We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claremont Hotel Club & Spa

Save Saved
You added Claremont Hotel Club & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Tunnel Road, Berkeley, CA 94705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Beat the Heat Summer Pkg
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Berkeley
Sacramento, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel - great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My wife and I visted the Claremont to celebrate our 25th anniversary. The property is immaculate, the staff are extremely customer-oriented from the management to the very helpful parking valets. Take one look at the property and you can instantly tell it is a classic hotel with roots. Our spacious room was on the 2nd floor with bay view overlooking the tennis courts and well manicured grounds - made for some nice photos of San Francisco in the distance, especially at sunset. This was our 3rd visit to the Claremont (the first was in 1984 and another for New Years Eve in 1990 or so) and it has always impressed. The Meritage restaurant is top shelf from the California cuisine to the nice (but a bit pricey) wine list - we enjoyed a tasty but simple "bacon and eggs" breakfast while overlooking the SF bay on a sunny Saturday morning. The Paragon now features jazz artists for the month of June, and the "Street Food Tuesdays" events provide tasty food at street vendor prices. The Bayview cafe is a great spot to grab a sandwich, etc. while making use of the sparkling pool or just checking out the poolside scene. Our room was immaculate and the bed was very comfortable with nice toiletries provided. Upon arrival, the hotel provided us a comped bottle of champagne which was a thoughtful touch. If you are visiting the Berkeley/Oakland area, I highly recommend the Claremont Hotel Club & Spa - especially as a place to stay/play on a special occasion with your special someone.

Room Tip: If you have a special request, do not hesitate to ask the front desk staff - they will bend over bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Happy 25th Anniversary! It is such an honor to have been a part of your celebration. Sometimes it the simple things are the most memorable and your review paints such a cozy picture of enjoying a romantic breakfast for two while gazing out over the beauty of San Francisco Bay. Your many gracious compliments warm our hearts, thank you. Our staff truly cares about each and every guest and we are thrilled to have made your trip special. We would be more than happy to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    306
    201
    111
    86
    70
See reviews for
169
239
52
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New York/CT Area
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The Claremont is a frustrating hotel. It has a beautiful situation and a very friendly staff. I want to love it. I rate it three stars by averaging four and two. I have stayed frequently (five times in the past year) and there is almost always something wrong with the condition of the room or with something mechanical. On this trip, an elevator was out for four days on a busy weekend and a door lock didn't work correctly, an item I had pointed out in previous stays in this room. Perhaps most annoying, I had been promised a room upgrade due to previous maintenance problems with the room. I called the general manager's assistant as instructed, who confirmed that I would get an upgrade, but when I checked in and presented the letter, I got the room I had reserved at the regular rate. I have called to discuss this problem, but can't reach the manager or his assistant.

Room Tip: This is an older hotel and rooms very a lot. "Distinctive" rooms have beautiful views and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
It is truly disappointing to learn that your experience was far from what we expect for our guests. While we are glad you have mentioned your appreciation for our location and found our associates to be so friendly, it seems we missed the mark when it came to some other issues and will share your comments with our maintenance associates. We do apologize if the requested upgraded room was unavailable to you at the time of your visit and we urge you to contact the manager again before your next stay. Thank you for your feedback, we hope that the next time you are in Berkeley you will give us another chance to provide you with the type of experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great place to stay near Oakland City. Beautiful place with great restaurants.

Room Tip: Stay in the room that looks to SF Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you for your great review and appreciation for our amazing views of the San Francisco Bay. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again to The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Had the chance to stay here for one night last weekend. I live in the bay area and have driven past here and see it almost every day. I have dinner here and attended various events here over the years. Our room was on the 2nd floor and had a SF Bay View. Large room with 2 of the most comfortable beds I have slept on in a hotel. Dressing and closet area was quite large and the bathroom as well was large. Very clean. Food was good and room service was very quick. One thing... Don't complain about room service fees and charges when you know ahead of time that you need to pay them. Don't order room service if you don't like the charges...same with the mini bar...don't complain about the $5 candy or the $6 bottle of water. As for the parking and facilities charges. All large hotels charge parking fees and the facilities charge covers the numerous pools, tennis courts and jacuzzis and spa facilities (minus of course the spa services) which are never inexpensive. One just needs to remember where you are...everything in the SFBay Area is going to cost more than if you were in say...Toledo, Ohio. So...enjoy yourself and have a great time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
It is always such a pleasure when we hear from our first time guests of The Claremont Hotel Cub & Spa. Thank you for your candid comments and suggestions for other guests as well. Knowing that you found the bedding to be the most comfortable you have ever slept on in a hotel is a fantastic compliment. It would be our honor to have you come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California, United States
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The Claremont is a classic. The management has kept it up. The lobby took my wife and I to another era and we felt part of history. Our room was basic, but well done and clean. The Club and Spa were very popular and busy with local residents. This could be a problem on a Weekend. We did not use the Valet parking and had no problem parking. We had a pass to go in and out of the parking lot at our pleasure.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have small windows and do not have views so don't be disappointed if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Every guest that walks through the doors of our historic hotel is most certainly adding to our rich history. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Thank you for your review and appreciation for the history of our property. We would love for you to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night in a corner bay view room on a weeknight. The views of the city are spectacular. The room was beautiful and immaculate.
The restaurant, Paragon was great. Great view of San Francisco from the outside deck.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
We are so appreciative of the stunning views here at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa and are particularly pleased when a guest enjoys them as well. Thank you for your feedback, we hope you will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

The hotel has rooms of all sizes (my room particularly small) but if you want to use the pool, you pay $25, if you want to park, you pay $25, if you want anything out-of-the-ordinary, it'll cost you.

It's unfortunate, because the hotel is beautiful but it only feels nice if you have $.. otherwise you'll feel out of place and out of pocket.

The facility is wonderfully maintained as well.

Room Tip: The more you pay -> The bigger your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Our hotel is a historic property and no two rooms are exactly alike. It is disappointing to learn that you were troubled by any of our fees however we do have several packages that include facility and parking charges to provide a reasonable alternative for all of our guests. As part of the resort amenities that we offer include 3 pools, tennis courts, Mind & Body Center, fitness center, yoga studio, Spa and a Kid's Club day camp. Thank you for providing your viewpoint. We hope to have the pleasure of your visit the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Claremont Hotel Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Hotel Club & Spa

Address: 41 Tunnel Road, Berkeley, CA 94705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Claremont Hotel Club & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1915, the Claremont has pampered guests at the level expected of a AAA Four-Diamond award winning hotel. With stress melting spa treatments, a wide range of fitness options, special events, live music, and endless culinary delights, you’ll find the Claremont engaging - even if you choose to simply engage in quality time alone. We deliver attentive service with a gracious hospitality casual enough to make you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Claremont Hotel Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Club Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Club And Spa
Claremont Resort Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.