We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed So Far” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Claremont Hotel Club & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Claremont Hotel Club & Spa to your Saves list
Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Tunnel Road, Berkeley, CA 94705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Home for the Holidays!
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Huntington, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not Impressed So Far”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Checked in late last night. Was disappointed by the extremely limited late night menu as I had been traveling most of the day.

Place definitely needs updating-it just has a very dated feel. The air system is very noisy. Rooms definitely need to be soundproofed better. I was awoken at 4 AM by the people in the adjoining room next door. I could hear their entire conversation, bathroom activities, even them opening up a can of soda.

From the limited view that I could see when arriving late and in the dark-this first floor room has a lovely view of.....a roof. Not impressive at all and definitely so far not an establishment I would return to voluntarily.

The only positive thing I can say so far, is that the front desk check-in went smoothly despite the late hour and they were very polite. Also, room service was fairly quick-although as mentioned, the choices were limited to two items.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
It is always our desire for guests to leave our hotel impressed at every turn as we strive to maintain the highest level of service, hospitality and comfort for our guests. While it is great to know you found our associates to be so polite, we were quite disappointed to read that your stay did not exceed your expectations and if any sound from outside your guestroom was of disturbance. We encourage everyone who stays with us to share how we can make each visit the best it possibly can be and we will be certain to share your comments with everyone here. Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    227
    125
    91
    75
See reviews for
190
271
57
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Claremont Saturday night and upon first arrival we were excited by the beautiful location and building which is really something to see. The castle like resort nestled in the hills is a throw back to days past and unfortunately so are some of the services. We received a spa room which meant we were directly under the busy restaurant. From sun down to sun rise we heard loud banging from above. It was like tables were being dropped on the floor above, this went on until at least midnight and started again around 7am. We also called for robes and were told they would be delivered but never showed. We had to call twice to get them to arrive. On Sunday morning we called for room service and were told it would be 1.5 to 2 hours for delivery blaming the brunch or full capacity of the hotel. I can understand being understaffed on a Tuesday but on valentines day weekend???? Made no sense. And finally aside from seeing a fight almost breakout near the kiddy pool between two grown men (which is not the hotels fault) but did take a very long time for there to be any staff around to mediate the situation I also tried to call several areas of the hotel Sunday morning - the spa store, meritage, paragon and the front desk. I could not get one person to answer the phone. It was really frustrating.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Please allow us to convey our sincerest apologies that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. While we're happy to learn that you were able to indulge in our beautiful location and historic property, we wish we had the opportunity to address your concerns while you were here and regret that you departed from our hotel with disappointment. While a holiday weekend can often be quite busy, we regret that your needs were not met in a timely fashion or if any sounds outside your guestroom were of disruption. Your feedback will be shared with our management team as we consistently strive to improve upon what we offer to our guests. We hope to have the chance in the future to refresh your view of our hotel, thank you for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Yes, the grounds and buildings are indeed grand; the sports and fitness centers are top notch. Our (final) bay-view room was spacious, comfortable, and with a discount, very reasonably priced. Nearby within walking distance on College Ave are shops, restaurants, small businesses with a European sense of neighborhood. So what to complain about? When we checked into our first room, the temperaturoff was 86 and there was no safe. Reception at first told us that all of the rooms had safes, and then a second one told us a new one would be delivered. We lowered the thermostat and went for a walk in the neighborhood. We came back and it was still hot in the room and there was no safe. Reception offered an upgrade. We were grateful but late for a dinner reservation. Could we move when we returned? Sure, we'll hold the room. Upon return, we were told by a new person at the registration desk, "Sir, we can't hold two rooms for one person...the upgrade is gone and there are no more rooms like that one". We were offered another but the new room was not the same level quality level as the one we reserved, and a call to the registration desk confirmed this. "Yes, we'll reduce the bill". In the morning a frank discussion with management resulted in a room - our third - that even had a functioning thermostat and a safe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed and honest review of The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. While we are exceedingly happy to learn that our beautiful historic Hotel and Club facilities provided you with an enjoyable stay, please accept our most sincere apologies for the first impression you received or for any confusion about the room change and upgrade. Thank you for allowing our management team resolve the matter for you and provide you with the guestroom that better met your needs. We do hope that you would let us know if there is anything we could do to make your next stay with us more enjoyable as we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our stay at the Claremont was lovely! It is a beautiful hotel with superb customer service! We enjoyed a great meal at their restaurant, The Paragon. The food was very good and the view from the balcony was breathtaking. The weather during our stay couldn't have been better. Enjoyed every minute of our stay.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view...looking out over the San Francisco Bay at night was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
From the moment you arrive at The Claremont Hotel, Club & Spa until the time you leave, we want everyone to be relaxed, comfortable and well taken care of. We are so glad that you enjoyed the amazing views as well as your dining experience at Paragon. With perfect weather and the best of accommodations, what more could you ask for a getaway? Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have visited the Hotel many times in the past and have always had fond recollections of my time there, particularly at the Spa. This time when visiting, I was particularly disappointed though. In addition to the "public gym" feel of the Spa- too many people, too few services representatives, an ambiance of agitation, the obvious lack of amenities (the majority of showers were out of service) was very unsatisfying. The peeling paint and chipping grout just added to the displeasing feel of a once upon a time wonderful spa. The hot tub now surrounded by multiple metal rails has an aged physical rehabilitation feel rather than a relaxing, fun, girl's getaway feel. The Spa treatments were uninspiring, lacking the professional care and attention of prior times. Overall, I am sad to see a once rejuvenating Spa destination transform into a dismal and disappointing experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
While we are certainly glad you enjoyed parts your stay, it is disappointing to learn that we did not impress you at every turn. We will take this an opportunity to share your comments with our maintenance and spa associates as well as our management team to ensure that the room is in its best condition. It is disheartening to know that you did not have better experience while you were here and while we never like to read that one of our guests was not fully satisfied, we are always grateful for the feedback. Thank you for sharing your opinions and thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have stayed at the Claremont a couple of times while visiting family in Berkeley. What an amazing property! The rooms are not your typical cookie cutter big chain boxes. Each room is a unique and lovingly updated gem. The staff are attentive, professional and friendly. We feel like we have stepped back in time when we visit to a genteel era when customer service was valued. We love the Claremont and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Upper floors give you a magnificent bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
The Claremont Hotel Cub & Spa truly is unique, thank you for sharing your review of the time you spent with us! Built in the early days of the Gold Rush as a private home, every guestroom in our grand, historic hotel is completely different from the next. We couldn’t be happier that you and your family enjoyed your stay so much and we all look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

My son and I came to Berkeley to tour the University, so we only stayed one night. We arrived very tired and were immediately impressed by the front lobby. It is incredibly clean and gracious, not to mention HUGE. The check-in staff were very helpful and friendly. Since it looked so nice, and we were so tired, we decided to stay in for dinner. The man who checked us in recommended the Paragon and said we would not need a reservation. When we got downstairs at 6:00 pm, it was already crowded and I assumed we would have trouble getting seated. When they found out we didn't have reservations, they STILL offered us three different seating options and couldn't have been nicer about it. The food was absolutely delicious and, though we had been told by friends that we MUST go into town for dinner, we felt we couldn't have done any better than what we ate at the Paragon. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was quite large, if old fashioned. My only complaint was a slight mold smell that I think was coming from the air conditioning unit. We also ordered room service for breakfast, which was excellent. All in all, a wonderful (if short) stay. Be warned, however, it is not cheap. If you are looking for budget accommodation, this is not the place.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
An unexpected surprise certainly can be the best kind! Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and appreciation of The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa! Knowing you found your guestroom accommodations to be so spacious and comfortable is wonderful to read. Paragon offers some of the best in casual dining in the Bay Area and it is always our desire to provide the very best in service to all of our guests who dine with us. We will be sure to share your comments with our maintenance team to ensure that all areas are at their best. Best wishes to you and your son in your college search, we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Claremont Hotel Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Hotel Club & Spa

Address: 41 Tunnel Road, Berkeley, CA 94705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Claremont Hotel Club & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1915, the Claremont has pampered guests at the level expected of a AAA Four-Diamond award winning hotel. With stress melting spa treatments, a wide range of fitness options, special events, live music, and endless culinary delights, you’ll find the Claremont engaging - even if you choose to simply engage in quality time alone. We deliver attentive service with a gracious hospitality casual enough to make you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Claremont Hotel Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Club And Spa
Claremont Hotel Club Berkeley
Claremont Resort Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.