We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills to your Saves list
Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   403 N Crescent Drive, Beverly Hills, CA 90210 (Formerly The Crescent)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Beverly Hills
Southern California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My fiancé surprised me with a weekend getaway right after Thanksgiving - almost like a place to unwind from the holiday madness. It's a small 35-bedroom hotel in the middle of Bev Hills, but you wouldn't know it at all.

On a corner in plainsight, it's flanked by trees covering the patio. Inside is a small bit of oasis. From the first encounter with Winston who checked us in, to the wonderful valet men, and the bartender who makes strong drinks ... the staff is excellent. You can't miss Winston, he's a nice guy with a Virginian accent. He upgraded us into Room 201 - the front room above the patio. Excellent room. Based on the size of it, it is definitely much bigger than the rest of the rooms. The decor was very nice - just our style with the whites and dark browns. The little mini chandeliers which acted as nightstand lights were a nice touch. The bathroom was awesome with it's white square sink sitting on top of the counter. Philosophy bath products were the staples in the room (I don't like Philosophy, but their choices were great!). The shower was too die for - it was made industrial-like, instead of using tile or marble, it was made out of dark grey concrete (or an excellent faux looking concrete). The shower was fairly large (both of us could fit easily) and it had a made bench in the shower. We vowed to have a bathroom redone like this in our house.

The bed was very comfortable. The leather couch in the sitting area was actually quite nice. The flat screen TV was installed on the wall. It was a larger size than most of the pictures shown on this site. The desk and chair were actually nice decor, as well. However, we did not like the ceiling fan (it looked old and was rickety), the AC was working mediocre (thank goodness the windows opened and fresh air was available), and the front door was not soundproof (there was a slight gap from the bottom of the door to the floor).

The outside patio, bar area, lobby (with beautiful Christmas tree) was really nice. The outside patio had a dual fireplace which was also shared with a living room type of area. The bar did not have that many speciality drinks to order from, but what I got was very good (something that had vodka and blood orange), but my fiancé had a strong drink that was told it would taste similar to a root beer float, but it tasted like extra strong vanilla soda. The bartender was really nice though - and he was not stingy about his liquor. He also recommended an appetizer (ahi tuna ceviche) which was heaven in our mouths!

On a Saturday night, we had the outside patio to ourselves. We sat at the corner next to a heat lap. We had a lovely view of the area outside the hotel (across the street is Platinum Equity with a gorgeous landscape) and the dual fireplace. It was nice and quiet.

Unfortunately, we did not partake in the free breakfast because we got down to the lobby too late.

All in all, we would definitely return to The Crescent again. And we would not hesitate to recommend anyone to go here. Ask for Room 201 and make sure you find Winston. He's awesome!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Manager at Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you so much for all of the attention you gave to this kind, glowing compendium of all that we are doing to care for our guests.

That our guest and you in particular are kindly noticing, is a fine reward.

Thank you - all you comments will be passed on in our staff meeting.

Many thanks,
James and Susan, Guest Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    83
    45
    23
    29
See reviews for
27
91
30
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Note: I don't work for the Crescent. I don't get paid to write reviews for them or anyone else for that matter. I am stating that because after reading this, you might think otherwise.

If you didn't know it was there, you wouldn't know it was there. At the corner of Beverly and Brighton in the heart of Beverly Hills, is The Crescent. You could walk right past it a hundred times, and if you happened to have been texting or even sneezing, you may not have ever noticed. And that would be a shame. Even more so if you were looking for a place to stay (or eat, drink or just relax).

The Crescent was always happy to quiet and cool, leaving the notoriety to nearby Beverly Hilton (think, Emmy Awards), Beverly Hills Hotel, the Bel Air, and of course the Beverly Wilshire (remember, "Reg - Bev - Wil" from Pretty Woman?) which is right down the block. But some years ago (not that long ago really) the entrance to The Crescent was actually a bit larger, more traditional and facing Beverly Drive. Recently, in order to expand the restaurant and bar area, they have changed the main entrance to a smaller doorway around the corner on Brighton. For you history and trivia buffs, at the time of the writing of this review, both the picture on TripAdvisor AND the ones on the website (http://crescentbh.com) are of the hotel back when the entrance was on Beverly. So now the side facing Beverly is hidden behind a landscaped wall enveloping the outdoor patio of the restaurant.

Ok, so here's the deal. I've spent over 60 nights at The Crescent. I stayed there a lot for business several years back. It was absolutely stellar then ... and they have managed to make it even better.

The staff - ALL THE STAFF - is simply exceptional. It is the service of the highest order, and more importantly service more genuine than you can imagine. The staff somehow manages to make you believe you have known them for years. It feels great. It makes you want to say hello to people in the hallway. And if you are lucky enough to run into Justice (I hope I did justice to the spelling of his name), even better. He'll take care of you like he's your best man, your brother, your prom date, or your person attache.

The restaurant is perfection. Don't miss the truffle fries - best anywhere. The flatbread pizza will blow you away with the garlicky aroma which is evident long before it hits the table. The restaurant is split between an interior and exterior seating area, with plenty of choices of seating type and arrangements, to suit all desires. In fact, you may be so inclined to want to move around to experience a traditional table on the patio then a fireside drink on the sofas. And the bar - where you will likely end up - is a perfect size, and of course staffed by uncannily warm and friendly people who will make you a perfect drink. Mine was a Makers Mark Manhattan on the Rocks. And yes, it was perfect. Each time.

The rooms are not large, but they accomplish something astounding. They manage to do everything right. There is not a single annoying thing about the rooms. The large flat screen TV's are perfectly placed. The bathrooms are understated yet slick. The complimentary iPod docked net to the bed, playing soft tunes upon arrival - also just right. The lighting - exactly what you want it to be. Oh, and the bed may simply be the most comfortable bed I have ever been in ... including all those fancy joints I mentioned earlier.

Something worth mentioning which doesn't really fit in any category ... the hotel smells so great. Too great. You want to take a few extra breaths before you head out to Rodeo Drive (seconds away). And every time you return, you think to yourself, "how did I forget the place smells this good?"

Oh, and I guess I should mention that it's also one of the most affordable places in the area - an area which is not known for anything inexpensive.

So all in all, here is my opinion. Staying at The Crescent will make you feel slightly hipper and smarter than you may actually be. But that's ok. That close to Hollywood - you should "act as if" anyway. Oh, and you'll also come out of there smelling better than you did when you went in.

Wish there were 6 circles ... five didn't do it justice (there's that Justice again).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, General Manager at Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write with such passion, color, and humor about our Beverly Hills hotel.

You caught the flavor with flare.

Many, many thanks for your time in writing this "story" of the bar, the terrace, the rooms, the dining, the neighborhood, the smell --- the Crescent.

Best to you,
James and Susan - Guest Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Was looking for a non-chain, not ridiculously expensive, interesting hotel near west LA. The Crescent is all of those. The staff was very cordial. The food (I only had one meal) was quite good. The interior decor was quirky. Clearly done by someone with a sense of humor.

Only complaint was that the heat in my room did not work so well (night temps were in the '40's). They said that they're about to do some renovations to address things like that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for three nights, the room was comfortable, the service was were kind and the hotel's location with several nice cafes, restaurants and shops within walking distance was great. The only downside is the parking fee.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Pros: Super comfortable beds, very clean, great location for Beverly Hills and staff very kind. I went for a jog and come back a couple of hours later. The receptionist at the desk told me he was worried about me I was gone so long! The restaurant is excellent and the prices are good. There is a Whole Foods a block away which is convenient.
Cons: Tiny bathroom, no desk in my room, no robes, no views and a bit noisy.
Every other hotel in Beverly Hills will be twice the price, so...I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Pros: Booked this hotel last minute for one night. Check in was easy! The staff is so friendly and attentive. They are the reason I will be staying at this hotel whenever I am in the LA area. They greet you with a genuine smile and answer all of your questions. The rooms are cozy, modern, and inviting. The beds are beyond comfortable.

Cons: Valet is $28. Their food is disgusting and expensive. The walls are very thin but that wasn't a problem for me. I can sleep through anything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed at the Crescent for 3 nights, if you want to stay in Beverly Hills near Rodeo Drive this place is fantastic, concierge fantastic really helpful, room very clean, we stayed in a queen room, which was a bed, small table and chair and bathroom. Bed was super comfortable. Dont expect a view from the window but this didnt bother us as we were there to explore LA. On arrival we had champagne and every morning they have complimentary coffee and little pastries. Free wi-fi which we used a lot. Lots of places to eat close by. Close to the Hop on Hop off bus which takes you on tours through LA and down to Santa Monica. Would definitely recommend for couples not sure it's a place for younger families, Personally wouldn't stay there if I came back with my children.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills

Address: 403 N Crescent Drive, Beverly Hills, CA 90210 (Formerly The Crescent)
Location: United States > California > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Beverly Hills
#9 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Beverly Hills hotel, a true boutique with just 32 rooms, is in the heart of Beverly Hills just 3 blocks from Rodeo Drive. The front palm lined terrace (breakfast, nibbles, tapas and dinner) faces Crescent Ave - a wide palm lined boulevard. Established in 1927 and newly renovated in 2013, the décor is casually Hollywood, like a comfy collection of styles from the studios' storehouse of set designs stretching from 1920 to 2013. The feeling is “at-studio-at-home” with a film designer’s whimsy. The terrace and lounge flow to create the hotel’s social hub, offering casual dining and a relaxing bar/lounge, punctuated by Beverly Hills chatter. Directly opposite the hotel are the historic offices of MCA Studios. Our hotel became MCA’s local choice, where a cadre of players would stay when in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills
Crescent Beverly Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crescent Hotel Beverly Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.