We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Durant

Save Saved
You added Hotel Durant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Durant
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Durant Ave., Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

As an individual studying Hospitality Management, I can get a bit picky when it comes to service.

Unfortunately we had to wait about 8-10 at the front desk before any one came to help us out, after continuous ringing of the front desk bell. When a girl about my age (early 20's) finally came up to talk to us, she was giggling and completely unprofessional, without apologizing for the wait. Minor details of course, but this is something I catch as an individual in the industry. The only other issue we had during our entire stay was the cleaning staff every morning around 7:30-8ish that were very loud and boisterous and had no restraints on their voice level. For me it was no major issue as I wake up around that time, but my boyfriend for example likes to sleep in until 9-10 which isn't too much to ask for when staying at a hotel.

With that being said, this hotel was great. The decor is a spin on dorm life which of course fits perfectly into the whole atmosphere of Berkeley itself. The rooms were small but had great witty details that were fun to look for when we first arrived in our room. Our room on the top floor also allowed us access to a special lounge that included breakfast which was a nice treat and something great to take advantage of. Unfortunately with our room being on the top floor we could hear the elevator at all hours and again had problems with housekeeping and their noise levels.
I loved the details to this hotel; from the "bong" lamp to the boutique shampoo and conditioner; the entire atmosphere is fun and quirky. What we loved most though was the location; it is absolutely perfect! You are literally a block away from UC Berkeley Campus and just a couple of footsteps away from great food, pubs and funky clothing stores. My boyfriend and I came to California to experience the foodie culture and do "cool" and "different" shopping and unfortunately we were not able to find this in San Francisco, but Berkeley more than made up for this. I would definitely recommend this hotel for its location, but don't expect anything special when it comes to service; which for most people is just fine.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor- you get access to the lounge! Also; ask for a room AWAY from the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    141
    64
    31
    22
See reviews for
94
117
53
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
california
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated within walking distance to the campus and smack in the middle of the cute, little town. My friend and I stayed two nights while visiting a Berkeley student and never used our car. Parking is $16/day, but you may be lucky enough to find nearby parking on the street.

Check-in was great. The night manager, Eric, was super friendly and helpful. Our room was a smallish corner room with two beds, but still roomy enough. It had nice decor and was clean. The bathroom was teeny, tiny but because I had read this on previous reviews, I brought a hanging cosmetic bag so my things were accessible.

Yes, this is an old hotel- the floors creaked, the carpet was raised in areas, and the walls were paper-thin, but it had so much charm. The lobby was welcoming and hip, and Henry's is a great place to have drinks and food. I would definitely stay here again when returning to Berkeley!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

If you are visiting the UC Berkeley campus, this is an ideal place to stay. I knew that I'd like this place as soon as I walked into the lobby. A busy and hip bar sits on one end of the college-themed lobby. When you check in, a bowl full of colorful hard candy always is present on the counter. The rooms are small, but cozy and well appointed. They have quirky touches such as a lamp shaped like a water pipe and a "Do Not Disturb" sign that's shaped like a sock :). We stay here when we see shows at UC Berkeley's Greek Theater (my favorite outdoor music venue I the Bay Area). All points on campus are within a short walk. The hotel has free parking and great restaurants are near.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice room, comfy bed, great shower and a tub, microscopic sink and no place for any toiletries. Amusing shower curtain. You just have to see for yourself.
I was visiting during the Spring break, so the streets were quiet, and I could sleep with opened windows. If my stay was during the school semester, it would not be possible to get a good night sleep, even if you are a sound sleeper. My room was facing the street, but I am not sure if the back would be any quieter or if there are dorms or frat houses on the back. I think I stayed at 411.

The hotel is in a perfect location relative to school and nice places to eat. Hotel does not have a restaurant, but the bar seems to be very popular.

Overall, the place and management felt warm and homey.

Room Tip: I think I stayed at 411.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

You can tell that it was built 90 years ago by the small room sizes, but the staff and ambiance more than make up for it. Henry's is a nice (but pricey for the area) place to have dinner and drinks. The hotel staff was great! I will certainly stay there again when!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the fifth floor and that faces campus. Great views from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hotel is lokated Durant Avenue, close to University of California (Berkeley). The staff welcoming you are very helpful and friendly. My luggage was missing and they called ceveral times to help me get it.
The condition of the hotel is ok, not especially good, but it is quite all right if you are not too picky. Some of the rooms are big, mine was normal.
I would reccomend the hotel if you are going to Berkeley. It is just 30 minutes by train to go to San Francisco.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back if you want some peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I booked this hotel from Texas for my daughter who was traveling alone. The front desk staff I am sorry I can't remember her name, she was so sweet to me, I called several times to inquire about paying for the room so my daughter wouldn't have to have her credit card on file. She was so very sweet, called her I think three different times, she even offered to let me know when she checked in.. When my daughter did arrive the night time staff was very sweet.. Told her where not to go, and that he would like her back by 10pm.. Just to know she was safe.. The bar staff was also very kind to her. As a mother I was so thankful.. The rooms were fine according to my daughter. The only thing she said was that it was a tiny bit warm and the windows didn't open, but there were plenty of fans..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Durant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durant

Address: 2600 Durant Ave., Berkeley, CA 94704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Durant 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located one block from the nations' top ranked public university, UC Berkeley, the Hotel Durant, is a full–service, 143 room boutique hotel, with a unique blend of classic Spanish Mediterranean architecture, modern conveniences and strong ties to the campus and community. Following a multi-million dollar redesign in 2008 that combined traditional and contemporary cultures, this Green-certified, cheeky, rebellious, collegiate styled hotel, features guest rooms with 37” LCD flat screen TVs, iPod docking stations, a simple, efficient workspace, complimentary wired and wireless hi-speed internet access, in-room laptop safe, 300-thread count linens and designer bath products. The addition of an Executive Level Floor - “The Graduate” - features a cozy, comfortable lounge, with a 56" flat screen TV and Playstation 3, complimentary continental breakfast, evening wine and cheese hour, and upgraded guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, GCommerce Solutions, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Durant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Durant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.