We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for parking and resort fees!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Claremont Hotel Club & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Claremont Hotel Club & Spa to your Saves list
Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Tunnel Road, Berkeley, CA 94705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Home for the Holidays!
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
“Watch out for parking and resort fees!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Just spent a night at this wonderful old hotel in Berkley Ca. The room was great, the staff were nice but I was surprised by the add-ons of $30 for overnight parking and almost $30 for a resort fee. So if you got a good deal on Priceline like I did,.. it was not so good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
While we are delighted to know you enjoyed your overall stay at our hotel and found our associates to be so nice, we couldn't be more disappointed than learning that you were troubled by any of our fees. Our website is the best source for any of our charges but we apologize if there was any lack of clarity. Some of our many resort amenities include 3 pools, tennis courts, Mind & Body Center, fitness center, yoga studio, Spa and a Kid's Club day camp for guests to enjoy. We do have several packages that include various facility and parking charges to provide a reasonable alternative. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    226
    125
    91
    75
See reviews for
190
268
57
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Just read all the positive reviews - old school - reminds me of San Diego's Hotel Del Coronado with it's flowery charm, excellent service, and great pool and fitness room - if you have the budget, don't hesitate to choose this one...only 10 min down to college ave are some amazing restaurants as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your many wonderful compliments of The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. It always delights us to hear about a guest's positive experience. We offer the perfect escape filled with all of the charm of years gone by coupled with modern convenience and it is great to know you agree. As you mentioned, we are just minutes from UC Berkeley. We look forward to your next visit and we hope it’s soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at the lovely Claremont for the 12 year anniversary party of our dear friend Sunshine. Joy check us in and was so accommodating and sweet. Joy definitely started our stay on the right foot and we could not have been more pleased with our check-in experience. The view from our beautiful enormous room was brilliant. We enjoyed both Paragon and Meritage for their unique and delicious food, cocktails, and exquisite wine lists. The views from both restaurants were amazing! The pools, fitness facilities and classes were beyond what you would ever imagine at a hotel. They have state of the art work out machines, and excellent teachers. Kareem checked us into the pool area and was so kind and helpful! He even had hot tea waiting for us on our way out and back to the room! Everyone was wonderful! My husband and I both took advantage of spa treatments that were relaxing and pampering. We left feeling refreshed and rejuvenated. We checked out and drove to Yosemite for 5 days and on our way back decided we must go and stay at the Claremont for the end of our visit. Joy again checked us in and was an angel. Joy has such an amazing way about her and even with some difficulty in our reservation made the experience one that we will never forget! We had a second couple with us on our 2nd stay and they were also blown away. Jasmine in the Paragon was so wonderful and ensured that our party had a beautiful view for dinner, even on a busy Saturday night!! We were blown away by the generosity of the staff. We would like to thank all of the staff for making us feel home away from home. Although it is a bit expensive... we thought it was worth every penny! We highly recommend this hotel, club and spa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
From the moment you arrive at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa until the time you leave, we want everyone to be relaxed, comfortable and well taken care of. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much that you were able to come back and end your vacation experience here too! With perfect accommodations, pampering service and the best in dining what more could you ask for a getaway? Our associates will all be so glad to know that you appreciated their efforts. Thank you for your review and recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have been here many, many times often for weddings or brunch or business events, and recently had the occasion to be here again for 2 nites in October on business. This old hotel is unique and very pretty. Obviously, it is a bit out of the way from either SF or Oakland or even downtown Berkeley or UC, but the out of the way character is part of the charm. The architecture is unique, and it shows in everything from the extra wide corridors inside the hotel to the old school tiles in your bathroom. Lovely wood throughout, Chinese vases in the hallways, and views of the Bay to die for.
Very comfortable, clean, and spacious (at least in my case) rooms. Everything was updated, despite the fact that this must be close to 100 years old. The staff was extra nice, but with a very professional edge that I found very appropriate.
This would not be my choice if I were in Oakland or Berkeley on business that made me need to go downtown, but for a romantic getaway, or if you're going to be driving anyways, or if you need a spot for a business meeting, this is a great East Bay choice. (Or perhaps if you're here for a Cal football game.)
So why no 5 stars? Well, there was a bit of a walk to park the car and my TV remote didn't work. That's it. Otherwise, you should stay here.

Room Tip: There seems to be a wide variety of rooms -- these are not cookie cutter. So you may want to talk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa,closing in on our 100th Anniversary soon, is filled with so many years of amazing history and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We value all of our guests, whether traveling business or just a couple on a romantic escape and it is great to know that the level of service you received was so positive. Located high in the hills of Berkeley, our hotel is certainly a great East Bay choice! Thank you so much for your review and recommendations, we would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, N.Y.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We left another uncomfortable hotel to finish out our extended weekend here, and were not disappointed. It's a very updated hotel, with all comforts and conveniences. The food at the terrace restaurant where we had lunch was wonderful. The pool and related facilities were great, too, the staff was helpful, cordial, and professional. The only disappointment was that we had to pay $25. a head to host our children and grandchildren at the pool, even for only 1.5 hours. We have never had to pay for our pool guests, at more modest hotels, and equally luxurious ones. We would stay here again; we would now be prepared for the extra charges, e.g. parking, as others have noted.

Room Tip: There are a few "standard" rooms that have a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your stay at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. What a lovely way to round out a long weekend getaway than with a visit to our historic hotel! Our associates will be delighted that they left you with such a positive impression. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time and that you and your family were able to make such good use of our outdoor pools. Our Aquatics Center is part of our Club that is open to hotel guests and Club Members and we apologize if you were surprised by our any of our fees. We hope you do come back and we hope it is soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had a beautiful weekend with family and friends at this wonderful resort. It is a hidden gem and our 3 night stay was really enjoyable. We got lucky with amazing weather. The public areas are classically tasteful, the service was great. Our room was slightly dated, especially the bathroom but still comfortable and clean. The gym, spa, and pool were great. Breakfasts were good though a little pricey. The Sunday brunch was stellar. We never had dinner at the hotel. I would high;y recommend it and plan on staying there again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for providing such detail about your stay at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa and for sharing your weekend with family and friends with us. We are thrilled to know you were able to appreciate so much of what our hotel has to offer from our luxurious public spaces, fitness facilities and even our Spa. The Claremont truly is a unique gem and our Sunday brunch should not be missed! We look forward to welcoming you back again for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at the Claremont for two nights as part of a tour. Our room was large with two king size beds, and a nice seating area. The bathroom had a shower and bath with sufficient towels. Like many hotels in the US water has to be bought, even in the room, and the pint bottles are expensive.
The hotel foyer and reception areas were impressive, but a wedding party took up most of the space in the bar, which was not difficult to find, but seemed to be set aside for the private party.
The hotel has nice grounds, and other facilities, but we were unable to avail ourselves of these due to our itinerary.
Breakfast was very good and the waiting staff helpful.
The hotel is quite some distance from San Francisco itself, across the Bay Bridge, but the drive in and out is quite spectacular.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa is truly one of the greatest California landmarks high in the hills of Berkeley and offers all of the charm and historical significance of years gone by coupled with luxury and convenience. Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your most recent visit. We are glad you enjoyed a comfortable stay and we hope that you weren’t too inconvenienced by any guests’ celebrations. Your opinions are extremely important to us and we will be sure to share your feedback with everyone here. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Claremont Hotel Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Hotel Club & Spa

Address: 41 Tunnel Road, Berkeley, CA 94705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Claremont Hotel Club & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1915, the Claremont has pampered guests at the level expected of a AAA Four-Diamond award winning hotel. With stress melting spa treatments, a wide range of fitness options, special events, live music, and endless culinary delights, you’ll find the Claremont engaging - even if you choose to simply engage in quality time alone. We deliver attentive service with a gracious hospitality casual enough to make you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Claremont Hotel Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Club And Spa
Claremont Hotel Club Berkeley
Claremont Resort Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.