We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand experience at a grand old hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel to your Saves list
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Tunnel Road, Berkeley, CA 94705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
CT
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Grand experience at a grand old hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A grand old hotel with beautiful common rooms, nicely appointed guest rooms, wonderful service.
High on a hill overlooking Berkeley and the Bay, the location is a short walk to the University and the shops and restaurants on University Ave. The fitness facility is a long walk from the main hotel but comprehensive, great tennis courts. Food in the main restaurant was good but very expensive. Better to walk down the hill a block to one of the local places. Be aware there is a daily facilities fee added to your bill at check out and overnight parking is expensive.

Room Tip: Bay view rooms are worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bamcraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, General Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your appreciation for The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa! It brings us great joy to know you enjoyed your time here from your guestroom all the way to your dining experience. The very best of Berkeley is just minutes away and strolling through town is definitely one of the best ways to enjoy it all. Our resort facilities fee allows guests to enjoy a wide range of incredible amenities and activities such as complimentary Internet, 3-hours of childcare, access to our pools, tennis courts and countless health club and spa choices. Our parking fee enables our guests to enjoy the piece of mind that comes with safety and security. It is our hope to welcome you back again to enjoy all that we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Marni
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

To begin with, my weekend stay at the Claremont was quite delightful. Rooms are excellent and service is outstanding. The hotel aside is 4 to 5 star quality. However, the club and the spa are miles apart (metaphorically) and what the club has, the spa doesn't. If it wasn't for the young male attendant Justin on the spa's men's side I would have left the spa in disarray. It lacks fresh air and reeks of chlorine. Something needs to be done about this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your impressions of The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We love to know that you found your stay to be, as you put it, delightful! Our associates truly believe in providing the very best to our valued guests and we will be sure to share your kind word with everyone here, particularly those you mentioned by name. It is disappointing, however, if your experience at the club was not the same but grateful that it did not impact your overall experience too greatly. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The room quality was variable, but the service was consistently excellent throughout the hotel - concierge, spa, front desk, valet, room service, and dining. The food was excellent at the main restaurant (didn't try the others). Tennis and fitness facilities looked top notch. Nice location with restaurants, shops, etc. in walking distance and nice views of the bay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ti22ti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your gracious feedback of The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. All of our associates believe that every guest is of utmost importance and your gracious comments will be shared with everyone here. Our location is perfect for taking in in so much that Berkeley has to offer and it is great to know you enjoyed that convenience. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Beautiful view with grand common areas...BUT make sure they don't give you a room in the rear facing the employee's parking lot. Our room was dark and outdated! The worse was the bathroom. I found bugs in the shower and tiles were cracked. We switched room but it was more the same.
We also didn't find the services to be great throughout our stay. Will not return, especially when there are many hotels in SF.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
While we are grateful for your kind compliments of the public areas of our hotel and views, it is truly disappointing to learn that a guest has left feeling dissatisfied with their stay in anyway. All guest accommodations in our hotel are completely unique and we sincerely apologize if you were dissatisfied with your room or if you found anything amiss. We will be certain to share you feedback with everyone here to ensure that all is at its best for future stays. If there was anything we could have done differently, we would love to know. Thank you for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomita, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have had the wonderful opportunity to stay at this classic hotel a number of times. It contains all the elegance of the 20th century with the amenities of the 21st century. The staff works to make you comfortable and the spa if first class.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 220LauraL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We couldn’t ask for a lovelier review, thank you! We truly appreciate hearing from our guests and learning what they enjoy about The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa and it is a thrill to know you have stayed with us so often. We look forward to your next visit as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Arrived at the Claremont, checked in with Living Social Voucher that included a $50 dinner credit. They gave me an additional $50 credit for my birthday! Upgraded for $30 to a suite with a full view of the bay.
Spent an hour on the deck enjoying wine and oysters, watching the “city across the bay.” A fogless view.
Spent time at the spa, hot tub, and then back to dinner at 6:30 pm with 360 degree view.
Surrounded by servers and sommeliers, wine pairings and filet with sauces. Chocolate Soufflé dessert baked and volcanic, dripping with chocolate.
Missed a chance at a massage (one hour just for your foot!) and will have to return later for this.
Service exceeded our expectations. The suite was laid out perfect with the king size bed facing the fabulous view. The only thing that I would have liked in the tub were grab bars to extract myself out of the great big spa tub with wonderful jets. It was so deep, it was a challenge to get out.

Room Tip: Only $30 to upgrade to a suite with a full view of the Bay. Take it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy Jordan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Happy Birthday! What a fantastic way to celebrate your special day and what a lovely picture you have painted with your description of your visit. From your guestroom with scenic views to your dining experience, it seems you enjoyed so much of your stay. We hope you do have the chance to come back again soon and try more of what we have to offer as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again to The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I returned to the Claremont after 42 years for a 3 day stay. The hotel is inits 100 year
anniversary. The public areas and rooms have all been refurbished. The results are stunning. The grand lobby is just that, grand! We had an Expedia rate of $167.00. We requested a handicapped bay view room which we got with no increase in the rate. The room was enormous.
The bath,likewise. We got to the Garden Room restaurant around 6PM with no reservations and were initially turned away by the greeter. As we were leaving the Ma'tre D asked if he could help.
Although the room was almost devoid of diners,he explained that all tables were reserved but he will find us space,which he did. From then on he "adopted" as spent much time with us suggesting small plates. Everything we ordered was marvelous.

Room Tip: rooms with a bay view are wonderful. Some rooms can be a long walk from the lobby but worth the effo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dong3125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
What a lovely review, thank you! It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed coming back to The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa after 42 years. Our hotel is almost a century old with all of the historic charm guests can expect while visiting. Thank you for sharing your appreciation for your spacious guestroom as well as your dining experience. It is always our hope that all of our guests enjoy the best possible experience and your feedback ensures that we are meeting that goal. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
1.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 874 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.0 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#2 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#7 of 21 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
2.4 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#8 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel

Address: 41 Tunnel Road, Berkeley, CA 94705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening its doors in 1915, Claremont Club & Spa has been revered as one of America's iconic luxury hotels. As it celebrates its 100th anniversary, Fairmont Hotels and Resorts is proud to unveil our newest member of the Fairmont collection, ushering in a new era of luxury for the next 100 years! Overlooking the San Francisco Bay, Claremont Club & Spa in Berkeley sets new heights in service, amenities, and accommodations. For the past 100 years, Claremont has been recognized as an icon in the Bay Area. Conveniently located in the heart of Berkeley, the hotel is only a 20-minute drive from downtown San Francisco. Private parking is available. Its 276 beautifully appointed rooms offer a mix of old world charm and California comfort, many boasting breathtaking views of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Club Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Club And Spa
Claremont Resort Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing