We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be sure to check your room size” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills

Save Saved
You added Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9400 West Olympic Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90212   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 14 hotels in Beverly Hills
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Be sure to check your room size”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Beautiful, trendy hotel, very nice service. Cute, retro decor. Problem is the size of the rooms - we found out (after our stay) that we had the smallest room in the hotel (it felt like Manhattan, not Beverly Hills) and it was also right on the busy street. Looking at the map of the hotel I see that there would be much larger and quieter rooms for the same price. So be sure to ask before they assign you a room!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego H, General Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I appreciate your comments about the décor of the hotel and most importantly about the service. My team is dedicated to making sure every guest has a memorable experience at the hotel. We do have several tiers and classes of rooms which allow us to have great flexibility when it comes to rates. We have our classic rooms which have a smaller footprint but still offer all the great amenities and décor as the rest of the hotel at more affordable rates. For those looking to have more room we have junior suites with patios and kitchenettes, and of course our beautiful penthouse. On behalf of my team, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warmest regards,
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    152
    63
    30
    27
See reviews for
65
178
44
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Staying in LA for 5 nights and want to stay in Beverly Hills, this was the right choice. The rooms r nice and big, great beds, clean bathrooms. The food is great service very nice ... Just love it and very affordable.

Room Tip: If u want very quiet rooms request it. My room is street side, but I like the view, I don't mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego H, General Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Avalon for your 5 night trip to Los Angeles. I appreciate your comments about the rooms, big beds, clean bathrooms, great food and nice service. I am also glad that you found our hotel to be very affordable. On behalf of my team, we look forward to your return visit.

Diego Heredia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

If you want the 1950s classic Beverly Hills experience, stay at the Avalon. The staff is amazing and the atmosphere is just what you'd want. What is it about people knowing your name that makes you feel like a star?

But you should also expect that people will be talking in the pool area until late at night, so if you are a light sleeper, you may need to request a room that's not in the main building. Also, it's a small thing but the showers don't have curtains or doors (at least in the smaller rooms). So when you take a shower, the water goes everywhere in the bathroom and onto the floor. It's a minor inconvenience but I hope they fix it.

All in all, I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool area and near the street are louder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego H, General Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are very proud of the history and architecture of the hotel and we have tried to stay true to the classic Beverly Hills experience of the 1950’s. Our goal is to make every guest feel special through our intuitive service and inspiring design. I do want to apologize about the issue with the half shower door in your guest room and rest assured we are looking into a permanent solution. On behalf of my team, we look forward to your return visit.

Diego Heredia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Service - excellent. Location - excellent. You feel valued, the valets are some of the best I have experienced and our front desk rep, Oliver was terrifically polite, approachable and helpful.

The location could not be better, and it doesn't carry the pretention of the other local 4 / 5 stars.

As far as the rooms go - there is nothing really wrong with them, the King beds & sheets are extremely soft and comfortable.

Food & cocktails - fine, no problems but we chose this hotel over something like The London as we were only really going to sleep, have some breakfast and head out again - and it served it's purposed admirably. Will definitely be back.

Booked through http://Hotels.com, were upgraded to a suite and received 25% off all F&B + valet.

Room Tip: There are 3 x buildings making up the Avalon - those in the building around the pool could get prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego H, General Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for your recent stay at the Avalon. I appreciate your wonderful comments about the excellent customer service that you experienced. I am glad that Oliver provided you with such a memorable experience. On behalf of Oliver and the rest of my team, we look forward to your return visit.

Diego Heredia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This was my fourth visit to the Avalon Beverly Hills, and it once again proved to be an excellent choice of accommodation for my recent holiday in California.

My wife and I arrived on a Sunday afternoon and were greeted by Tijs, the executive assistant manager, and booked into the Canon building, the first time I've stayed over there (it's just over the road from the main building). I've stayed in the Beverly building and had the penthouse last year, so I've a good idea of what each area has to offer in terms of room quality. The Canon building didn't let us down - our room was very spacious and well appointed, looking out onto a little courtyard with palm tree leaves waving at the window.

The Avalon has recently had a new manager in Diego Heredia, and he's continued the dedication to quiet, professional staffing. Tijs offered excellent customer service and was friendly and approachable, stopping to chat with us as we sat in a cabana by the pool. I must also say a big thanks to Ralph Sulzinger, another staff member who remembered us from our last visit - Ralph is a huge asset to the Avalon and goes out of his way to make guests feel at home, offering to help out with road directions or suggesting places to visit in LA. Ralph, you're a star.

As I've mentioned in my previous reviews, the staff and the location are the best things about the Avalon. It's just a 20 minute drive from LAX and you're in a really nice area of Beverly Hills, just by a residential district but within an easy walk from Rodeo Drive. We like walking around the quiet streets near the hotel, taking the scenic route to S Beverly for the restaurants (Frida and Urth Caffé are the best!) or down to W Pico for a meal at the wonderful Sotto. It's also easy to strike out to Malibu, up to the Hollywood Hills, or take a bus to downtown.

As mentioned above, the room we had was very good, with everything clean and well presented - we especially like the Neil George bath product range, designed specifically for the Viceroy hotel group (of which the Avalon is a part). There was a little kitchen area off the main room, with some seats, a fridge etc., so we could self-cater if we wanted (though with so many great restaurants nearby, who'd want to?). The main building is literally across the street, so we could walk over anytime and use the pool or the gym.

The only downside to the Avalon is the obligatory $30/day parking fee if you bring a car, which does seem expensive, though pretty much all hotels in Beverly Hills make similar charges.

Anyway, that's a minor quibble - the Avalon is the best hotel we've stayed in across LA, and we immediately feel the stress of long distance travel ebb away as we book in and settle down for a drink by the pool. We are looking forward to our next visit to LA and will definitely be staying in the Avalon again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego H, General Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I am pleased to learn that we continue to be your number one choice in accommodations in California. Thank you for your continued support and patronage. I am glad that Tijs was able to find the perfect room for you in our Canon residences and that he provided you and your wife with such excellent service. I am also pleased to learn that Ralph continues to make you feel at home with his service, suggestions and directions. I appreciate your comments about the staff, location and overall amenities.
On behalf of my Tijs, Ralph and the rest of the team, we look forward to welcoming you and your wife to your home in California.

Warmest regards,
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

Beverly Hills is the perfect location for a first-time visitor to LA! The hotel is a 15 minute walk to Rodeo Drive & Wilshire Blvd. We had both positive & negative experiences at the Avalon.
Positive: Location (as I mentioned above). We didn't drive, which I know will probably surprise a lot of people- because apparently everybody drives in LA! However, we walked to Rodeo Drive & it is such a safe neighborhood that I would recommend it. We were also a $10-$20 cab ride away to anywhere we wanted to go. The airport is about $44. Service was attentive but not intrusive. Staff at reception were happy to call us a cab or book restaurants on request! The pool bar is a great spot to enjoy a beer after a day of shopping, & the restaurant has well-priced food which surprised me, to be honest! The hotel itself reminds me of a 70's era motel which has been updated to Beverly Hills standards. Now for the negative- my only complaint is that the room wasn't insulated enough from noise. We could hear every single footstep from the room above and unfortunately that occupant loved to wake up at 6:30 a.m. & pace around the room! I think if something wakes me up- it is loud! So I think the age of the building will show some cracks now and again, and that is the downfall of this hotel. Cosmetic renovation can only do so much. Overall though a good stay!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego H, General Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review. I do agree that Beverly Hills is a perfect starting point for any first time visitor to LA. Beverly Hills is close to almost all other areas including West Hollywood, Santa Monica and Hollywood and our hotel is walking distance to Rodeo drive, Beverly Blvd and Wilshire. I appreciate your comments about the service and amenities at the hotel. I do apologize about the noise issues but we do try to make up for any physical shortcomings through very intuitive service and amenities. On behalf of my team, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warmest regards,
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed here last week on a four-day visit. Fantastic allround - attentive staff, comfy, plush rooms, great location close to West Hollywood and a great bar and restaurant. Highly recommended. Only down side is the thin walls, but apart from that superb.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego H, General Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you your recent four day visit. I appreciate your wonderful comments about the attentive staff, plush rooms, convenient location and great bar and restaurant. Thank you in advance for recommending us to your friends and family. On behalf of my team, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warmest regards,
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills

Address: 9400 West Olympic Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Beverly Hills
#9 Luxury Hotel in Beverly Hills
#10 Family Hotel in Beverly Hills
#11 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished by its novel physical space, this Beverly Hills California luxury hotel is set around a dramatic pool terrace with private cabanas and the chic Oliverio restaurant- all just steps from shopping at the finest boutiques, galleries and restaurants nearby.Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills offers luxurious amenities, stylish accommodations, and creative meeting and event space in the heart of Beverly Hills, California.Inspired by the relaxed "patio lifestyle" of mid-20th Century Southern California, Avalon's 83 Beverly Hills hotel rooms, suites and penthouse studios offer guests comfort and style in the heart of Beverly Hills.Custom-designed and classic furnishings by Kelly Wearstler. Pampering Beverly Hills accommodations include custom furnishings and beds with sumptuous Italian designer lines and Neil George amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills Avalon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.