We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class service and accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Beverly Hills

Save Saved
You added The Peninsula Beverly Hills to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9882 South Santa Monica Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Unlimited Minibar + more!
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Beverly Hills
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“First class service and accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed again at our favorite property in Beverly Hills. In addition to a long weekend of pleasure, we used the boardroom for business meetings one evening. The service in the hotel was top notch and our needs were dealt with professionally in a most timely matter. We never had to wait whether it was room service, bell service, valet or any other special request made. We have always enjoyed their specialty services in the past and are pleased they have never compromised on their stellar reputation.
They have also kept their rooms up, everything felt new and clean. I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    384
    45
    10
    9
    7
See reviews for
85
162
37
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dammam
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I went there in July 2013 and it was my first time in LA, I am so pleased that I have chosen The Peninsula Beverly Hills.
prime location , helpfully and friendly stuff , great in room dinning.

10/10 Hotel !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were underwhelmed . Although we love the Pen in Tokyo and Chicago, the hype around the Peninsula Beverly Hills raises expectations so perhaps we were bound for disappointment. The room was up to the usual excellent standard of the Peninsula group. They were five issues that annoyed us and will ensure that our future business goes to the Bel-Air hotel.
1) Even given that this is LA, the tipping culture at the Peninsula is extreme . It is almost like pay first get the service later. The frenzy for a cab at the front door saw guests standing displaying their $5 and $10 notes in their hands without which it was the back of the queue for you. There was a queue of cabs by the front gate, about ten steps away, but woe is you if you attempt to negate the Peninsula toll gate.
2) We wanted to use the complimentary car service to go the LACMA, the local major art gallery, but it was “just outside” their 3 mile rule. You would have thought such a journey would have been complimentary. The effect is that the Pen will take you to the local shops but not to the local art gallery. Very un-Peninsula.
3) The complimentary continental breakfast was literally only 1 juice, 1 coffee and some pastries. The addition of a fruit plate for two resulted ,after the addition of tax and service, in an extra $50 charge per day. Compared to complimentary continental breakfasts at the Mandarin Oriental and the Park Hyatt hotels this offering does inot rate.
4) The garden is really non-exist, it is a large hedge on a courtyard with a few tables in it; the roof top pool side restaurant is an alternative but it is very much a scene.
5) The bill was inaccurate on check out and had to be amended. To be fair this was done quickly and easily but it leaves a bad taste.

The 2 pluses were
1) The laundry service was fast and efficient regular service is returned within 6 hours.
2) The hotel operates a 24 hour check in policy and that was very useful to us as we were leaving on late evening flights.

Still such a bonuses are insufficient for us to be return customers to the Peninsula Beverley Hills. We had lunch at the Bel Air, it has been revamped and looks preferable to the Peninsula.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel would be noisy if you opened your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaBH, General Manager at The Peninsula Beverly Hills, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear PFoggSydney,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are pleased the rooms, quick laundry service and flexible check-in/check-out policy were to your liking. Thank you also for your feedback regarding the complimentary car service, continental breakfast and billing concerns. We have shared your comments with the rest of our staff.

I sincerely apologize for any disappointment you experienced with your stay and for your frustration with the house car. Due to the sprawling layout of Los Angeles, there is a designated area surrounding the hotel for which the house car is complimentary, and areas beyond that have a small surcharge. There are some art galleries and museums within Beverly Hills, such as the Paley Center for Media, which fall within the house car's complimentary range; however, it so happens that LACMA and other Los Angeles museums are located further away from our hotel.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future, where I would be delighted to ensure you have a more enjoyable stay. Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to discuss this further - (310) 788-2300.

Best,
Offer Nissenbaum
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed here a few times and the service of the staff is unbeatable. While other hotels may beat them in amenities, the service they provide cannot beat The Peninsula Beverly Hills. I inquired about a dish to the kitchen that was not on the menu and they happily made it for me, no questions asked. In my opinion this is the only place to stay when visiting Beverly Hills.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This upscale hotel exuded service, service, service. From the very personal check/in welcome and fresh fruit and candy awaiting us in our beautiful room, to the friendly, gracious doormen who greeted us each time we entered and left the hotel, we loved this place. Everything was just right- the facility, the staff, the restaurants, even the pianists! The location in Beverly Hills was also perfect! We found little shops and eateries within walking distance, and when we were lazy the hotel had complimentary car service. The size and privacy feel of the hotel is also great. You'd never know how many guests or what celebrities were around. We loved it!

Room Tip: Our corner room was quiet, sunny, away from the elevator but not too far away that it was annoying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We just left The Peninsula after a three night stay. We have stayed here over a dozen times and they never disappoint. The hotel was fully booked but you would never know it as the service was perfect. We checked in very late and within five minutes were in our room. We worked out in the gym where they always have cold water as well as a daily, freshly made iced tea, fruit and protein bars along with every newspaper. The locker rooms are beautifully appointed and spotless. The staff at the pool is pleasant but not obtrusive in the least. Breakfast either on the roof or downstairs is fast and courteous. The very comfortable bed with the personalized pillowcases is a nice touch. The lighting near the bed and the control panel are terrific. Love that they have a dvd machine hidden away as I brought a Netflix movie that I hadn't had time to view at home. For the first time I used the complementary car service, They have the best concierge. I had them do one simple reservation but viewed them as they did much more complicated plans for another family next to me. Hopefully, I will be lucky enough to return here during my next trip to LA.

Room Tip: This trip we were not upgraded and had one of the smaller rooms and it was still more than ample for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights last July so we had a good period of time to really experience the hotel. Sometimes it's hard to judge a place when you are only there for a night or two.

The hotel is beautiful and not too large (which is a good thing b/c it feels more personal). Great shopping is just a few blocks away and many great resurants are a car ride away. With that said the hotel is situated on a quiet street and our room was facing the interior courtyard so we didn't feel the hustle and bustle of the city. The room and bathroom was a good size and clean. Fresh fruits and water was replenish daily.

There is a small driveway that leads into the hotel and it's amazing how well it's managed that it's doesn't get congested. The valet, bellman and doorman was all able to do it with a smile and welcoming attitude under such busy condition.

Concierge have lots of great suggestions for restaurants and it you travel within certain miles of the hotel they have a free car service available. If you go beyond the limits there is a small surcharge with is well worth it so you don't have to deal with dirty cabs and shady cab drivers. I always tip the drivers afterwards.


We had meals and afternoon tea at the roof top restaurant, bar and the lobby restaurants and they were all very good.

It's great to have a little oasis in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Beverly Hills

Address: 9882 South Santa Monica Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Beverly Hills
#1 Luxury Hotel in Beverly Hills
#1 Romantic Hotel in Beverly Hills
#1 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
#2 Family Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Beverly Hills 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Los Angeles' most exclusive and elegant hotel, The Peninsula Beverly Hills resembles a gracious private residence built in the classic Renaissance style. The hotel is tucked amid lush gardens in a quiet corner of the city, offering luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, a tranquil spa, extraordinary dining and legendary Peninsula service. Our 194 guest rooms, suites and private villas were all elegantly refurbished in 2011, featuring new furniture and upgraded technology. Conveniently located near Beverly Hills' most important business, shopping and entertainment areas, The Peninsula Beverly Hills is the ideal destination for business executives, leisure travelers and families alike. Unique to the hotel is our 24-hour check-in/check-out experience, meaning you may arrive and depart at your leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Beverly Hills Hotel Beverly Hills
Peninsula Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Beverly Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.