility that, while faithful to the hotel's architectural and interior design traditions, is more dramatically beautiful than ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Amex, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Beverly Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beverly Hills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.