We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills

Save Saved
You added Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9400 West Olympic Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90212   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Beverly Hills
Rockingham, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Super staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We arrived early in the morning, arrived after 22 hours in flight and transits. We were exhausted. The staff was so friendly and helpful. They got a room ready for us immediately even though we were too early. When we wanted to go and explore the helped us pick the right busses and routes to go. We loved this hotel. The rooms were light and comfortable. We would love to come back to this hotel again!

Room Tip: Not sure what all the rooms look like but the whole hotel seemed to be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear l3n0r,

Thank you for sharing such lovely comments following your recent stay with us, here at Avalon Beverly Hills.

It was a pleasure having you with us and I was pleased to read that our team was able to help you enjoy all that Beverly Hills has to offer.

We’re certainly lucky to be in such a special spot. Our location offers the best of both worlds; peace and calm from our residential surroundings and everything you can possibly desire within walking distance.

On behalf of the entire Avalon Team; thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,

Matt Bernard
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    162
    64
    31
    27
See reviews for
69
186
45
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solothurn, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

As said in the title, the staff is really friendly. We arrived in the evening and there was quite a lot going on at the reception. But even then, we could check-in very quickly and the staff tried its best to make sure everything went smooth.
The rooms are average. Some of the stuff should be upgraded (TV, telephone) but on the other side there are nice gadgets like an alarm with iPod dock. Another thing which wasn't that great was the WiFi reception. It's perfect in the lobby but once you're in your room you literally have to search the best spot to even check mails. This has happened to me and my friend, so I don't think it's a phone related issue.
Other than that, the rooms are good and you get a nice view of the pool in the middle of the hotel complex.
Regarding the location: if you're looking for bars, pubs and stuff, you're at the wrong hotel! There's not much around within walking distance.

A recommendation at the end of this review: try their restaurant "oliverio"!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Thomas G,

Thanks for sharing such lovely comments following your recent stay with us, here at Avalon Beverly Hills.

I am glad you were able to enjoy our delicious food and beverage offerings at Oliverio restaurant. Chef Mirko Paderno's signature menus feature modern Italian food with regional touches and are a "feast for the senses".

I was certainly most excited to read your kind note about our dedicated service team throughout your visit.

Thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Matt Bernard
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Avalon. The hotel is in the middle of Beverly Hills, but in what felt like a little more of a residential area – which was great because there was very little traffic in the area, especially at night. Lobby is stunning. Very friendly staff, from the valet to check in. I had a room in the tower, and the bed was very comfortable. Loved the mid-century decor of the room. Nice bathroom. I could hear a little noise from hall and room next door, but not enough to bother me or make me lose sleep. Slept very well both nights. Room service was absolutely delicious, and the staff very accommodating when I asked for a very early breakfast. I would definitely stay here again, and have recommended to friends. Love that they even offered yoga by the pool one morning. (The pool is incredible.) If you're considering a stay in Beverly Hills, the Avalon offers a much more personal experience than the big chain hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Try to book a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Lisavee11,

Thanks for sharing such lovely comments following your recent stay with us, here at Avalon Beverly Hills.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we were delighted to learn that you were able to relax and enjoy the Kelly Wearstler designed lobby and Beverly Tower residences all tucked away in our little corner of Beverly Hills.

I am glad you were able to enjoy our delicious food and beverage offerings. Chef Mirko Paderno's signature menus feature modern Italian food with regional touches and are a "feast for the senses".

I was certainly most excited to read your kind note about our dedicated service team throughout your visit and that you enjoyed Saturday morning Yoga by the pool!

Thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Matt Bernard
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Was the best stay of our week long trip. Great, friendly and helpful service. Staff were brilliant and always there to help in anyway they could. Even made my two young children feel very welcome. Definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Lara_Blake2009,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to post your recent experience with us, here at Avalon Beverly Hills.

Indeed, I am immensely proud of our team here at the Avalon. Each of our colleagues is dedicated to providing all of our guests with the best possible experience; whether it be from our reception team, in our guestrooms, or at Oliverio, our poolside Italian restaurant.

On behalf of all colleagues here at Avalon, thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We certainly hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Matt Bernard
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We took a shuttle from LAX and the driver had a bit of trouble finding the hotel, which is a good 30-40 minute drive from the airport depending on traffic Room was clean, bright and pleasant and the bed comfortable. Efficient air conditioning. Within easy walking distance of Rodeo Drive and the expensive properties the area is famous for. Good local bus service which we took to get to Universal Studios - needed to change twice but it was still a very easy journey and a day pass costs just $5 - compared to a taxi ride of around $50!!
There is a central open air swimming pool with restaurant tables around it, which was nice. Breakfast was fine but rather expensive. Beware of ordering cocktails at around $14 for nothing special. Staff very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a small balcony and overlook the open air pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear jennie-jay,

Thanks for sharing such lovely comments following your recent stay with us, here at Avalon Beverly Hills.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we were delighted to learn that you were able to explore our beautiful city and enjoy all that Beverly Hills has to offer within walking distance from our iconic hideaway.

I was certainly most excited to read that you had a chance to enjoy Oliverio restaurant during your stay and that our dedicated service teams provided you with a warm and genuine experience.

Thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Matt Bernard
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

From the very beginning the impression of the hotel was very good, friendly valet service. At the check-in we were upgraded to a bigger room 'so you an really enjoy your first stay with us'. After we asked even the Wifi was complimentary. We had a good and quiet night there and the room was really really spacious. Reasonable priced as well!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear misterneuen,

Thanks for sharing such lovely comments following your recent stay with us, here at Avalon Beverly Hills.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we were delighted to learn that you were able to relax and enjoy one of our more spacious accommodations.

I was certainly most excited to read your kind note about our dedicated service team throughout your visit.

Thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Matt Bernard
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Very good lactation for what we wanted. We upgraded our room as we were very disappointed with the size and condition of the first option. This was only an extra $15 a night but made all the difference and would recommend this. The pool was only open until 6pm which meant we only used it in the morning . This is due to the restaurant being around the pool area. They charge for the water in the room and for parking your car and as everyone expects a tip this became expensive. The hotel staff very extremely friendly and helpful with maps of different areas to help you make the most of LA. If you fancy something different go to the Huntington Library which has some amazing gardens so don't be put off by the name.

Green Features: If you are happy not to have your bed made each day they give you a free small bottle of water.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Redhackers2,

Thanks for sharing such lovely comments following your recent stay with us, here at Avalon Beverly Hills.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we were delighted to learn that you were able to relax and enjoy one of our more spacious accommodations.

I was certainly most excited to read your kind note about our dedicated service team throughout your visit and your great comment regarding our commitment to reducing our carbon foot print.

Thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Matt Bernard
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills

Address: 9400 West Olympic Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Beverly Hills
#9 Luxury Hotel in Beverly Hills
#11 Family Hotel in Beverly Hills
#11 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished by its novel physical space, this Beverly Hills California luxury hotel is set around a dramatic pool terrace with private cabanas and the chic Oliverio restaurant- all just steps from shopping at the finest boutiques, galleries and restaurants nearby.Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills offers luxurious amenities, stylish accommodations, and creative meeting and event space in the heart of Beverly Hills, California.Inspired by the relaxed "patio lifestyle" of mid-20th Century Southern California, Avalon's 83 Beverly Hills hotel rooms, suites and penthouse studios offer guests comfort and style in the heart of Beverly Hills.Custom-designed and classic furnishings by Kelly Wearstler. Pampering Beverly Hills accommodations include custom furnishings and beds with sumptuous Italian designer lines and Neil George amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Venere, Otel, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills Avalon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.