We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa is the best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Claremont Hotel Club & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Claremont Hotel Club & Spa to your Saves list
Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Tunnel Road, Berkeley, CA 94705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Home for the Holidays!
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spa is the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Lovely old hotel. Very stately. Wonderful facilities including two swimming pools with lap lanes. Views are wonderful.

Been to the spa in the past and it is awesome. Love the multi jet showers! Luxury !

Felt kind of like I was starring in an old Hollywood movie.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We love that you have likened a stay with us at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa to starring in an old Hollywood movie! Thank you so much for sharing your review and appreciation for what we have to offer at our historic property. The Spa here is serene retreat for all who have the opportunity to experience it. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    227
    125
    91
    75
See reviews for
190
271
57
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Bayview room - which you pay more for, has ONE window that is 3' by 5' tall. Crazy. Room is big but dark and musty - as are all the hotel floors. The Spa is only open from 12-5??? Skip this hotel - even the Sheraton is nicer!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, General Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies for the encounter you have shared. We are deeply committed to providing an excellent stay for all of our guests and achieving your complete satisfaction on all levels. It is disappointing to know that we failed to meet your expectations regarding your accommodations. Please know that our Spa associates always want to meet your needs completely and we ask that you accept our apologies if our hours were not more convenient for you. Your feedback is critical and we will use it to share with all of our management team. Thank you for sharing your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is a lovely old hotel full of history (with the photos to show for it!). The Paragon restaurant was good, although it could use some help in the decor. My only real complaint would be that room 709 is not the best. The thermostat was hard to control, and there was an automatic motion sensor light in the bathroom which was very annoying at night....plus the water temperature in the shower was so sensitive, it was easily too hot or too cold and the vanity mirror was installed at a level so low only a child could use it..........

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you so much for letting us know of your appreciation for the history of The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Our property dates back to the early days of the Gold Rush and we love to share in the magic that has happened within our walls. Dining at Paragon is a favorite with many of our guests as we create delicious, familiar choices with a twist. We do apologize if some aspects of your guest room were not more to your liking or if you experienced any issues with the thermostat. The automated light sensors and the bathroom vanity mirror height are to ensure ADA compliance in some of our guest rooms. Nonetheless we regret any inconvenience it may have caused. We will be sure that our maintenance team is aware of your concerns for future stays. It is our hope that you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Ca
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The Claremont is one of a kind. Beautiful victorian architecture in the Berkeley Hills overlooking SF Bay and the Golden Gate.

Upgrade to a West (golden gate) view. Enjoy the pool and the views. Look for deals on priceline and hotwire.

Romantic getaway

Room Tip: get a west facing room overlooking the Golden Gate and SF Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa truly is one of a kind! Thank you so much for appreciating what makes our historic property so unique. There is nothing quite like the views from our hotel. It would be our privilege to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I really enjoy this hotel but in the recent years it has changed owners and some of he service has dropped. The restaurant has never really been that good but breakfast is a sure pass.The pool is great and the view is great! I just wish this hotel was updated a little and the service back up to par. The jewelry gift shop is a plus for this hotel .Great local made jewelry

Room Tip: Get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. Rising high in the hills of Berkeley, our historic property has offered our guests some amazing stays over the years and we are glad you have enjoyed it on a number of occasions, but we do regret if your recent experience was not all you had hoped for. Please know that we always want to know how we can help improve as it is only through our guests’ eyes do we have the ability to assess our offerings. Your comments will be shared with our management team. It is our hope that you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The service here is outstanding. Every staff encounter was positive but Tiffany at the spa the next day remembered my name despite the extra crowds for the holiday weekend. Carol Yoshiwara, one of the hosts at their Paragon restaurant, was helpful throughout our dining experience. The food was FANTASTIC, the views spectacular.
Two cautions:First, the holiday weekend brought out the crowds ie families. If staying without children, and you haven't the energy for them, avoid holidays, the pool was beyond crowded. Second, I did not realize that one must make an appointment for the spa even if one does not have a treatment scheduled. That keeps the spa a peaceful place not a crowded crush. They were full when I arrived and since we were staying only one night, I'm glad our schedule was flexible and that the hotel allowed a spa appointment after check out the next day.

Room Tip: Request a room away from families; sound insulation is poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
There is nothing we like to hear more than how much our guests enjoy their time at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions as well as your compliments to our associates. Paragon is a lively and casual spot and offers some of the best views of the Bay Area. We are glad you enjoyed it! While holidays can be quite the draw for many of our guests to stay, we are glad you were able to obtain a spa appointment and enjoy peace away from the hustle and bustle. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yosemite National Park, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We took our 4 small grandchildren to the resort for a weekend. They had the best time! There is a dedicated children's pool, as well as 3 others, all heated. They had lessons available Sat. morning. There is a wonderful Kids Club, which the 3 oldest (2, 4, 6) loved, and which gave the parents/grandparents a chance to do other things. The child minders at the Kids Club were wonderful and the kids got to do a lot of crafts and play with a lot of toys. It also was very secure, which gave us peace of mind. There is a gym for grownups, and a schedule of classes (we missed beginners yoga, but will hit it next time). The rooms were excellent and the pillows really soft. The only reason I didn't give the hotel a 5-star rating was that the towels were thin and had seen better days and the food was not 5-star worthy. Parking, as typical for the Bay Area, was expensive. We will go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed bringing your grandchildren to The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa for the weekend! Our impeccable attention to detail includes fun for the kids, so you can focus on adult time as well. From our Kids Club with countless activities, as you mentioned, to our sparkling outdoor pools, we offer so much to enjoy in addition to the comfort you found in our guest rooms. We do apologize if your dining experience was not more to your liking. If there was anything we could have done differently, we would love to know. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Claremont Hotel Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Hotel Club & Spa

Address: 41 Tunnel Road, Berkeley, CA 94705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Claremont Hotel Club & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1915, the Claremont has pampered guests at the level expected of a AAA Four-Diamond award winning hotel. With stress melting spa treatments, a wide range of fitness options, special events, live music, and endless culinary delights, you’ll find the Claremont engaging - even if you choose to simply engage in quality time alone. We deliver attentive service with a gracious hospitality casual enough to make you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Claremont Hotel Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Club And Spa
Claremont Hotel Club Berkeley
Claremont Resort Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.