We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel, Great staff and Restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills to your Saves list
Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9400 West Olympic Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90212   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay with Free Beakfast
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Beverly Hills
Hawaii
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel, Great staff and Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Located in the heart of beverly hills, this nice boutique hotel offers a phenomenal restaurant, friendly staff and comfortable, clean rooms. I really enjoyed my stay here. If you get a chance to eat in their restaurant, try the pollo alla diavola - an extremely succulent and spicy chicken dish prepared to perfection - this is gourmet dining that is also available for room service. I liked it so much that I ordered it twice.

Also, rumor has it that the room that I stayed in was once occupied by Marilyn Monroe

Green Features: They actually have a green policy which lets you decide if you want to re-use towels to conserve or if you want fresh towels... I think all hotels should implement this rule.
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    176
    70
    31
    27
See reviews for
74
196
46
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was here for one night on a business trip. Property is fabulous - really. I'm a mid-century geek with the appropriate house to prove it, so a chance to stay at this property is always a pleasure. They had me booked for the main building - but I'd be facing Olympic Ave. so asked for a quieter room. They were able to put me in the groovy little converted apartment building right across the little side street - apparently the former residence of Marilyn Monroe. Room was nice. Comfortable bed. Adequately quiet. I had dinner alone at the bar over at the main property and it was amazing. Everything was awesome - until I tried to take a shower upon waking the next day. I was in room 133 and the shower was a dribble. Totally not exaggerating. They obviously have to have flow restrictors for the California drought, but that combined with one of those giant make-it-rain shower heads is the absolute worst combination. Those heads require pressure to work properly - which is already a soft flow simply falling down on you. With no pressure, it was pathetic. I had to use a paper cup from my tea at PEETS the night before to get enough water at a time to adequately rinse my hair. And that cup took 20 SECONDS to fill in the shower - while it took all of 8 seconds in the sink. So the pressure is clearly there. I felt like I was camping. Having short hair saved me. If I had long hair, it would've been a disaster. I notified management about it as I was checking out and the girl at the front desk did her best to find something to discount for me - which was nice. I told her not to worry about it at that point, just get it fixed for the next guest. Anyway - note to the Avalon - if you have to use a restrictor, use a more conventional shower head that can build its own pressure. Other than that, you were awesome. I will be coming back to stay if the opportunity arises, but I'll definitely make sure the shower works properly before I settle in.

Room Tip: Ask about the shower
See more room tips
Green Features: They're going over-board on the whole water conservation thing.
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestEngagement, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear vOce ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments of your recent stay with us, here at the Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills. I was very pleased to learn that you enjoyed many elements of your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with regards to the shower water pressure.

Kindly contact me directly when planning your future travels to the Beverly Hills area, so I may personally ensure that your next stay with us is nothing less than perfect.

Kind regards,

Nicole Lundin
Guest Engagement Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've been visiting the Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills for many years, and this is my third visit this year. I can't add much more over my previous reviews, just to say that the staff here are AMAZING - they welcome me by name when I arrive, and even left a little box of chocolates in my room with a hand-written note on my last visit.

If you're staying in the LA area then this is the perfect hotel to base yourself in. It's equidistant from downtown, the beach and the hills, and is in a safe residential area that's perfect for gentle evening strolls. Walk up South Beverly Drive or head south to Pico for some world-class restaurants, or head on up to Wilshire if you want to hit the shops.

The rooms are gorgeously designed and super-comfortable. The Neal George bath products in every room are very nice indeed, and all the facilities you need are available in the hotel - the small but fully stocked gym on the first floor is handy, the pool is fun, and the Oliverio restaurant is very good indeed. It's a real pleasure to sit back in a cabana with a cocktail and read a book or watch the world go by.

Special thanks to Mariya, Alessandro and Claudia on the front desk - you are a credit to the hotel business. Looking forward to seeing you again next year!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestEngagement, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear CotswoldFish,

Thank you for sharing such lovely comments following your most recent stay with us here at Avalon Beverly Hills.

It is always a pleasure having you with us and I was delighted to learn that you continue to enjoy your time here. I was especially pleased to read your kind note about the intuitive service you received from our team throughout your experience.

Thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience.

On behalf of the entire team, we are very much looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,

Nicole Lundin
Guest Engagement Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed late October for my wife's 30th birthday. The hotel upgraded our room and also gave us a bottle of Prosecco without us even asking. A wonderful touch. The rooms are very clean and the staff are very helpful (especially the guy on the front desk - I think his name was Alexsander but I'm not certain). Location is perfect and the food at the restaurant is top notch, better than a lot of the local restaurants even!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool, its beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestEngagement, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear stum0rley,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your recent experience.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your celebratory stay with us here at Avalon Beverly Hills. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team.

We hope to see you again very soon!

Nicole Lundin
Guest Engagement Manager
Avalon Beverly Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here after upgrading with our package holiday provider in the UK and glad we did . The room was just as advertised and shown in the photos . I'm not sure Beverley hills was as we imagined so it took some getting used to for us , the valet car parking service although pricey (compulsory) , I understand in this area nothing will be cheap and the staff were so very helpful and cheerful . We ate breakfast by the pool which was wonderful and not that expensive esp as we used some of our $25 credit from not having room service. We enjoyed the quirky hotel but agree with a few other comments some of the bathrooms need modernising with rails /touching up in areas. I also have to agree with some other comments that it's almost too retro and not that it's the Avalons fault but more that there are cheap retro copies these days that almost brings down the tone of a genuine retro glam hotel. Overall we slept well , enjoyed exploring LA , and the bathroom products are to DIE for - lovely hair and shower products .

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestEngagement, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear redbrookreview,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your recent experience.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Avalon Beverly Hills, especially our bathroom amenities!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Avalon Beverly Hills!

Warm regards,

Nicole Lundin
Guest Engagement Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I really enjoyed the hotel which is very unique and have a very
good and friendly stuff, but being at the second floor I suffered from
a lot of noise coming from the above, probably due to wooden floor
in the room above me. every step there could be easily heard.

Room Tip: at the highest floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestEngagement, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Dear Mickey S ,

Thank you for posting this review and sharing your recent experience of the Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills.

While disappointed that you encountered a noise issue, I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your overall stay at our hotel.

Kindly reach out to me directly the next time you are visiting the Beverly Hills area. I would be delighted to personally assist with your arrangements

Kind regards,

Nicole Lundin
Guest Engagement Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

The Avalon Hotel was our daughter's choice to host out of town wedding guests for her wedding at the Smog Shoppe in Culver City. It was a good location for accessing LAX and exploring LA. 24 rooms were reserved for the event and the rehearsal dinner was also held here. Everything worked out well, the rooms were nice, the staff was very accommodating and the rehearsal dinner meal was very good. It was a bit awkward and expensive to use valet parking (not optional) anytime we needed something from the car (and our cars were loaded with things for the wedding), but we understand the need since the hotel is located in a residential area. Since the theme of the wedding was a retro feel, the hotel décor and ambiance fit right it. We had hoped to take a few pre-wedding photo shots at the hotel, but the hotel charges (handsomely) for that privilege and so unfortunately we had no pictures taken there, which was one of the reasons this hotel was selected in the first place.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestEngagement, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Dear hapi2travel ,

Thank you for sharing such lovely comments following your recent stay with us here at Avalon Beverly Hills.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we were delighted to learn that you were pleased with our convenient location, rooms and the service received from our staff.

Thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you back soon!

Best Regards,

Nicole Lundin
Guest Engagement Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills

Address: 9400 West Olympic Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Beverly Hills
#9 Luxury Hotel in Beverly Hills
#10 Family Hotel in Beverly Hills
#11 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished by its novel physical space, this Beverly Hills California luxury hotel is set around a dramatic pool terrace with private cabanas and the chic Oliverio restaurant- all just steps from shopping at the finest boutiques, galleries and restaurants nearby.Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills offers luxurious amenities, stylish accommodations, and creative meeting and event space in the heart of Beverly Hills, California.Inspired by the relaxed "patio lifestyle" of mid-20th Century Southern California, Avalon's 83 Beverly Hills hotel rooms, suites and penthouse studios offer guests comfort and style in the heart of Beverly Hills.Custom-designed and classic furnishings by Kelly Wearstler. Pampering Beverly Hills accommodations include custom furnishings and beds with sumptuous Italian designer lines and Neil George amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills Avalon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.