We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great but okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Farine Berkeley

La Farine Berkeley
1820 Solano Ave, Berkeley, CA 94707
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 26 Bakeries in Berkeley
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Bakeries
Restaurant details
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not so great but okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

You will get decent bakery choices here but doesn't taste really authentic because tastes more sweet than they should be. If you prefer more sweet than authentic then go for it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    0
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Delicious Pastries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

After eat at the Zachary's Pizza we walked down the block to have some dessert, we ordered the best yummy fruit tart, lemon shortbread and chocolate cheesecake - fall in love for all these pastries as they are not too sweet compare to others! Besides the pastries, we also like to order the sandwich to go, pricey but worth it for such a quality food!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pricey But Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We bought a pistachio and chocolate cake which was fabulous even though we were a bit thrown by the $35.00 price. If you're looking for a desert for guests or to bring when you are guests (as we were), you'll be pleased with your choice. A $3.75 loaf of fresh baked light rye also delicious.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The BEST pastry shop!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Divine pastries! Quality! WOW!!! This is on par with New York and Paris. Don't miss this bakery.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Real French bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Very good croissants, brioche, and baguettes. Wonderful fruit tarts. I ordered a plum tart which looked picture perfect and just as it would if I had bought it in France. It also tasted the way that it should.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Farine Berkeley also viewed

 

Been to La Farine Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Farine Berkeley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.