We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the simply the finest there is...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Beverly Hills

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Beverly Hills to your Saves list
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9882 South Santa Monica Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90212 (Beverly Hills)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Beverly Hills
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“This is the simply the finest there is...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel is the epitome of luxury, attentive & professional service and a feeling of comfort. Every detail is handled with the utmost in professionalism. Each meal was excellent. Every employee shared a warm smile genuine smile.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaBH, General Manager at The Peninsula Beverly Hills, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear ScottandLaurie,

Thank you so much for your fabulous review. My staff and I are pleased to know that you had such a wonderful stay, and that you truly appreciated the service, professionalism and quality of food at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula Beverly Hills again very soon!

Best,
Offer Nissenbaum
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    53
    11
    10
    8
See reviews for
102
189
37
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Spent the weekend here while traveling to see Barbara Streisand in concert at the Hollywood Bowl. The Peninsula was a truly outstanding place to stay.

The welcoming experience was highly pleasurable. Check-in was thorough and simple. Was introduced to staff who were all very cheerful. Room was well above average with free internet, a high quality shower, a well-stocked mini bar and nicely appointed decorations. Even the safe had a thoughtfully built-in power plug to charge devices while away. Bed was very comfortable.

Sunday brunch was exceptional. We spent a relaxing two hours enjoying the food and the nice dining experience. The hotel provided a picnic basket and blankets for us to take to the outdoor concert.

Fitness center was also above average: good equipment, well organized, proper drinks & snacks, not crowded.

This was one of the best weekend stays we have experienced anywhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaBH, General Manager at The Peninsula Beverly Hills, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Bruce S,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Beverly Hills for your recent weekend getaway. We sincerely appreciate your lovely feedback. How wonderful that you had time to truly enjoy the hotel's many amenities, especially our Sunday brunch. I'm delighted that you had such a fantastic experience at our hotel.

We hope the Peninsula picnic basket and blankets made the Barbara Streisand concert even more fabulous and enjoyable. Come visit us again soon!

Regards,
Offer Nissenbaum
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great hotel in every way. Outstanding service and atmosphere. Excellent management, staff, spa, room service, and concierge. Compared to others in LA, The Peninsula keeps a low profile with a quiet elegance and charm. Still the best in L.A.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaBH, General Manager at The Peninsula Beverly Hills, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear BobG87,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your kind words regarding the service and ambiance, and we are honored you consider us the best hotel in Los Angeles.

We hope to welcome you back to The Peninsula again soon!

Best regards,
Offer Nissenbaum
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I travel much of the year and have stayed at many hotels. NEVER have we been treated as well as when we are at the Peninsula Beverly Hills. From the first time we went there they treated us like family. Scott Berger (Front Office Manager) and Scott McIntosh (Concierge) are especially attentive as well as the entire staff. If you are ever looking for an amazing experience this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaBH, General Manager at The Peninsula Beverly Hills, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Anthony P,

We are delighted that you and your wife had such an amazing experience at The Peninsula. Our team always strives to create memorable experiences for our guests, and we are thrilled you found the staff to be so attentive. Thank you for your compliments regarding the Front Office and Concierge staff - we appreciate the feedback.

Looking forward to being your home away from home in LA, and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Offer Nissenbaum
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This review comes late to Trip Advisor. We stayed at the Peninsula BH in June. The Bar is exactly what one would expect from a 5 star property. Great drinks great service. Our room with a small balcony and chairs on the ground floor has a gate to access the outdoor area of the hotel. We unfortunately had to move rooms as the guests above us were behaving quite rude. Our new room however on the second floor had a nice juliet balcony. We walked to Mastro's Ocean Club for dinner, and at the end of our meal a nice desert was presented compliments of the Peninsula hotel. How the restaurant knew we were there is a mystery, I guess just really great service on the hotel's part. I managed to sprain my ankle upon leaving the restaurant and in the early morning the hotel promptly sent crutches to me. They were genuinely concerned. So stay at the Peninsula Beverly Hills or gamble on another property. I cant wait to try other Peninsula propertys .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaBH, General Manager at The Peninsula Beverly Hills, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear ladybugSanFrancisco,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We truly appreciate your compliments regarding the rooms, service and Club Bar. I'm sorry to hear that you sprained your ankle while staying with us, but am happy to hear that didn't prevent you from having an enjoyable vacation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula again soon, and definitely recommend that you experience some of our other Peninsula properties around the world when you have the opportunity.

Warm regards,
Offer Nissenbaum
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Service and staff are just perfect! I worried first if "normal" tourists are welcome here but there was no need to worry: They treat every guest like royality no matter what car you drive, what you wear and what room you book.
Quality and presentation of food is top,we had breakfast on the rooftop and lunch at the pool. Hotel grounds is small but gourgeous, we loved the rooftop pool and breakfast on the rooftop terrasse. Well equipped gym on the top floor next to the rooftop area.
We had a basic room which was in a traditional floral styl while I prefer modern style. I still loved the room as it was luxurious, had a good size and was very sunny with floor to ceiling windows. I asked for a sunny room and we got one on a high floor (4th floor, room Nr. 462, facing the entrance and the neigbourhood with lots of sun. We never had a problem the get a sun lounger at the rooftop pool while cabanas (while expensive) were booked all the time. The hotel is in a quiet and clean surrounding with beautiful houses, close walking distance to beverly hills and about 30 minutes driving to Santa Monica and Universal studios. On several nights, we had the complimentary house car (Rolls Royce) to take us to a restaurant in Beverly Hills. What an experience! Lots of nice restaurant close to the hotel ("Piccolo Paradiso" was our favourite). Don't look any further, this is the place to stay in LA. Yes, very expensive but worth the price!

Room Tip: top floor, facing the entrance (for a sunny and bright room).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaBH, General Manager at The Peninsula Beverly Hills, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear luxuryvoyage,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Peninsula Beverly Hills on TripAdvisor. The entire team here greatly appreciates your glowing review about the service and staff. I'm delighted you liked spending time at the rooftop pool and Roof Garden restaurant, and am glad you enjoyed being chauffeured around Beverly Hills in the Rolls Royce.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula on your next trip to Los Angeles!

Best,
Offer Nissenbaum
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Booking through Advantage Platinum Travel on this first time Penninsula BH stay gave us no upgrade because, Christine at the front desk explained, "we are always at capacity and because you requested 2 single beds." Had Platinum Travel known this they could have removed the property from its program, offering what seems to be impossible to upgrade on any request for a 2-bedded room. Our room 216 needed a call to Engineering immediately for a burned out lightbulb by one bed, and then for the aircon making too much noise which the engineer confirmed needed to be replaced immediately. The floor tiles in the bathroom make noise when walked on--moving in place, and the marble around the tub is stained from years of various things (coffee cups, soaps, etc). Maybe the Penninsula is THE place to feel special when booking a suite, but this room needs a redo for sure. And the Amex Plat Fine Hotels and Resorts benefit supposedly includes continental breakfast for two, right? Upon check-in we were informed that this includes a cap of $44, but the continental breakfast on the menu outside shows $25 per person as the least expensive continental breakfast (for a total of $50), making the Platinum offer impossible as every guest will have to add to his or her breakfast bill. I commend Manager Jim Assi for his dedication to making each guest feel welcome with a welcome drink and personal escort to each room. Not impressed by the hotel amenities, not quite the luxury of the Chanel of Penninsula Hong Kong. The sleep aid drink by the bed for goodnight is a nice touch having flown in from Asia, but juxtaposing Hong Kong Penninsula and this one within 2 hours really shows how this hotel pales in comparison.

Room Tip: It must help to know someone here other than getting a rack rate room from a travel agency like Amer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaBH, General Manager at The Peninsula Beverly Hills, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear globaltravelkid,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Beverly Hills for your recent visit to Los Angeles. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with your Platinum reservation. Although we try our best to accommodate upgrades; at times the hotel's occupancy can make that challenging. With regards to breakfast, I just want to clarify that Fine Hotels & Resorts includes Continental Breakfast ($19 per person), not American Breakfast ($25 per person). I'm sorry if there was any misunderstanding about the specific breakfast inclusions.

I do hope we'll have another opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future, where I'd be happy to ensure you have a most enjoyable stay - and would do everything possible to ensure you receive your upgrade. Please feel free to contact me at (310) 788-2300 if you wish to discuss this further.

Kind regards,
Offer Nissenbaum
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Beverly Hills

Address: 9882 South Santa Monica Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Beverly Hills > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Beverly Hills
#1 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
#1 Luxury Hotel in Beverly Hills
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beverly Hills
#2 Family Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Los Angeles' most exclusive and elegant hotel, The Peninsula Beverly Hills resembles a gracious private residence built in the classic Renaissance style. The hotel is tucked amid lush gardens in a quiet corner of the city, offering luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, a tranquil spa, extraordinary dining and legendary Peninsula service. Our 194 guest rooms, suites and private villas were all elegantly refurbished in 2011, featuring new furniture and upgraded technology. Conveniently located near Beverly Hills' most important business, shopping and entertainment areas, The Peninsula Beverly Hills is the ideal destination for business executives, leisure travelers and families alike. Unique to the hotel is our 24-hour check-in/check-out experience, meaning you may arrive and depart at your leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Peninsula Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Beverly Hills Hotel Beverly Hills
Peninsula Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Beverly Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.