We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A first-rate hotel with staff that treat you like family.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Durant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Durant to your Saves list
Hotel Durant
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Durant Ave., Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
Hornbrook, CA
1 review
“A first-rate hotel with staff that treat you like family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Durant after a few nights at a "fancy" hotel in Southern California. The difference was astounding. Hotel Durant had all (and more) of the amenities the other hotel had, but it was much more welcoming and willing to cater to its customers and whatever we needed--without the, "shall we bill the fifty dollars this service will cost you to your room?" encountered in other hotels of this great quality.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurantHotelGM, James Lim at Hotel Durant, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive experience in Tripadvisor. I'm glad that our staff made you feel home in Hotel Durant. Most of our staff are students of UC Berkeley and they truly enjoy hosting the parents and relatives of their schoolmates. We hope to see you again soom in your "home away from home" in Berkeley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    160
    79
    35
    22
See reviews for
110
122
55
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

I recently visited the Hotel Durant with three of my girlfriends. We were there for a girls' night out. We loved our stay. The hotel completely met our expectations. From check-in to check-out we had nothing but good experiences. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room had character (which is not found in just any hotel). We loved the collegiate theme. Every detail was thought out and played to the theme. Very fun.
We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, Henry's. It was excellent. Great service, great food. Nothing but thumbs up from us!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurantHotelGM, James Lim at Hotel Durant, responded to this review, April 1, 2010
I'm glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay at Hotel Durant and the dining experience in Henry's! Hope to see you again soon!

Thank you for sharing your experience in TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

My wife and I had a great night away at the Durant. With our 18-month son at home with grandma and grandpa, we escaped to Berkeley for 27 hours of freedom! The Durant was perfect for us -- great location (walking distance to movie theaters and many, many restaurants), very friendly service (thanks for the wine), and a very comfortable room. This was our second Joie de Vivre hotel (the Ventana Inn being our first); it won't be our last. Thanks Durant!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurantHotelGM, James Lim at Hotel Durant, responded to this review, April 1, 2010
I'm glad that you had a great escape and relaxing time in our hotel. And thank you for sharing your experience in Trip Advisor. We're looking forward to welcoming you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Durant for just one night in room 415. The hotel has been recently renovated, and they've done a great job with the decor. It's elegant, modern and yet maintains a uniquely-Berkeley collegiate feel. Our room had a king bed and a view of Durant Avenue and the Campanile. The bed was very comfortable, with enough pillows and a firm mattress. The desk is perfect for any traveler, with a good lamp, good chair and lots of outlets! The room has privacy shades and blackout curtains, which I always find to be such a nice touch. You can tell that this is an older hotel. The room sizes are on the small side, but they really have done a good job of not cluttering everything and providing all of the amenities you could want. Flat-screen TV and internet worked great. There is a safe in the closet, along with ironing board and iron. The minibar had yummy choices, and one truly unique item on the list -- The Bong Lamp! Really beautifully designed!

The bathroom is very small, but modern and functional. Again, they paid attention to detail, so there are unique touches like a fun shower curtain, Lather bath soaps and creams, and the best towels and bathrobes! It's just really small. Oh, and there is a hair dryer, too, which is nice because not all hotels carry them (surprisingly). The plumbing is old, so we needed to have housekeeping come to unplug the toilet once (it's fine if you don't use a ton of toilet paper) and the water temperature in the shower in the morning was quite playful - one minute cool and one minute hot - with pressure that varied. But if you can live with that, it really wasn't a big deal.

The hotel is a green hotel, and is the first place that I have stayed that has a recycling bin in the room. I was really happy to see that, since I hate to toss things I know can be recycled in the trash. I wish more hotels would do that!

Also, kudos to the staff for being professional and warm. They were all very welcoming, nice and efficient, and even the 5-10 minutes of time that I spent talking to them was a pleasant experience. Well done!

There isn't any free parking, so you can either pay for self-parking at $16/day or valet at $26/day. The self-parking is on a terrace and is an open lot behind the hotel, right next to the Unit 1 dorms, so it's not far to walk or shlep your luggage.

One other really nice thing about the hotel is that is it close to everything. Top Dog is just down the block and it's two blocks away from Caffe Strada and Blondies (in different directions). BofA is down the street as is the food court with everything you could want. And campus is just a block away.

Anyway, I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurantHotelGM, James Lim at Hotel Durant, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
Thank you for taking the time and for providing a well-thought review about your recent stay with us. We're looking forward to welcoming you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

Instead, perhaps this review should be titled, "A peninsula of sanity separating Berkeley from Telegraph Avenue." The best (or is it the worst?) of Telegraph Avenue is a block away on one side; and the Berkeley campus on the other.

This hotel is a trip, man. Wonderfully comfortable bed and linens. Bright, clean hallways. Bathroom seriously short of counter space.

But its the decor that will blow you away, dude. Your own college history is everywhere! For us male baby boomers, what could be a more romantic than being in bed, staring at Anne Bancroft's (barely) stockinged leg on that full sized movie poster of The Graduate? And since our room's desk displayed a plaque from the "Engineering Department," I'm convinced that Mario Savio must have "liberated" it personally. (Confusing, however, was that all the furniture appeared brand new).

The hallway walls are full of artifacts and photos of college life from every decade of the last century - - including a tastefully displayed, fire singed, ladies undergarmant. The only thing left out was the tear gas.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurantHotelGM, James Lim at Hotel Durant, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to provide readers the details of your experience and perceptions on the designs of our newly-renovated hotel. It sounds like you enjoyed the experience.

You have Steven Miller to thank for the designs of the hotel. Miller’s style is sophisticated and stylish; most of all though, he is known for the sense of fun and whimsy that enlivens all his work.

“We all know intuitively that life is better when we live, work, or play in a beautiful space,” says Miller. “Designers get to make that happen. It’s a privilege and a challenge—and for me, a joy.” - Steven Miller

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

I was here from March 21-26, a six-day training session at UC Berkeley, and really wish our days had not been so jammed packed because it would have been nice to enjoy the room a little more.
Hotel Durant, which first opened in 1928, has had a nice, historically sensitive makeover under Joie de Vivre's watch, and is an very pleasant and special experience. The hotel is Cal Golden Bears all the way, from the muted blue and gold color scheme, to the room numbers outside each door that bear a UC Berkeley building or architectural feature. You could play a game trying to spot the buildings on campus when you take a walk while there. Sproul Hall and Sather Gate are the most recognizable ones. It is one block from campus and one block from Telegraph Avenue, one of the main arteries of Berkeley, albeit looking a little frayed these days. You can find very cheap eats within a block on Durant, since they cater to the undergraduate students here. Shattuck Avenue and downtown are just a short walk beyond, with plenty of bars and restaurants there.
I stayed in Room 310, facing Durant Avenue, with a view of the Campanile right out my window and the Berkeley hills in the background.
The rooms are stylish but small -- as are many historic hotels -- and the circuits can be a little sensitive. But it's a charming hotel. The staff is pleasant, friendly and helpful. The first night the flat-screened TV and my desk light abruptly went off, but they had it up again. This happened periodically in the five nights we were there, but they were unfailingly prompt and apologetic each time. The bathroom was tiny and the sink was in the bedroom, but this is not an unusual arrangement in older hotels, either.
is a good bar downstairs called Henry's where you can get light fare. They feature a special $5 drink each day, which is a nice, affordable touch. the WiFi in the hotel lobby and in the rooms is free. The parking is $16 a day, which is not awful; this part of Berkeley is tough to park in sometimes, so having safe offstreet parking is worth paying for if you MUST have a car.
I know old buildings can be fussy, but it's part of their charm. The staff makes it a pleasant place to come.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vista, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

For discerning taste, the Hotel Durant will surpass your needs. The professional staff, cleanliness, proximity to activities, was unsurpassed. Don't let the "not available" on line reservation fool you. Call the hotel directly and check for cancellations. I did and was able to get a room that was perfect!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Durant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durant

Address: 2600 Durant Ave., Berkeley, CA 94704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Durant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located one block from the nations' top ranked public university, UC Berkeley, the Hotel Durant, is a full–service, 143 room boutique hotel, with a unique blend of classic Spanish Mediterranean architecture, modern conveniences and strong ties to the campus and community. Following a multi-million dollar redesign in 2008 that combined traditional and contemporary cultures, this Green-certified, cheeky, rebellious, collegiate styled hotel, features guest rooms with 37” LCD flat screen TVs, iPod docking stations, a simple, efficient workspace, complimentary wired and wireless hi-speed internet access, in-room laptop safe, 300-thread count linens and designer bath products. The addition of an Executive Level Floor - “The Graduate” - features a cozy, comfortable lounge, with a 56" flat screen TV and Playstation 3, complimentary continental breakfast, evening wine and cheese hour, and upgraded guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Durant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Durant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.