We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel to your Saves list
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Tunnel Road, Berkeley, CA 94705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Sarasota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I only had one day so had little time to enjoy the resort. Concierge with a weeks warning was able to get us into Chez Pannise downstairs. Always a plus. Love the history and tradition and a very good well stocked bar. They had Green Chartreuse, my test. If they have it I drink it often to my regret.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Reading feedback from our guests is always such a pleasure! Although your trip was short, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Our concierge loves to help create an exceptional stay and we couldn’t be happier to know that were able to assist you in obtaining the restaurant reservations you desired. Please be sure to come stay with us again so that you can take advantage of all that we have to offer, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed at The Stanley Hotel in Estes Park, CO, I was thrilled to book The Claremont in Berkeley for a weekend visit with friends. There is something truly grand about old hotels, and The Claremont is one of those unique properties. We found the staff to be pleasant and accommodating. Our room was one of the more modest accommodations in the hotel, and it served its purpose given that we spent little time in the room. Typical of older hotels, it had a small closet, and only one luggage rack. The shower was quite small although the overall bathroom was spacious. The shower also had mold and needed a touch up on the grouting. Our bed was moderately comfortable - not the best but not the worst we've had. We did have to ask for extra pillows as those provided were too soft. The parking is a little odd. There is a traffic light just a car length from the parking gate and it can take some time to leave the facility if there is a back-up. We didn't take advantage of the resort accommodations. If we had, maybe our overall experience would have been better. Would we return? Maybe or maybe not. We left thinking, it was just ok.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ThisandThatGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, General Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for providing details regarding your stay with us, we are thrilled to learn that you found our team members to be so attentive. Our historic hotel is indeed unique, however it is truly regrettable if your guestroom accommodations were not what you had hoped they would be. Someone from our team is always available to discuss your concerns and we apologize if we were not able to provide you with a more positive experience. Your comments will be shared with our housekeeping associates to ensure that everything is at its best. The next time you are in Berkeley, we hope to welcome you back again and that you will let us know if there is anything we can do to make your experience with us even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The best way to describe the Claremont is tired. I was there recently for a conference and the room was just blah and very small. The bathroom was large, but the shower was tiny, I am only 5' 10" and had to bend to get my head under the water. The business part of the hotel was good, the room was large, their a/v staff was on top of everything and the luncheon meal was good. I wouldn't pick this as a place to vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PigPen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are always grateful to hear feedback from our guests, however we can’t help but feel disappointed that your stay was not entirely positive. While it is great to know you enjoyed our meeting facilities, we must apologize if your accommodations were not all you had hoped they would be. Every guestroom at our hotel is just a little different from the next and our associates are always ready to help in anyway they can. Thank you for sharing your comments, we hope that you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The property is huge and has a historical charm about it. Perched above Berkeley downtown, among the hills, the building stands out as an icon. The lobby has impressive tall ceilings! The check-in process was slow; waited more than 5 mins in line. My room was on the third floor with views of the bay. Got some great shots of the city skyline and the Golden Gate Bridge. I felt that the entire hotel was very well laid out - and felt very spacious and open. Large lobby, hallways, corridors, staircases, (it was nice to not use the elevator and to take the stairs, while also getting views of the hotel), windows (lots of them)! Not sure if I had an accessible room but it was a nice size - for the first time, I had a walk-in closet in a hotel room :) The bathroom was twice the size of a normal hotel bathroom, though it needs updating and the space could be reconfigured to make better use. The room was clean and well appointed (but yes it is dated / not your modern or contemporary look). I enjoyed the room and wouldn't mind returning. The conference space was great and a pleasant surprise (some with nice wall-to-ceiling windows).

Room Tip: The rooms have paper thin walls - I could hear conversations outside my room and yes, also the eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NTS_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa has a rich history spanning almost 100 years that continues to be written as each guest's experience adds new chapters. From the lobby and conference facilities all the way to your guestroom with walk in closet and spacious bath, we are thrilled you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us. We truly hope any disruption from the sounds outside your guestroom was minimal and we will share your suggestions with our management team. Thank you so much for your review, we hope to see you again for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Although we really enjoyed our time at the Claremont, I would never again agree to have a room near the elevators. Room number 602 is directly across from the elevator and every time it arrived on our floor (or even the floor below) I could hear the ding. It woke me up at 5:30 in the morning and kept me from taking a much needed nap that afternoon. So beware of this when you first see where your room is located. Despite this, the bar was delicious, the staff friendly and the room was clean and nice. The hotel itself absolutely does have the feel of "The Overlook" from the Jack Nicholson movie The Shining. We were chanting REDRUM the whole weekend.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AkW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay with us. While it seems that you truly enjoyed so much of what The Claremont Hotel Club & spa has to offer, we do regret that the sound of the elevators disturbed your rest. Please know that one of our associates is always available should any issues arise. We value your feedback and hope to you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed there for a weekend with a friend and it was a great overall experience. They have sports, an amazing spa, and a to-die-for view at the bar of the bay. There is not a lot around the property so a rental car is a must unless you want to spend $70-$80 one way into San Francisco for dinner. I imagine this would also be a great space for a wedding party.
Their grab and go breakfast in the morning was more than enough with bagels, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, lattes and coffee, and fresh fruit containers. Also, the hotel was very quiet with a very comfortable bed, which after a long flight from the east coast is a must.
The only reason this did not get 5 stars (or bubbles?) is because they were having serious trouble with the parking system at the time and even though we had a parking pass that was supposed to allow us in and out it didn't work for us or others and was a bit frustrating. Overall, I will stay here again next time I'm in the area.
Only other con was our room only had a shower, so that might be something to ask for if you are looking to soak in a tub.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Each and every guest that walks through our doors is very much a special guest at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa! We are thrilled you enjoyed your weekend stay with us and that you found your accommodations to be so comfortable. Having access to a quick, satisfying breakfast can be so important and we are glad you enjoyed the grab and go options we offer. We must apologize for any inconvenience you experienced while with regard to parking but it seems as it if did not impact your overall stay too greatly and for that we are grateful. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again, thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south lake tahoe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Every employee was so incredibly friendly ... and it seemed genuine. It made you want to stay on the property. Then the food, tennis clinic, massage ... all matched the service. I wish every hotel had this level of service.

Room Tip: Windows are small, but from my side of the bed I could see the Golden Gate Bridge. Would definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tahoelocal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
It truly warms are hearts to read your feedback and know that our associates have provided you with such a memorable experience at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We take special care to create a truly welcoming and hospitable environment so that all of our guests find their ultimate retreat when staying here. Thank you for sharing your review, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
1.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 874 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.0 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#3 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#7 of 21 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel

Address: 41 Tunnel Road, Berkeley, CA 94705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening its doors in 1915, Claremont Club & Spa has been revered as one of America's iconic luxury hotels. As it celebrates its 100th anniversary, Fairmont Hotels and Resorts is proud to unveil our newest member of the Fairmont collection, ushering in a new era of luxury for the next 100 years! Overlooking the San Francisco Bay, Claremont Club & Spa in Berkeley sets new heights in service, amenities, and accommodations. For the past 100 years, Claremont has been recognized as an icon in the Bay Area. Conveniently located in the heart of Berkeley, the hotel is only a 20-minute drive from downtown San Francisco. Private parking is available. Its 276 beautifully appointed rooms offer a mix of old world charm and California comfort, many boasting breathtaking views of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Club Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Club And Spa
Claremont Resort Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing