We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Durant, Berkeley, California” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Durant

Save Saved
You added Hotel Durant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Durant
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Durant Ave., Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Durant, Berkeley, California”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Wonderful place to stay; easy walking distance to Bart or Bus, restaurants; located right near the Berkeley campus. Great little restaurant and bar, too. It is an historic hotel, look it up online for information, so rooms, elevators, etc., are small, but well-appointed and comfortable. It is a green hotel so no air conditioning, but great fans to put by your window which will remain open most likely fall, winter, spring and summer. Just a really neat place to stay.

Room Tip: This is an historic hotel. Regular rooms are very small, but nice. Overall a very comfortable hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    141
    64
    31
    22
See reviews for
94
117
53
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
FOREST RANCH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

If you like black and white movies, you will love this hotel. It is quaint, they have a good green policy, the food in the restaurant is marvelous, and everyone is glad to help you. We saw Robert Plant at the Greek and walked both ways. In the morning we walked on the campus and saw two stunning mosaics done as WPA projects in 1934.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

It's important to remember that this is an old, historic building. Quite lovely and very comfortable, but don't expect it to feel like a modern 4-star hotel. That said, it's a wonderful choice if you want to be near the campus, but not feel like you're ON the campus (i.e. a quieter, mellower, more sophisticated vibe). My room was very comfortable and clean, if a bit on the small side, but it had everything I needed, including a Keurig coffee maker, which was a nice touch. The bed was very comfotable. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. Henry's, the in-house restaurant, is good -- probably one of the better restaurants in the area. Otherwise, to eat well, you probably want to venture a bit further away from campus. No pool or gym, but for $5, I got a university rec center pass.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are on the small side, but larger ones exist, so you can ask for one. Also, some o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I liked staying at the Hotel Durant.
The hotel itself is very nice and well kept. Everybody working there, from the reception staff to the housekeepers, was nice, friendly and helpful. My room was spacious, clean, comfortable. The location was convenient (just a few steps from campus). The internet was free and had a strong signal. I also liked the cute recycling bin in the room.
However, as many people have already noticed here, the problem is the noise, both the street and the other travelers' noise.
On my first night there, though exhausted (I had arrived late at night from the East coast) I could not fall asleep due to some LOUD party going on in one of the fraternity houses nearby (they're just across the street from the hotel). Luckily, there were no other parties during my stay there, but, on the other hand, I could hear distinctively what the people in the rooms next door were saying, word by word, almost as if they were in my room.
I mentioned this at the reception person when I checked out and was told that next year they plan to re-do the insulation to address this issue. Let's hope so, since it's really a pity that bad noise insulation should ruin the experience of this nice hotel.
About the street noise....well, there's nothing they can do, really. University towns are always noisy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We lucked out at the last minute with a $189/night stay at the Durant. Although renovated, it maintains its charm, especially in the lobby and the very spacious rooms. Note there is not yet A/C - they say they plan to add that in a year or so, but we found it completely unnecessary. The room was huge, great mattress and bedding, an overhead fan, and the decorating is in keeping with Berkeley's biggest claims to fame. The reception staff advised us that their par.king lot ($30/night) was full but told us where street parking might be had for $1 on the street! It worked beautifully and the hotel is well situated so we could tour Berkeley on foot. The in-house bar and restaurant was good too and we will do a separate review on that

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Let me count the ways...

Our family spends a fair amount of time in the East Bay, and we've stayed at a number of hotels in the vicinity. We spent a long time looking for one that was the perfect fit for us, and we finally found it -- the Hotel Durant in Berkeley.

The hotel is a historic property, built more than 80 years ago. It was renovated in 2008 and was the first boutique hotel in Berkeley to be green-certified.

First, the location: ideal for anyone visiting Berkeley. The hotel is a stone's throw from campus, and just one block up from Telegraph Avenue. It's within easy walking distance of restaurants, movie theaters, bookstores, drugstores, and more. We visited in early June, and the area was very quiet. I imagine the timing made a bit of difference here.

The hotel itself is chic, welcoming and well-appointed. Renovations were clearly done with care and respect, preserving many features of the beautiful old building. Our room was on the fifth floor and had a commanding view of the Berkeley clock tower. Amenities included high-quality bedding and iPhone/iPod docking stations, which my husband appreciated.

I guess I'll need to fess up to a couple of potential demerits. One is the parking situation. Unless you valet park (it was full when we arrived), parking in the area can be a bit of a challenge. I used to live in San Francisco, however, so I'm used to that. Berkeley is a dense urban environment, after all.

Second, a few reviewers have commented on the size of the accommodations. It's true that the room and bathroom were a bit more cozy than some. But hey, it's an older building, so that's to be expected in this case. For us, the beautiful decor more than made up for any issues we might have had about the room size.

In short, we had an absolutely fantastic stay, and will definitely return to the Hotel Durant on our next visit to the area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor, facing the Berkeley campus -- we had a nice view of the Berkeley clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Great location for visiting Berkeley but also a substantially less expensive alternative to staying in downtown San Francisco, which was my case. The downtown Berkeley BART station is 15-20 minutes walk or 5 minutes on a frequent bus. Door to door from hotel to SF building is a 40-50 minute commute.

Pros:
Location adjacent to campus, Telegraph St. and not far from central Berkeley. Very lively area.
Clean.
Comfortable.

Cons:
Bad noise insulation from adjoining rooms and floor above - seems like quite an old building.
Can be noisy outside too sometimes.
Service is not too good:
- I was not notified of packages delivered.
- You are charged for printing a page on the computer in the lobby. Seriously. You are also charged for using the computer for more than 15 minutes per day.

Note: being green, the rooms have no air conditioning . They have a ceiling fan and a floor fan. This is no problem given the climate (I was there in summer) but might be a problem on exceptionally hot days.

Room Tip: Lower rooms might be more noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Durant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durant

Address: 2600 Durant Ave., Berkeley, CA 94704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Durant 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located one block from the nations' top ranked public university, UC Berkeley, the Hotel Durant, is a full–service, 143 room boutique hotel, with a unique blend of classic Spanish Mediterranean architecture, modern conveniences and strong ties to the campus and community. Following a multi-million dollar redesign in 2008 that combined traditional and contemporary cultures, this Green-certified, cheeky, rebellious, collegiate styled hotel, features guest rooms with 37” LCD flat screen TVs, iPod docking stations, a simple, efficient workspace, complimentary wired and wireless hi-speed internet access, in-room laptop safe, 300-thread count linens and designer bath products. The addition of an Executive Level Floor - “The Graduate” - features a cozy, comfortable lounge, with a 56" flat screen TV and Playstation 3, complimentary continental breakfast, evening wine and cheese hour, and upgraded guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, GCommerce Solutions, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Durant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Durant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.