We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Done!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beverly Hills Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Beverly Hills Hotel to your Saves list
The Beverly Hills Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9641 Sunset Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90210-2938   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Deluxe Breakfast Getaway
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Beverly Hills
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well Done!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

It was a great four days. We had two rooms. A regular room, which was spacious and a suite that was amazing. It was a corner suite with a wrap-around deck, huge living space and a very big bedroom. The service was great all around. Added bonus - my boys loved seeing the cool cars in the lot all week!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBeverlyHillsHotel, General Manager at The Beverly Hills Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear smithst,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Beverly Hills Hotel. I am pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed everything ... especially the endless amount of "cool cars" in front of the hotel! We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Edward Mady
Regional Director of West Coast USA and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    64
    28
    14
    10
See reviews for
158
209
41
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darien, CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Traveling with three college-age kids, we expected this iconic hotel to be a bit intimidating, but the staff immediately and unpretentiously made us feel welcome. Plus, we soon found that that there were many families enjoying the place. On site, the pool is well-known as the daytime center of activity, and there is a delightful underwater surprise. The decor is lovely and reminiscent of the Greenbrier, another Grande Dame property. A concierge had reached out to me by email about a week before arrival and she helped in advance with restaurant and other bookings. She indicated that the hotel's courtesy cars would be available to transport our party of five to restaurants and other local destinations. Disappointingly, however, this proved to be incorrect, as the cars could not accommodate five people, so we ended up relying on available, but quite dodgy, taxi cabs (yielding a very different arrival than the hotel's Masseratti and Mercedes courtesy cars would have afforded.) Suggest the hotel should invest in a Suburban or two for its fleet of courtesy cars.

Room Tip: South side of hotel offers afternoon sun and views over pool and Westwood skyline; north side offers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBeverlyHillsHotel, General Manager at The Beverly Hills Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Michael P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Pink Palace. It is wonderful to know you felt well taken care of by our amazing staff. Please know that I will be sure to share this with the team. I must also apologize for any miscommunication regarding our house cars. Please know I have followed up with our team and will take your feedback into consideration.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Edward Mady
Regional Director of West Coast USA and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Glamorous decadence on every level with down home friendly service. Gorgeous rooms, super personable staff, the pool area is stunning beyond words. Had dinner in the polo lounge listening to incredible love music -- best fish stew I've ever had. Had room service for breakfast and lunched by the pool! You will feel like a 1940s movie star.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBeverlyHillsHotel, General Manager at The Beverly Hills Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Jeanniesprecher,

We love a review that starts off with “Glamourous!” I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us…from the service, to the rooms, to the food. We hope to welcome you back to the Pink Palace. And maybe next time we'll see you dancing through the lobby with your own academy award!

Best Regards,
Edward Mady
Regional Director of West Coast USA and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Following a visit to the hotel four years ago and having stayed at The Dorchester we decided to make our next stay in LA at this glorious hotel. Booking in for eight nights we were met with the most wonderful welcome. Our 2nd floor balcony room was lovely and we were delighted to find a bottle of champagne and fruit welcoming us to the hotel. We went to the pool most days and the staff who served us were very friendly and attentive. The pool menu and cocktail/wine list is excellent. Food and service first rate. Our slight disappointment was that the pool service and fountain cafe all finished by 6pm. With such good weather an extra hour would have been nice or to have the fountain bar/restaurant available perfect. However the Polo Bar was superb. Both inside bar and outside. With great music entertainment. We ate here a few times and spent some time each day here. The Staff are so friendly, so nice - fantastic and really do make this hotel the place to go. The food excellent.Bar 19 was closed a couple of evenings we tried to visit but when open was nice and again great service and entertainment. The Spa service and hairdresser was excellent. I was amazed to have two people blow drying my hair!! So highly recommend. The gym was well equipped. The shop was well stocked and was pleased to find I could get my English newspapers each day. The concierge service was brilliant as booking restaurants they ensured we had a top table. The free
Chauffeur service was excellent and made such a difference.
We used the laundry service daily and the service received from housekeeping was very good.
Overall we had a brilliant time and do hope we will be able to return again. The misguided and cruel actions by some over the ownership has been heartbreaking for the staff and at the time we were there was the main talk in the hotel and surrounding neighbourhood. I hope that those who previously enjoyed coming to the hotel will come to their senses and go back and support the staff and heritage of the place. Failing to do so only justifies the extremists carrying out medieval actions. So thank you to all who made our holiday truly wonderful and hope to be back soon

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBeverlyHillsHotel, General Manager at The Beverly Hills Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear SUE49London,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your recent stay at The Beverly Hills Hotel. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were most impressed by the service provided to you. I will be sure to share your kind words with the team as they will be thrilled to know they made such a difference in your stay.

Thank you for the feedback regarding the Cabana Cafe and Fountain Coffee Shop hours. Although we close before sundown, we make sure to have Bar Nineteen12 and the Polo Lounge open for you to enjoy a nice cocktail outside. I am thrilled to know you took advantage of our complimentary house car. I always encourage our guests to use this service throughout their stay.

Please know we are truly thankful for your support and look forward to welcoming you back to the Pink Palace. See you soon!

Best Regards,
Edward Mady
Regional Director of West Coast USA and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Muharraq, Bahrain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I've eaten and had drinks in the hotel many times, however I never stayed as I used to live close by. My wife and I came in from Vegas before a move to the middle east for a year. As someone who also lived and spent time in New York this place reminds me of The Carlyle (good thing) in a lot of ways. The parts that are old are old on purpose and why you come, the updated portions do not take away from the property, the best of both worlds...meanwhile the service is perfect. We stayed in a Bungalow, the walk to and from it was always a pleasure, and as I had experienced before while not a guest, the Polo Lounge always fantastic.

If you haven't stayed here, you must. If you have and don't feel as I do then I am sorry because I can't imagine an experience more perfect experience. Go and feel like you are living in a Slim Aarons photo. Thank you to the staff for their service and professionalism.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBeverlyHillsHotel, General Manager at The Beverly Hills Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear John K,

Thank you for reviewing The Beverly Hills Hotel. I am glad you had the opportunity to stay with us after stopping by so many times. It is great to learn that you can't imagine a "more perfect experience" than your recent one with us and that you were so pleased with your stay … from your bungalow, to our legendary history, to the service provided to you.

What is most important to us, however, is that you felt so well cared for. Please know that I will share this with the team, as it will mean a great deal to them to know that they had such an impact on your visit. Our dedicated team members truly are the heart and soul of the hotel.

Best of luck on your new Middle Eastern adventure and we hope to welcome you back to the Pink Palace.

Best Regards,
Edward Mady
Regional Director of West Coast USA and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I lived in LA for 8 years and returned for a visit after being gone for 12 years. I had always wanted to stay in this hotel so I booked two nights online. I was a little disappointed when they were advertising a free breakfast and I didn't see it confirmed anywhere on my reservation so I called. I was told it was no longer available. I suggested they should remove it from the website if that was the case. They offered me an upgraded room to compensate. I then decided that rather than stay with a friend the first night and move, I would add a third night. Instead of booking online, I decided to call. I was told there were no rooms that night in spite of the fact that they were showing as available that night. So I hung up and booked it online. I accidentally booked for the one night and canceled the other two. I immediately called and ask to speak to the manager because now it was saying there were no rooms the other two nights even though I had just seconds earlier canceled one. So the manager fixed it for me and I was good. I loved it here. It was a pleasure. The staff was wonderful. The outdoor patio was a wonderful place to have breakfast and the food was wonderful. The lighting in the bathroom was a little dim to put makeup on and the lighted mirror was small and magnified. Also, I would suggest tv's in the bathroom for a hotel at this price point. I have stayed at many pricey hotels and this one is as good at it gets.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBeverlyHillsHotel, General Manager at The Beverly Hills Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Allisonfaye,

Thank you for writing such a detailed review of your recent experience. First, I would like to apologize for the difficulties you had trying to reserve your stay. There is certainly no excuse for this and please know that I will address this with our reservations team to ensure that we prevent it from occurring again in the future.

With that being said, it is great to know that this did not prevent you from having a wonderful experience with us. Please know that a majority of our accommodations are currently being refreshed, and all guestrooms and suites in the main house will have TVs in the bathrooms by the end of 2015.

It makes me extremely happy to know you consider us the best hotel you have stayed in. What a wonderful compliment to the whole team, and I will share your kind words with them. We very much look forward to welcoming you back ... and this time without all of the back and forth with reservations!

Best Regards,
Edward Mady
Regional Director of West Coast USA and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We have been staying here for years, and stayed recently to support the staff that has been suffering horribly due to a recent boycott which I will not comment on here. There service is always superb and the rooms charming. The hotel has been undergoing a renovation which is almost done and it is still wonderfully elegant, yet welcoming. It is almost the last bastion of old Hollywood and is a joyous stay. It is wildly expensive, but is a life experience. The Polo Lounge is world famous and the wonderful coffee shop legendary, and the pool restaurant delicious. Most of the staff has been here as long as I have been staying which is more than 30 years. The front of house staff can't do enough for you, and you don't have to be famous to stay here. There are lots of families, foreign travelers, and locals at any given time. No matter who you are, you will be treated very well.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here--just great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBeverlyHillsHotel, General Manager at The Beverly Hills Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Lizznyc,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Beverly Hills Hotel. It's great to know that your stay was such a "joyous" one and that you appreciate our legendary heritage as much as we do. I am thrilled you enjoyed your entire experience … from the rooms, to the restaurants, to the service provided to you. As for our great team of service professionals, they truly are the heart and soul of the hotel and yes, many have been working at the hotel for decades.

Please also know that we all very much appreciate your support, now more than ever. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Edward Mady
Regional Director of West Coast USA and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beverly Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beverly Hills Hotel

Address: 9641 Sunset Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90210-2938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Beverly Hills
#1 Family Hotel in Beverly Hills
#2 Spa Hotel in Beverly Hills
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beverly Hills
#4 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Beverly Hills Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beverly Hills Hotel is a luxury, five-star hotel, located on Sunset Boulevard in the center of Beverly Hills and surrounded by 12 acres of lush, tropical gardens, exotic flowers, and private walkways. Providing privacy and tranquility in a truly residential setting, The Beverly Hills Hotel is within easy access to the business and entertainment centers of Los Angeles, Century City, Rodeo Drive, and many of the Hollywood studios. The hotel is just a 35-minute drive from Los Angeles International Airport. Referred to locally as "The Pink Palace" The Beverly Hills Hotel is a place to see and be seen, to catch glimpses of famous faces, or to revel in splendid luxury. What makes The Beverly Hills Hotel stand out is its superlative combination of service, a location that offers guests privacy, yet in the heart of a city, and a refreshed facility that, while faithful to the hotel's architectural and interior design traditions, is more dramatically beautiful than ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Beverly Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beverly Hills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.