We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Outdoor views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paragon Restaurant and Bar

Paragon Restaurant and Bar
41 Tunnel Rd, Berkeley, CA 94705
(510) 549-8585
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Paragon Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 532 Restaurants in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Domingo
Transit: AC Transit, 1 mi. from Rockridge BART
Description: Verbiage to describe the restaurant: A lively, casual dining spot with some of the Bay Area’s best views. Paragon Restaurant & Bar in Berkeley, located inside the landmark Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, features upscale gastro pub cuisine designed by Chef Marcos Sanchez, plus a large selection of hand-shaken cocktails, craft beers and an eclectic wine list. Our famous outdoor deck offers beautiful vistas of the rolling hillsides and on a clear day, a beautiful vantage point of the entire San Francisco skyline. We feature live jazz every Friday and Saturday night.
Fort Collins
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Outdoor views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Wonderful views across the Bay to SF skyline. Casual is ok, good for evening and night time conversations with friends. The food is only ok, but the drinks are good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    38
    22
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alamo, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Meh....great location, not quite superb food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Meh indeed. Food OK. We were 9 adults and two children for a 6.15 pm Monday 42nd birthday reservation. Good table. Too late for the sunset view (our fault), which would have made quite the difference. Our waiter was straight from Faulty Towers, that ancient BBC wonderful comic series. Sloppily dressed and attempting repeatedly to remove our plates before we had finished eating. Butter lettuce was bland. Pan seared butter fish was certainly adequate. The special of salmon on a mushroom risotto with a relish of fennel and orange also didn't reach the heights Berkeley's best by a mile. Kids had to get home on a school night. We didn't stay for deserts and coffees. And after the $15 burgers some had, we got the pleasure to pay for parking. The validations didn't cover the 2 hours we were there even though we paid $500 for the pleasure of being at the Claremont. Pretty sure we'll give it another chance. It's such a great location. But I'll inform them of my expectations.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“good food great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Had better service cheaper food and a outstanding view compared with the meritage. The meritage had better drinks.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Beautiful view from the patio.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The view from the patio was absolutely magnificent! I enjoyed my New York steak dinner and drinks. The wait staff was efficient and very friendly.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Great bar with several areas for sitting and talking, noise level was energetic but not too loud. The food is really god a comfort food, meets bar fare style. Hearty. Service was top rate. It is in the Claremont so that if you're staying there its convenient.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paragon Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Paragon Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paragon Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.