We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Disappointing Stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Durant

Save Saved
You added Hotel Durant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Durant
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Durant Ave., Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct & Save 10%
Ranked #5 of 21 hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Disappointing Stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Hotel Durant is a nicely appointed hotel convenient to UC Berkeley. We were looking forward to our stay there, however we were sorely disappointed from the moment we arrived. The woman at the front desk was curt and brusque. When we made the reservation, we were told we would have rooms with a/c. When we arrived, we were told that none of the rooms have a/c. Not only were our concerns pushed aside, we were given rooms on the top floor during a hot spell in Berkeley. The rooms were unbearably hot even with the windows open. We were also told that they would find us a milk alternative for the guest lounge (we have a family member with a dairy allergy who could not eat their breakfasts). None arrived, despite repeated requests. After these two incidents we decided we would be better off in another hotel and checked into the Hotel Shattuck for the remainder of our stay. We had a great stay there!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    132
    62
    28
    20
See reviews for
86
116
52
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great historic hotel, nice rooms, Ryan, the Valet was a delight,.however..the desk clerk, "Katherine",was extremely rude, the worst hotel employee I have ever encountered in my life. She has no business in the hospitality biz. As other reviewer's have stated, there is quite a bit of noise outside due to location and ongoing construction in the neighborhood, but that really didn't bother me.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Due to its location it has little competition. Hence, it is overpriced. Those who are visiting UC, Berkeley, but are without a car have very few options. The rooms are small and have inadequate light. Without AC it was uncomfortable. You could crack open the window but that brings in a lot of noise from the construction next door.

They serve between 5:30 and 7 AM. Never got a chance to taste it! But the hotel is close to a lot of restaurants and one could easily access public transport.

The front office staff is really nice, friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to check me in early at 12 noon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Wonderful place to stay; easy walking distance to Bart or Bus, restaurants; located right near the Berkeley campus. Great little restaurant and bar, too. It is an historic hotel, look it up online for information, so rooms, elevators, etc., are small, but well-appointed and comfortable. It is a green hotel so no air conditioning, but great fans to put by your window which will remain open most likely fall, winter, spring and summer. Just a really neat place to stay.

Room Tip: This is an historic hotel. Regular rooms are very small, but nice. Overall a very comfortable hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOREST RANCH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

If you like black and white movies, you will love this hotel. It is quaint, they have a good green policy, the food in the restaurant is marvelous, and everyone is glad to help you. We saw Robert Plant at the Greek and walked both ways. In the morning we walked on the campus and saw two stunning mosaics done as WPA projects in 1934.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

It's important to remember that this is an old, historic building. Quite lovely and very comfortable, but don't expect it to feel like a modern 4-star hotel. That said, it's a wonderful choice if you want to be near the campus, but not feel like you're ON the campus (i.e. a quieter, mellower, more sophisticated vibe). My room was very comfortable and clean, if a bit on the small side, but it had everything I needed, including a Keurig coffee maker, which was a nice touch. The bed was very comfotable. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. Henry's, the in-house restaurant, is good -- probably one of the better restaurants in the area. Otherwise, to eat well, you probably want to venture a bit further away from campus. No pool or gym, but for $5, I got a university rec center pass.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are on the small side, but larger ones exist, so you can ask for one. Also, some o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I liked staying at the Hotel Durant.
The hotel itself is very nice and well kept. Everybody working there, from the reception staff to the housekeepers, was nice, friendly and helpful. My room was spacious, clean, comfortable. The location was convenient (just a few steps from campus). The internet was free and had a strong signal. I also liked the cute recycling bin in the room.
However, as many people have already noticed here, the problem is the noise, both the street and the other travelers' noise.
On my first night there, though exhausted (I had arrived late at night from the East coast) I could not fall asleep due to some LOUD party going on in one of the fraternity houses nearby (they're just across the street from the hotel). Luckily, there were no other parties during my stay there, but, on the other hand, I could hear distinctively what the people in the rooms next door were saying, word by word, almost as if they were in my room.
I mentioned this at the reception person when I checked out and was told that next year they plan to re-do the insulation to address this issue. Let's hope so, since it's really a pity that bad noise insulation should ruin the experience of this nice hotel.
About the street noise....well, there's nothing they can do, really. University towns are always noisy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Durant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durant

Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Berkeley
Durant Hotel
Address: 2600 Durant Ave., Berkeley, CA 94704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#3 Business Hotel in Berkeley
#5 Family Hotel in Berkeley
#5 Romantic Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Durant 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located one block from the nations' top ranked public university, UC Berkeley, the Hotel Durant, is a full–service, 143 room boutique hotel, with a unique blend of classic Spanish Mediterranean architecture, modern conveniences and strong ties to the campus and community. Following a multi-million dollar redesign in 2008 that combined traditional and contemporary cultures, this Green-certified, cheeky, rebellious, collegiate styled hotel, features guest rooms with 37” LCD flat screen TVs, iPod docking stations, a simple, efficient workspace, complimentary wired and wireless hi-speed internet access, in-room laptop safe, 300-thread count linens and designer bath products. The addition of an Executive Level Floor - “The Graduate” - features a cozy, comfortable lounge, with a 56" flat screen TV and Playstation 3, complimentary continental breakfast, evening wine and cheese hour, and upgraded guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Tingo, Amex, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Durant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Durant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.