We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth the Hype” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Claremont Hotel Club & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Claremont Hotel Club & Spa to your Saves list
Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Tunnel Road, Berkeley, CA 94705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Home for the Holidays!
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Not Worth the Hype”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was very excited for our stay at the Claremont. We were hoping to enjoy a little R&R by the pool. Having lived in the area for a few years,I knew of the hotel’s reputation and was very excited to stay here. We booked a Garden View room but were given room 145 with a horrible view of the roof of the building below with all the mechanical equipment. Garden view, I think not! The rest of our experience was equally disappointing.

Room Condition – Room smelled strongly of mildew. Bathroom is tired and worn out. Walls are also ver thin, could hear our neighbors late night and early morning. Obviously not the hotels fault but something to consider if you are a light sleeper.

Housekeeping – There was a reddish brown fresh stain on my pillow upon check in. So I guess my sheets wheren't changed. Also there was a comment card left in the room from February and we stayed here in April. It a shame the comment card was not read by management for they were also complaining about the mildew like smell in this room.

Pool Bar – Saturday the bartender didn’t know how to make the drinks on their drink menu. Also, I asked for a Pina Colada or a Daquiri and was told they didn’t have the stuff to make them. We ordered a Mai Tai and a Vodka Cocktail from their menu instead. However, the drinks were undrinkable! The next day my friend ordered from the same bar and was able to get two delicious Pina Coladas. When she told them about our experience from the day before the bar-tender just said “yeah that guy shouldn’t be behind the bar.” Really?

Pool –Great layout, nice environment but beware this is not a quiet relaxing resort style pool. The hotel sells passes to locals and runs children’s day camps which kind of takes away from the resort experience. Might be better on the week days.

Breakfast Service – The food was good. The Potato Croquets are out of this world! My friend loved her Banana’s foster pancakes. However, the service left much to be desired. We had to flag down someone every time we needed water refilled and for the check. The toast I ordered with my breakfast was delivered after I had finished the rest of my meal. Since now one came by to check on us after dropping our food, this was completely overlooked. When we did flag down out server, he always acted annoyed but he seemed to be extremely welcoming and attentive to tables with older guests. I know I may be young, but I’m well-traveled and have worked for years in the hotel industry and tip very well if the service is good. Blatantly ignoring tables with younger is just awful service.

I was not impressed at all. My friend and I who stayed here both used to be in the hospitaliy industry and I can honesty say that this type of service and lack of care for the rooms wouldn't be tolerated at a 3 star hotel, yet this hotel is supposedly 4 Diamond. Really disapointing.

Room Tip: Don't book a Garden View Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We couldn't be more disappointed by your comments. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the issues you experienced during your recent visit to our hotel. What you described does not reflect our high standard of service and we appreciate that you have brought this to our attention. Providing excellent care for all of our guests is of utmost importance to us. We apologize if your experience was anything less and will be sure to share your comments with our associates. It is our hope that we can have another opportunity to welcome you back for another visit. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    226
    125
    91
    75
See reviews for
190
269
57
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
beverly hills
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I travel frequently and I know the value of good water pressure in a shower. Nothing worse than washing your hair with a shower that just tinkles on you. At the Claremont, it's like a fire hose. In fact I spent most of my time in the shower so I cannot comment on the rest of the hotel, but the shower is definitely awesome!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your impressions of The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa! It is great to hear from a frequent traveler such as yourself. We sincerely appreciate your compliments for our guestroom amenities and would love to welcome you back to enjoy even more that we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

As an alum of U.C. Berkeley, I've always wanted to stay at the "white castle" on the hill. It certainly wasn't an option as a student, and their rack rates of over $200 per night still don't make it an option for many of us regular working stiffs. However, when we saw a Living Social deal for under $200 for a Spa Elite room, including the $28 overnight parking, $26 facility fee, $50 food and beverage credit and free pre-spa ritual at the renowned spa, we jumped at the springtime deal.

Back in 1916, this grand dame of a hotel with the beautiful San Francisco Bay views had more of a tudor look and style about it. Over the years, she has aged gracefully, and closely resembles the Hotel del Coronado in the San Diego area, with its all-white turrets and towers.

By far, we enjoyed the room the most. It was spacious, quite, well-appointed, and had a lovely sitting area, with three windows and a view of the tennis courts, hotel and bay. The drawbacks were the very spotty wifi, and a cooling system that did not seem to go lower than 68.

By contrast, the exercise facility with its three pools, workout rooms and whirlpool/steam/spa area felt more like a fancy California Fitness, than a urban oasis of a retreat. The area was packed with families and children, a product of the "Claremont Club," which caters to local families in the area. While we applaud that community connection, it does NOT make for a tranquil poolside experience. It also makes it a challenge for a hotel guest even to find a chaise in the sun. Our facility fee was included, but if you've paid $26, I think you really need to have better pool and amenity access. The pool are bar offers $7-8 beers and $10-11 well drinks, and the Bayside Cafe offers cheaper sodas and a few dining options. Too bad, we didn't notice the fourth pool at the lower tennis court area until we were leaving.

We dined at both the Paragon and Meritage restaurants ( see my separate reviews), and did experience the "pre-spa ritual," which is really just a self-governed steam room, shower and whirlpool dip area. The deluge shower is fun, though, and the cucumber ice water and other spa amenities are pleasant. Not worth paying for separate though, we think, especially if you've already paid your $26 facility fee.

Overall, the service everywhere was pleasant and helpful, though the bell people were overwhelmed around check-out time. If you'd like a smaller, lower-key, but still classy, historic setting in the area, you might want to opt for the Julia-Morgan-designed Berkeley Club. If facilities and a retreat-type atmosphere are not that important to you, and you want access to some great food and rooms, style and history, then you'll enjoy the Claremont.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa is filled with rich history and all of the charm of years gone by. Thank you for sharing your impression of our hotel. While we are truly delighted to know you enjoyed your comfortable, spacious and well appointed accommodations, it is disappointing that your entire stay was not all that you had hoped it would be. A sunny day at The Claremont certainly is appealing and while our aquatic center and Club are open for membership to local area residents, we apologize if you found anything lacking. Please know that one of our associates is always available to help in providing anything you may need to make your stay more comfortable. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and provide you with the type of experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed at the Claremont recently for a conference. I had an excellent stay at the hotel and would highly recommend it. It is a beautiful old building but it is kept up well. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room I stayed in was small but very comfortable and clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you're staying in the Berkeley area.

Room Tip: I faced the back of the hotel but it was still sunny and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
It always delights us to hear about a guest's positive experience while staying at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa! Conference events here are truly an occasion where business meets pleasure and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with comfortable accommodations. Next time, be sure to treat yourself to a relaxing spa treatment, as you certainly won’t be disappointed. Thank you for your feedback and recommendations, we look forward to your next visit and hope it’s soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Claremont in December and even though the hotel is beautiful the service is terrible. All the way from the check in to the bartender to the waiters they all lack customer service skills. We gave the hotel another chance in march as we thought that just maybe it was an off day for everyone. Not such luck. It was still bad. For such a classy hotel, the service truly doesn't match the premises. Very disappointed. Will stick to the Fairmont or Mark Hopkins. Their service is outstanding.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your candid feedback. We must offer our most sincere apology if you were in any way disappointed by experience as what you have described is not what we would expect for any of our valued guests. Please know that someone is always available to speak to in the event that you are having any issues as providing the very best in service is of utmost importance to us. We hope to welcome you back again so that we can impress you with all that we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We wanted a last minute get away and booked a room at the Claremont. We had stayed before and loved it! This time we were very disappointed. Our room had a view of the garbage bins and we had to listen to garbage being rolled to the dumpsters the entire night. (Photo will be attached). We called to the front desk and they told us, "we are sold out, there is nothing we can do". They made it clear that since we had booked it online on a travel site, this was why we were receiving a subpar experience. This felt like a motel 6, not a luxury hotel & spa worth the $350.00 dollar rate. Even the clock radio was out of the 70s. The room was large but the furniture was old and dated. It was not dated in a classic way, but more a thrift store way.

The bed had stiff sheets and the comforter was so old and thin there were no feathers left in it.

I would not recommend this hotel to online shoppers especially since clearly the hotel gives the subpar garbage bin view rooms to online travel site booking guests.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

What a treat to stay at the Claremont! A big, beautiful room with a view of SF, delicious food from the Paragon, the spa hot tub & showers & poolside service! Couldn't ask for a better weekend! Sandie, the concierge, made great dinner reservations for us and went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. What attention to detail! Can't wait to plan our next girls trip there!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We couldn’t ask for a better review! A girls’ getaway trip can be such an exciting time and we are thrilled that you chose The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa for your getaway. We love to go, as you put it, above and beyond for our guests to ensure a great stay is had by all. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again for your next visit, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Claremont Hotel Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Hotel Club & Spa

Address: 41 Tunnel Road, Berkeley, CA 94705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Claremont Hotel Club & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1915, the Claremont has pampered guests at the level expected of a AAA Four-Diamond award winning hotel. With stress melting spa treatments, a wide range of fitness options, special events, live music, and endless culinary delights, you’ll find the Claremont engaging - even if you choose to simply engage in quality time alone. We deliver attentive service with a gracious hospitality casual enough to make you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Claremont Hotel Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Club And Spa
Claremont Hotel Club Berkeley
Claremont Resort Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.