We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Beverly Hills” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills

Save Saved
You added Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   403 N Crescent Drive, Beverly Hills, CA 90210 (Formerly The Crescent)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 hotels in Beverly Hills
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A gem in Beverly Hills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations. The location is perfect for restaurants, shopping and the beautiful Beverly Hills Library. The staff were consistently responsive and friendly. The "cooked-to-order" breakfast was first-rate as was the delightful terraced seating area. Daily newspapers & magazines available in the lounge along with freshly-made (and very good) coffee available at 7:00 a.m. We upgraded to a King room as the standard rooms are small -- a move made effortless by hotel staff. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet except during the early-morning rubbish pickup nearby. The bathroom was fine; however, the lighting was not adequate for applying makeup. This charming hotel is ideal for either the business traveler or those interested in exploring the area. We would definitely recommend this gem to friends.

Room Tip: Corner suite was sunny and surprisingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, General Manager at Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our Beverly Hills boutique hotel.

The team will be pleased that their attention to detail was noticed by you. The free breakfast is an added benefit that we built into our guest stays about a year ago.

Concerning your comment about more light for make-up, we will explore more lighting options.
.
Thanks so much for staying with us,
James and Susan - Guest Care team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    71
    43
    23
    31
See reviews for
25
82
30
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sf,ca
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Crescent is a very small hotel (approx 40 rooms) in a great location in Beverly Hills. The standard rooms are quite small it is definitely worth upgrading to a superior room or a King room! I was in a King Room and it was a nice size with great storage space and a separate sitting space in addition to a desk area. The location can't be beat. Valet parking is relatively convenient but with only one valet sometimes there is a wait. Wifi is free and worked well. I was stunned that this hotel still has an evening turndown service (I haven't experienced this at even 4 and 5 star hotels in a long time!). It was great having used towels replaced without having to call down for new ones! The price is significantly less than other hotels in the area. Overall, I loved this hotel.

Some caveats (these items may or may not bother you):
*limited outlets in my King room. I only found three "open outlets." Not enough for two people in a room with multiple devices that need charging
*no bathtub though the shower was quite large and quite good
*The hotel is only two stories but there is no elevator. It is a half flight of stairs to the front desk. if you are on the second floor you need to walk down a long hall and then walk up a full flight of stairs. Could be an issue if you have a lot of luggage

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Manager at Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thanks so much for your vote of confidence in our renovated room designs, We have all worked hard to realize the "boutique hotel for Beverly Hills" sense of history and fun and space.

Concerning our lack of an elevator to the 2nd floor rooms - the architect has it in his plans for this year. We do have permitting challenges to overcome as we are an historic hotel, dating from 1927 and Beverly Hills is truly interested in our preservation of our "Silent Film Age" style.

Thanks again for all your comments,
James and Susan, Guest Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Lovely, small but chic place. Friendly staff and bar/terrace area. Rooms are tiny but has everything you need if you're just staying for a night or two (or plan to be out and about all day) - comfy bed, flat screen tv, lockable door. I had the bartender make me a cocktail he knew how to make and I enjoyed his friendly conversation and attention to detail.
My only complaint - the noise. The people above us are having a conversation, unpacking, walking around and i think they have left their bathroom fan on. It sounds like I'm on an airplane that's about to take off. Been like this for nearly two hours. I have ear plugs to put in but the noise is still vibrating through the walls.
I'm not sure how successful the renovated soundproofing has been in other rooms but right now I'm wishing I had some sleeping tablets to knock me out!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Front Office Manager at Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for writing about your experience at our hotel. Your input is invaluable to us and will help us in our continuing effort to provide our guests with the best service possible. Our soundproofing efforts have reached 85% of the rooms with the remaining handful of rooms to be renovated in the next 10-12 weeks. We are terribly sorry you were in one of the very few rooms without soundproofing renovations and wished you had let the desk know so we could have moved your room as not every guest has the same reaction. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you to Beverly Hills first boutique hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

First and foremost, the location of this hotel is excellent. Right in the heart of Beverly Hills and easy walking distance to everything.

Rooms were nice, but that was secondary to the what I consider to be the best asset, the staff. Welcoming, inviting, able to answer any and all questions, and made our stay that much better.

The awesome and knowledgeable bartender from Boston was a huge win as he and my fiance talked about Hull and Hingham, MA.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Manager at Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
You are both kind and thanks for the good thoughts about the welcoming staff. That is what we are working for here. We are small enough to be welcoming, that is for sure.

Thanks so much that you cared to write,
Susan and James - Guest Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

LOVE this place. Great price, two blocks off rodeo drive, wonderful patio and great food and drinks. The bar has a very good selection of bottled beer. Each room is unique and the personal touches here you will not get anywhere else. The best part however is the people working here. They are nice, welcoming and genuinely seem to care. A special shout out goes to the sweet southern belle bartender working the nights I was there. It was nice to hear the familiar southern draw in her voice and the attentive and polite way she took care of the guests.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Manager at Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
We will rush to tell our service teams about your great experience here with us.

The southern belle bartender must have been having some accent fun with you and your North Carolina sounds!

Many thanks for the kind words,
James and Susan - Guest Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaquemine, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

OMG This hotel is absolutely amazing. They have totally redone all the rooms and are each decorated with style and class. They have a great bar with a place to relax and just enjoy yourself. The food and service was over the top. 5 stars on both. Everyone was so helpful and couldn't be nicer. Location was perfect. Only a couple of blocks from Rodeo drive. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a first class experience, the best people ever, and the feel of a 5 star hotel but half the cost.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Manager at Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thanks so much for your especially kind words about your 5 Star stay at our small hotel - near Rodeo drive. That you thought the food was over the top - we will sit the chef down for that one!

We will pass your kind words on to the teams that make it all happen.

All care,
James and Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed there for one night. We asked for a quiet room and got at the second floor. I put an ear plug at night because I am a light sleeper and the sound of heater bothered me.
The room was clean except the shower area is not tiled but concrete which I don't care that much. Like everyone said location is good and breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Manager at Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thanks for great review about a quiet sleep and our location and cleanliness. I will pas your comments along to our housekeeping team.

All care,
James and Susan, Guest Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills

Address: 403 N Crescent Drive, Beverly Hills, CA 90210 (Formerly The Crescent)
Location: United States > California > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Beverly Hills
#12 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Beverly Hills hotel, a true boutique with just 32 rooms, is in the heart of Beverly Hills just 3 blocks from Rodeo Drive. The front palm lined terrace (breakfast, nibbles, tapas and dinner) faces Crescent Ave - a wide palm lined boulevard. Established in 1927 and newly renovated in 2013, the décor is casually Hollywood, like a comfy collection of styles from the studios' storehouse of set designs stretching from 1920 to 2013. The feeling is “at-studio-at-home” with a film designer’s whimsy. The terrace and lounge flow to create the hotel’s social hub, offering casual dining and a relaxing bar/lounge, punctuated by Beverly Hills chatter. Directly opposite the hotel are the historic offices of MCA Studios. Our hotel became MCA’s local choice, where a cadre of players would stay when in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills
Crescent Beverly Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.