We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit worn down hotel close to Berkeley university campus” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Durant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Durant to your Saves list
Hotel Durant
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Durant Ave., Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Better to Book Direct
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
Sweden
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A bit worn down hotel close to Berkeley university campus”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The Durant hotel is located on walking distance to the Berkeley university campus. The hotel is a bit worn down and the furniture in my room was crammed into the room. The bed was ok, the breakfast ok, the staff helpful, but the general impression was an old worn down and not totally clean hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    178
    88
    38
    23
See reviews for
128
131
56
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The main virtue, by far, is the location. A couple minute walk to campus and easy food up and down the street.

There is also free parking on-site. We arrived late at night and took the last possible spot, so I suppose there was enough for an off-season stay. I'd be a bit worried at a busy time. There is additional valet parking, which looked available.

No complaints about the room or service, although it was not particularly cheerful or notable one way or the other. Bathroom was clean. Wireless was good. I'd definitely recommend, but not in an excited, "this is a destination" way. More like a fine place to sleep and stow your stuff. (The room was roomy.)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Hotel Durant is located walking distance from UC Berkeley (one block) and many restaurants. It is an older hotel, really more of an inn, so all of the rooms are small and differently shaped. The parking is very expensive but here is a tip. Street parking is free after 6 pm and before 9 am so if you arrive late in the day, drive around the block and take a look. We found a space almost directly in front of the hotel and paid $2.25 for an hour of metered parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My stay at the Hotel Durant was offered to me by the UC Berkeley College of Built Environment, while I was visiting Berkeley for a final review. The stay was comfortable, but I had to change rooms within the first 30mins of arriving, as the front desk offered me a room literally behind the elevator. Then the second night, there was another guest (right next door) that had a dog who would not stop barking and woke everyone up around 7am. The walls of the hotel were super thin, but the advantage was the proximity to the UC Berkeley campus, and being right across from the UC Berkeley Art Museum.

There was free WiFi, but no complimentary breakfast.

Overall the stay was: B+

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kesrya
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I'd really give this place a 4 1/2 stars because it was *almost* perfect, but since Tripadvisor doesn't allow that, I'll go for the full 5 stars.

The character and charm of Hotel Durant are amazing. From the lobby to the on-site restaurant to the rooms, it is decorated in a luxurious and thoughtful style that makes it stand out from cookie cutter chain hotels.

Pay a little extra to stay on the 6th floor and you will get coupons for some fantastic California house wine each night you're there, plus a satisfying continental breakfast, and a fantastic view of the bay into San Francisco.

The rooms are a touch on the small side. Each room is laid out a little differently and thus a different size. Therefore, the pictures on the website must be of the two largest rooms. The first room they put us into had the best view of the city, but was so small there was no room for a dresser to store clothes and one needs to squeeze past the foot of the bed and the fully stocked but high priced in-room bar. It was barely large enough for my husband and I to get our suitcases into the room, and though this was a business trip for me, I was also traveling with our three year old, we had to give up the phenomenal view to ask for a new room.

I really am never, ever a complainer - but we literally could not freely move about the room. The hotel staff was completely understanding and accommodating, and what could have been a totally anxiety ridden situation was quickly and easily resolved by moving us to a larger room with no hassle. I was totally appreciative of this level of stellar customer service, and I definitely will come back to Hotel Durant for all my future business trips.

Room Tip: 606 was tiny, but secluded from the other rooms and had a fantastic view of San Francisco. If you a...
See more room tips
Green Features: I love to see hotels being environmentally conscious. Caring for our planet increases my desire to do business with you!
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I've been staying at the Durant for over 20 years now and have seen it go through multiple iterations, from a frumpy historic relic to a very hip Joie de Vivre hotel. JdV has bowed out and there are new owners and it is in the process of being renovated, included installation of an air conditioning system. I think the absence of the latter (and the dinky bathrooms) has made some perceive this as not a first-class hotel but I've always liked it and worry a bit about how it will retain its historic character with the kind of massive renovation the AC installation will require. But the good parts: the location steps from the Berkeley campus and Telegraph scene are excellent, and they still (at least for now) have the fun "bong" lamps and 60's memento decorations. My only complaint during my last stay is that I paid extra for the Graduate Lounge access (breakfast and happy hr) and they didn't tell me it was unavailable due to renovation--they tried to make it right by giving me coupons for the restaurant, but the hour were such I could not use them.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Durant St. are noisy but you can get great views of the campanile. Rooms on the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We found this "boutique" hotel on a recent visit to the Berkeley campus. Hotel Durant was perfectly located a few blocks from campus. The lobby was adorned with posters and buttons from various historical protests.

We arrived early and the staff accommodated our request for early check-in. Everyone was polite and attentive to our every need. The breakfast at Henry's was amazing. The blueberry jam is the best! Grab a few extra mini jars while the waiter gone! I recommend the Durant.

Room Tip: Look for deals that include the breakfast at Henry's
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Durant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durant

Address: 2600 Durant Ave., Berkeley, CA 94704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#3 Business Hotel in Berkeley
#3 Family Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Durant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located one block from the nations' top ranked public university, UC Berkeley, the Hotel Durant, is a full–service, 143 room boutique hotel, with a unique blend of classic Spanish Mediterranean architecture, modern conveniences and strong ties to the campus and community. Following a multi-million dollar redesign in 2008 that combined traditional and contemporary cultures, this Green-certified, cheeky, rebellious, collegiate styled hotel, features guest rooms with 37” LCD flat screen TVs, iPod docking stations, a simple, efficient workspace, complimentary wired and wireless hi-speed internet access, in-room laptop safe, 300-thread count linens and designer bath products. The addition of an Executive Level Floor - “The Graduate” - features a cozy, comfortable lounge, with a 56" flat screen TV and Playstation 3, complimentary continental breakfast, evening wine and cheese hour, and upgraded guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Durant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Durant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.