We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Old School Hotel in the Hills of Claremont & Berkeley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Claremont Hotel Club & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Claremont Hotel Club & Spa to your Saves list
Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Tunnel Road, Berkeley, CA 94705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Fling Room Package
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Old School Hotel in the Hills of Claremont & Berkeley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Claremont reminds me of an old school hotel - the grand hotels of the past, because it is one of them. It is also an expensive private club that caters to the well-off in the area. I thought of the hotel in the movie The Shining when I first saw it, though without the scary bits.

Check in was fast and easy and handled by a friendly clerk. Off to the room in one of 3 tiny elevators and I was walking down a long hallway to my room. The decor is fancy, somewhat Fairmont Hotel in San Francisco style, and you can tell that the hotel's bones are old given the plaster walls and inherent issues with an old building. However, all seemed to be in great repair.

My room had no view, except of the HVAC exchanges and the hills, but I wasn't spending my time there for the view. The room was average in size, plaster walls with a few scuffs here and there but nothing to indicate poor upkeep or maintenance. A king size bed was centered in the room. A small alcove had a chair, tiny table, and a desk upon which the basket honor bar rested. A large flat screen TV sat atop a dresser to the side. My package included parking (the lots to the hotel are gated), internet (I think, can't recall for sure), and the recreation fee that would otherwise add another $25 to the daily room rate for access to the gym, pools, etc.

The bathroom had no windows but plenty of light streamed in via an opaque skylight. That was a nice touch. The shower stall was an enclosed one, and poor ventilation was apparent for there were mildew stains in the grout on the shower ceiling and in other parts of the stall, including black mildew at the door latch. The rest of the bathroom was nice with the exception of a commercial-looking toilet that was adjacent to the door (vs. being placed back away from the door). The toilet placement = easy noise intrusion into the bedroom when being used = awkward!

The hotel hosts many private events and no wonder, the feel and look of the place gives off an aura of a time past, which is not easily achieved unless you have the structure to go with it. The views from the balconies are beautiful and the resident restaurant serves modern California cuisine.

Overall the Claremont is wonderful property. Head over there to be pampered!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and found our property to be so grand. Our hotel certainly has a rich history with furnishings and architecture that pay tribute to an earlier time. We are elated that your recent stay reflects the type of experience we hope everyone will have with us but we must apologize if you encountered any issues with the bathroom in your guest accommodations. Your comments will be shared with our housekeeping associates to ensure that everything is at its best for future stays. We would be happy to welcome you back again for another pampering visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    245
    132
    93
    77
See reviews for
198
280
59
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Grandiose old hotel with tons of charm. The rooms are a bit old but definitely nice enough. It has a great view with a large patio. My room was near the elevator and quite loud. There is a great gym with included workout classes. The staff is extremely friendly and very helpful. The "extras" are expensive ( parking, spa, gym) but overall it is a wonderful hotel and was an extremely pleasant stay. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, General Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa dates back to the early days of the Gold Rush and spans nearly 100 years of service. It always such a pleasure when a guest share their appreciation for our historic property. No two rooms are exactly alike, with something for every taste and preference, however we must apologize if sounds from outside your guestroom were of any disruption. Our resort fee includes some fantastic amenities like complimentary Internet, access to our pools, tennis courts as well as numerous health club and spa choices and more. Thank you so much for letting us know about your experience, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a FANTASTIC step back in time - this hotel was built in the early 1900's - and still retains its status and charm - - yet updated with all the comforts that modern travelers expect - and then some (like allergen free rooms).

The property sits in the hills of Berkeley and is surrounded by muti-million dollar homes -

It has a Spa, several pools, tennis courts, but most important - relaxation.

Our room was top notch - we had a Bay View Room - which was quiet, large, and a view to die for... we turned off our room lights and sat (in overstuffed leather chairs) staring at the Bay Bridge and city skyline. During the day our view included Alcatraz and the Golden Gate Bridge.

Service was Excellent (although bar staff were a bit slow) - we were there on a Sunday night so the Meritage Restaurant was closed - but we ate breakfast there and it exceeded our expectations (I had the Red Flannel Hash - delicious - Poach Egg over Hash with Onions & Beets)

Even if you are a local - come spend some time here for the peace, quiet, history, and luxury.

Steve

Room Tip: Spend the extra for a Bay View Room - view is priceless
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, General Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We couldn’t ask for a better review, thank you! Everyone here at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa strives to create just the type of experience you have shared here and we are all so glad to have exceeded your expectations. With historic charm and modern conveniences, our hotel offers the ideal Berkeley accommodations and your breakfast dining experience at Meritage sounds delicious! We would love to see you again for another fantastic stay and we hope it’s soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A grand old hotel with beautiful common rooms, nicely appointed guest rooms, wonderful service.
High on a hill overlooking Berkeley and the Bay, the location is a short walk to the University and the shops and restaurants on University Ave. The fitness facility is a long walk from the main hotel but comprehensive, great tennis courts. Food in the main restaurant was good but very expensive. Better to walk down the hill a block to one of the local places. Be aware there is a daily facilities fee added to your bill at check out and overnight parking is expensive.

Room Tip: Bay view rooms are worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, General Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your appreciation for The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa! It brings us great joy to know you enjoyed your time here from your guestroom all the way to your dining experience. The very best of Berkeley is just minutes away and strolling through town is definitely one of the best ways to enjoy it all. Our resort facilities fee allows guests to enjoy a wide range of incredible amenities and activities such as complimentary Internet, 3-hours of childcare, access to our pools, tennis courts and countless health club and spa choices. Our parking fee enables our guests to enjoy the piece of mind that comes with safety and security. It is our hope to welcome you back again to enjoy all that we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marni
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

To begin with, my weekend stay at the Claremont was quite delightful. Rooms are excellent and service is outstanding. The hotel aside is 4 to 5 star quality. However, the club and the spa are miles apart (metaphorically) and what the club has, the spa doesn't. If it wasn't for the young male attendant Justin on the spa's men's side I would have left the spa in disarray. It lacks fresh air and reeks of chlorine. Something needs to be done about this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your impressions of The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We love to know that you found your stay to be, as you put it, delightful! Our associates truly believe in providing the very best to our valued guests and we will be sure to share your kind word with everyone here, particularly those you mentioned by name. It is disappointing, however, if your experience at the club was not the same but grateful that it did not impact your overall experience too greatly. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The room quality was variable, but the service was consistently excellent throughout the hotel - concierge, spa, front desk, valet, room service, and dining. The food was excellent at the main restaurant (didn't try the others). Tennis and fitness facilities looked top notch. Nice location with restaurants, shops, etc. in walking distance and nice views of the bay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your gracious feedback of The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. All of our associates believe that every guest is of utmost importance and your gracious comments will be shared with everyone here. Our location is perfect for taking in in so much that Berkeley has to offer and it is great to know you enjoyed that convenience. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Beautiful view with grand common areas...BUT make sure they don't give you a room in the rear facing the employee's parking lot. Our room was dark and outdated! The worse was the bathroom. I found bugs in the shower and tiles were cracked. We switched room but it was more the same.
We also didn't find the services to be great throughout our stay. Will not return, especially when there are many hotels in SF.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
While we are grateful for your kind compliments of the public areas of our hotel and views, it is truly disappointing to learn that a guest has left feeling dissatisfied with their stay in anyway. All guest accommodations in our hotel are completely unique and we sincerely apologize if you were dissatisfied with your room or if you found anything amiss. We will be certain to share you feedback with everyone here to ensure that all is at its best for future stays. If there was anything we could have done differently, we would love to know. Thank you for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Claremont Hotel Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Hotel Club & Spa

Address: 41 Tunnel Road, Berkeley, CA 94705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Claremont Hotel Club & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1915, the Claremont has pampered guests at the level expected of a AAA Four-Diamond award winning hotel. With stress melting spa treatments, a wide range of fitness options, special events, live music, and endless culinary delights, you’ll find the Claremont engaging - even if you choose to simply engage in quality time alone. We deliver attentive service with a gracious hospitality casual enough to make you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Claremont Hotel Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Club And Spa
Claremont Hotel Club Berkeley
Claremont Resort Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.