We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great family experience for New Years Eve With Your Family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claremont Hotel Club & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Claremont Hotel Club & Spa to your Saves list
Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Tunnel Road, Berkeley, CA 94705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Fling Room Package
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great family experience for New Years Eve With Your Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our Suite and our connecting room for our daughters and the View and the amenities was unbelievable. So many things for the children to do and adults alike. The Parties were incredible! And the most important thing of our stay is that it did not break the Bank!! Service and Staff were incredible - It was like staying at a 6 Star Hotel.....

Fred N.

Room Tip: Room 410 has a great view of the Bay and a Dinning Room table that sits 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We are thrilled to have been a part of your family’s holiday experience, thank you for sharing your glowing review! As you mentioned, The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa has so many incredible activities and things to for everyone in the family and it’s great to know you all enjoyed it so much. Our associates will love to know you found them to be, as you put it, incredible and we will be sure to share your comments with everyone here. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    248
    136
    96
    77
See reviews for
201
284
59
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Concord
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had the greatest experience this NYE at the Claremont would do it again every year. Great room, great music and great food. All put together and executed by the best concierge Sandy. She was amazing, attentive, and completely awesome. She went out of her way to make us smile, laugh and enjoy our stay. Will defianatly return and will request to have Sandy, our stay would never be the same without her. Thank you, thank you, thank you and Happy 2013!

Room Tip: Bay view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Happy New Year! We couldn’t be happier with your review and are all so thrilled to know you enjoyed your New Year’s Eve holiday experience at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Your gracious comments will be shared with everyone here and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I wrote this letter to JPrimm on Decemeber 26th and still have not received a response. Very sad, I always thought this was an upstanding property but to treat a new guest with such disregard is absurd :(

Hello my name is Angela Askey and my family and I stayed at the Claremont on December 21st for one night. We did valet our car upon arrival and when we left the next day on our way home we noticed that the change was missing out of the vehicle! I know this may seem silly to complain about but it is very serious to us as we had some very sentimental coins and also some old rare coins in there that are now missing. I am 100% sure it was Claremont valet staff that took this money as we have the tray lodged closed so it does not make noise. When we got into the truck the next day we noticed that piece was laying on the floor and once we inspected it we realized that these special pieces were missing. I am in shock that staff at a resort such as yours would be stealing from its customers and am very disappointed!

Thank you for your attention to this matter and I look forward to hearing from you.

Room Tip: Uncomfortable beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We can understand how devastating it can be to lose personal items while traveling. Our guest’s safety, security and satisfaction is of extreme importance to all of us. Thank you for bringing this point to our attention. We are currently having our Director of Loss Prevention investigating this further and appreciate your patience during this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I love the Claremont. I go every year at Christmas time, with my better half, for an office party. We usually stay 2 or 3 nights and enjoy it very much. That said, the service can be a little spotty and seemingly dishonest if you are on the phone with room service, for example. We used the room service breakfast menu which we were informed by the kitchen staff was obsolete. We were told they never had one item that we had eaten on the last trip. We were told they didn't make the item any more. Then they told us they were out of the item....pancakes. Needless to say we ordered something else. They then delivered to the room the wrong order and complained that the automatic 22% gratuity wasn't given to them and they wanted a cash tip. They claimed union problems. When your two entree breakfast with 2 glasses of orange juice and half a pot of coffee total over 75 dollars it can be a little annoying. We later went to the Bay Cafe, on site, and ordered a cheeseburger and something else. It was dark, cold, and totally uninviting. We had to order to go as they were closing in an hour and as stated it was cold and not very clean. The clerk was wearing a hat, a down parka with a woolen scarf around her face. We got back to our room with the food and the stuff wasn't cooked. That was another 40 bucks. No two people you talk to give you the same information so it can be a little confusing. Our second day we called to order room service and we were told the kitchen was closed. We called the front desk who stated the kitchen was open. We had to call the kitchen again and were then told it was a 90 minute wait. There was a bright spot. A woman comes in the morning with muffins and juice. You can go down to the bar and get it and it doesn't cost you an arm and leg and there is no automatic 22% gratuity. The room was okay but had only one robe and towel in a room for two. I still love the place. It is huge and rambling and must be one heck of a logistics nightmare. Last note. If you are taking a cab from Oakland Airport the fare should only be about 44 dollars. Our driver tried to charge us 70. He took us all the way up to the Caldecott tunnel entrance, well off the beaten track but to where the meter switches to meter and a half. Talk about a rip, all the way around, but travelling a lot in the states I have to say I'm used to it. Still, I love the Claremont!

Room Tip: Get a bay view room on the highest floor you can get. Keep in mind that the layout is confusing. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We love to know that staying with us is one of your annual holiday traditions and while we are certainly pleased to know you enjoyed some aspects of your recent stay, we couldn't be more disappointed that your entire experience was not as positive. Please accept our most sincere apologies for any issues you experienced with regard to room service, as what you described does not reflect our high standard of service and we appreciate that you have brought this to our attention Your comments will be shared with all of our associates. It is our hope that we can have another opportunity to fully impress you with all we have to offer. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

If you are staying in Berkeley to visit family or friends, or looking for an alternative to insane prices for high-end accommodations in San Francisco, this may just be the place for you. I visited the Claremont during Christmas week, 2012, and could not have been happier with how comfortable and lovely this property was. Be aware that the published AAA rate may look cheaper than the "friends and family" rate, but for the published rates, resort fees and parking add $50 per day to your tab. I feel that I was somewhat led astray by the reservations clerk who helped me, as I was told that the AAA rate was lower. That might have been technically true, but the clerk did not tell me that the friends and family rate was "inclusive." Having said that, I thought that the hotel was lovely and will most definitely return, possibly in the summer. The hotel is convenient to BART, so you can be in the heart of San Francisco in a short time and not have to deal with parking/driving. The hotel is spotlessly clean, and there is a nice restaurant/bar that has music at night. There is a great breakfast place across the street (Rick & Ann's). All in all, a great place to call "home base" while in the Bay Area.

Room Tip: I stayed in an allergy-free room and had a great night's sleep, but if you want a tub, be sure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
It is such a pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with us at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Built in the early days of the Gold Rush, our hotel truly does offer a timeless elegance and we are so glad to know you enjoyed your stay and, as you put it, home base accommodations! Each of our guestrooms is unique with different décor and amenities for our guests’ comfort. We must apologize, however, if you were in anyway confused by any of our fees, as it is never our intent for our guests to feel mislead. Our resort fee enables guests to enjoy a wide range of incredible amenities and activities such as complimentary Internet, 3-hours of childcare, access to our pools, tennis courts and countless health club and spa choices and more. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, it is our hope to welcome you back again and fully impress you with all we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We live in Pacifica, yet rarely travel to the East Bay. However, it is well worth it for the chance to stay at this lovely hotel with an interesting and rich history that is so close to us. Yet, staying there puts you into an entirely other world of luxury. Agnes Ruggerio and her thoughtful staff were especially attentive to our needs... From the well furbished rooms we had lovely views on the bay. Arriving at the moment of sunset, we marveled as the sky was transformed to hues of pink and gold, outlining the San Francisco skyline and the twinkling lights of the city scintillating in the distance. The food was excellent at the Meritage and their offering of both small and large plates for dinner allows the diner flexibility in choosing among excellent ingredients tastefully presented. The sumptuous Sunday brunch featured an array of foods from delectable dim sum to succulent salads to decadent desserts. The pools and the spa were wonderful, providing a respite of relaxation.
We intend to make this holiday weekend outing a family tradition!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Building new family holiday traditions that include a stay with us is one of the best compliments we could receive! Thank you for sharing your appreciation for our historic hotel in Berkeley. It can be such a treat to experience a fantastic getaway close to home and we are honored you consider The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa to be, as you put it, a treasure. You have painted such a lovely picture of the sunset views as well as your spectacular dining experiences for both dinner and brunch. We look forward to seeing you and your family again, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have stayed more than once at this hotel and I enjoy my stay every time. Our stay is made memorable by the quality of service the staff provides. We've been fortunate enough to have been checked in by Agnes at the front desk who is a friendly and professional. She is class A staff at this hotel. I can't stress enough the impact that first impressions have when you are greeted by the valet and/or the front desk. It starts your trip on the right path. I have to give Ryan (valet) some recognition since he was very courteous and attentive with us. As for the quality of the rooms, they are nice and quaint and clean. We truly enjoyed our stay. It was perfect coming back into Berkeley from San Francisco on long days.

The only negative I have is their room service and hopefully that gets resolved. Nonetheless, I really like this hotel for its location, amenities, and most importantly its service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We are thrilled to read your comments and truly grateful that you took the time to let us know about your recent experience at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. First impressions certainly are important! Our associates strive to ensure that each and every one of our guests enjoys a memorable stay and learning that you appreciate that dedication lets us know that we have succeeded in our efforts. While it isn’t clear from your review as to any issues you experienced with room service, we apologize if you were inconvenienced in anyway and would be happy to help however we can. We look forward to greeting you again in the future, thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Claremont Hotel Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Hotel Club & Spa

Address: 41 Tunnel Road, Berkeley, CA 94705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Berkeley
#2 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Claremont Hotel Club & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1915, the Claremont has pampered guests at the level expected of a AAA Four-Diamond award winning hotel. With stress melting spa treatments, a wide range of fitness options, special events, live music, and endless culinary delights, you’ll find the Claremont engaging - even if you choose to simply engage in quality time alone. We deliver attentive service with a gracious hospitality casual enough to make you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Splendia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Claremont Hotel Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Club And Spa
Claremont Hotel Club Berkeley
Claremont Resort Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.