We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I keep thinking about it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills to your Saves list
Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9400 West Olympic Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90212 (Beverly Hills)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Beverly Hills
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I keep thinking about it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Avalon Hotel for four nights in March and I can't stop thinking about it!

When we got to the hotel we were immediately greeted by the valet staff who were all quite friendly and professional. A woman met us at the door with a bright smile and she was so welcoming. The counter staff were all very nice, very accommodating and welcoming and took the time to introduce us to the area, ask us about the types of things we were interested in and expressed enthusiasm about our plans. We were showed to our room promptly and introduced to the amenities of the hotel.

The room was clean. The bed was SO comfortable and the style of the room was just what we were looking for, simple, elegant and vintage. I ended up sick with cold for the majority of our trip so spent a lot of time in bed, which was surprisingly fine by me because I was so comfortable there. At one point I lost the signal on the T.V but someone was sent to my room immediately to fix it. The maintenance guys who came to the room were incredibly polite and friendly. The food at the restaurant was awesome and the service staff very attentive.

Although my boyfriend and I were not very interested in Beverly Hills as an area, I think we would stay at the Avalon Hotel just for the sake of the room and the hotel service.

Reading other reviews about the style of the rooms being "dated" made me chuckle... it's a vintage style hotel, perhaps don't go to a hotel that prides itself in maintaining its original vibe and hit up the local Sheraton?

Anyway... I loved it. I want to go back. Canada is too cold :)

Room Tip: Close the doors to the balcony if you're on the pool side if you're looking for quiet and ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    184
    78
    31
    30
See reviews for
79
207
48
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Expedia picked this place for us, so we didn't know what to expect. I was very pleasantly surprised. This boutique hotel is tucked away at the edge of a nice residential neighborhood. Really lovely, spacious, well designed euro-modern rooms and decor. The pool area is a great place to gather for cocktails. The food we had was very good, and the staff quite attentive. I would stay here again

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is situated in a good district. I took a walk in the morning and most people wished me a good morning. We found the hotel staff all very friendly and interested in us and what we did in the day. Having hired a car, we found the location good but would be challenging without a car. The hotel rooms are compact but functional. We enjoyed our evenings around the pool and happy hour meals were good value. The car valet service was excellent. However, on a couple of nights we were woken by people talking outside the reception, a gang of drunken youths who knocked on all the doors in the secondary block and a small earthquake 3.5

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So very disappointed in the hotel. The iconic swimming pool was under construction during spring break & Easter weekend. Why would a hotel do that. More upsetting was they told me as we checked in. This is information that should have been relayed to me prior to arrival so I could of made other arraignments. Staff said they didn't have my information to give me this important news - really??? The hotel told me I could use the pool at another hotel & would pay the taxi. No taxi available, so I walked. The other hotel was very confused, but nice as to why I was looking to use their pool when I wasn't a guest. Not only that the pool wasn't open at the other hotel. I booked Avalon because of the pool & when I travel half way across the country on vacation & it's closed I was upset. Upset because they should have communicated it to me. Also, there is a hotel lobby, but all rooms are not enclosed. I didn't feel there was enough security.

Room Tip: All rooms face pool. However, they are not enclosed & there is no security.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego H, General Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Kelley V,
I am disappointed to learn about your experience due to the renovations of the pool. Although my team tried to reach out to as many of our guests as possible to notify them of the pool closure, we were unable to contact several reservations, in particular those who had book through third party sites. I am delighted to report that the work has been completed and we have been able to return our iconic pool to its original beauty. Kindly contact me directly at the hotel so that we can discuss your experience in further detail and to ensure that you give us another try.
Kindest regards
Diego Heredia
Regional Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was greeted by Brian the valet. I got out he asked for last name. I said Little. Mean while I unloaded my entire car while he stood there looking on a list for my name. I said can I get help here. His reply was your names not on the list so your not checked in. So I carried my own stuff in and checked in. Once checked in I noticed the pools closed. They said you can walk to another hotel and use theirs or take a cab. I'm think me walking up beverly blvd in my speedo in middle of Beverly Hills will be a hit. I walked into my tiny room I'm talking maybe 200 square feet. Queen size bed. Wow this place is no 4 star best day a 3.5. I went down checked out and am now in another much nicer hotel where the pool is actually on site.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego H, General Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Tommy L,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am disappointed to learn about your experience. Please rest assured that the service you received from our valet team is well below our standards. We are making changes to valet and moving forward the arrival experience will exceptional. In addition, I apologize about the closure of the pool and for the inconvenience this may have caused you. Our pool was undergoing a much needed face lift and I am delighted to report that the work has been completed and the results are amazing. Kindly contact me directly at the hotel so that we can discuss your experience in further detail and to ensure that you give us another try.
Kindest regards
Diego Heredia
Regional Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Tucked away amongst lovely residences the Avalon stands out as both a place of respite and a true "design hotel". The mid-century feel is brought alive by the designer and the spaces reflect a quality only found in the top hotels around the world. The poolside cabanas offer a comfortable alcove to sip drinks and be leisurely, the restaurant is by far one of my favorites in California due to the quality of the cuisine and the overall feel and design. The small suites above the portico have a unique and very comfortable design - a small study, curved sofa, very comfortable sleeping area and best of all - LOTS of natural light and a great location in the main building. The staff at the property is friendly than ever and very eager to assist and be of service - and always with a smile and in a professional manner. The property has left the viceroy group but the owner / designer still maintain this property to an excellent calibre and truly offer a unique and lively experience in Beverly Hills.

Room Tip: A suite above the portico!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego H, General Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Christopher P,
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your experience and that our room amenities, design and service had so much to do with that. On behalf of my team, we look forward to your return visit.
Kindest regards
Diego Heredia
Regional Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were out on a medical trip for a few days and found the hotel to be clean and the staff very friendly and professional The rooms are older simple but nice The neighborhood is quiet and many nice eating places close by

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Marcusb76,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your recent experience.

I shared your kind comments about the outstanding service you experienced throughout your stay with us.

On behalf of the entire Avalon team, thank you again for posting this review and for choosing our hotel on your most recent visit to Beverly Hills. We hope to see you back soon.

Warm regards,

Matt Bernard
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills

Address: 9400 West Olympic Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Beverly Hills > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Beverly Hills
#9 Luxury Hotel in Beverly Hills
#10 Romantic Hotel in Beverly Hills
#11 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished by its novel physical space, this Beverly Hills California luxury hotel is set around a dramatic pool terrace with private cabanas and the chic Oliverio restaurant- all just steps from shopping at the finest boutiques, galleries and restaurants nearby.Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills offers luxurious amenities, stylish accommodations, and creative meeting and event space in the heart of Beverly Hills, California.Inspired by the relaxed "patio lifestyle" of mid-20th Century Southern California, Avalon's 83 Beverly Hills hotel rooms, suites and penthouse studios offer guests comfort and style in the heart of Beverly Hills.Custom-designed and classic furnishings by Kelly Wearstler. Pampering Beverly Hills accommodations include custom furnishings and beds with sumptuous Italian designer lines and Neil George amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills Avalon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.