We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daughter traveled alone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Durant

Save Saved
You added Hotel Durant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Durant
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Durant Ave., Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
BOOK DIRECT 15% OFF
Ranked #5 of 21 hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Daughter traveled alone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I booked this hotel from Texas for my daughter who was traveling alone. The front desk staff I am sorry I can't remember her name, she was so sweet to me, I called several times to inquire about paying for the room so my daughter wouldn't have to have her credit card on file. She was so very sweet, called her I think three different times, she even offered to let me know when she checked in.. When my daughter did arrive the night time staff was very sweet.. Told her where not to go, and that he would like her back by 10pm.. Just to know she was safe.. The bar staff was also very kind to her. As a mother I was so thankful.. The rooms were fine according to my daughter. The only thing she said was that it was a tiny bit warm and the windows didn't open, but there were plenty of fans..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    149
    70
    32
    22
See reviews for
101
120
54
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Durant for three nights in January 2013. The hotel, while not fancy is clean and very well situated to the UC Berkeley campus. The hotel does show its age. The front desk staff were friendly and very helpful. The bathroom, while clean, has a very small sink and VERY little area for placing shaving and other supplies in the morning. The bar and restaurant were excellent. Large, well light and the food was good. We sat in the bar and were able to watch the Ravens beat the Patriots. While we were disappointed, the well stocked bar (some very good wine) helped us through our grief.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights while our daughter moved into the dorms and got settled. It was still winter break, so the streets and restaurants were quiet but it is quite close to campus so I can imagine it would be noisier when school's in session. No movies in the room but with so much to do in Berkeley that wasn't a big complaint.

The rooms were comfortable, the staff VERY helpful and friendly, and while we didn't eat at the restaurant, there were several items on the menu that looked good for vegetarians. Our daughter left her coat in her room when she checked out, and later that day it was waiting at the desk for us.

Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The design of the Hotel Durant is stylish and charming; think "haute dorm living". Our only complaint is that it appears the previous resident of our room was a kleptomaniac. The following items were missing from the room: an iron, a garbage can, an alarm radio. The manager was apologetic, but this, especially the lack of alarm clock, put a damper on an otherwise pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Ok – If you're traveling to Berkeley and are looking for the hipest little boutique in all of Berkeley - THIS is your hotel. This place is so Cal it might as well be named Hotel Cal. From the key cards, to the names of the rooms and everything else. Let me warn you - if you like the whole Hyatt / Holiday Inn / Marriott vibe, DONT stay here. It's just not for you. But, if you're into unique hotels with charm, personality and localised authenticity - this is the place for you. Don't forget to hit up the little pub in the lobby. The BEST place to be on gameday of any kind at UCB.

Authentically Berkeley in all the right ways. Charming, Warm and buzzing with tradition.

Room Tip: Get something facing the Bay - The Views are really something special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

As long as you are aware that this hotel sits in the midst of all the student partying, you will be fine. The rooms are old-ish and small, very European-like. The decor is very fun and made us laugh. You have to be a Cal fan to enjoy!! We didn't sleep well due to all the drunken yelling going on down on the street until maybe 3 in the morning. But, you are right in the middle of all the fun if you want that. We were not there on a game night. The restaurant/bar was packed downstairs (Saturday Night) so it's a popular place, we sat down for just dessert and it was excellent. Everyone working at the hotel is very friendly and service-oriented.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Applegate, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel has been in operation since 1928, but was remodeled recently and is now a really nice place. The staff is super nice and helpful, the location is excellent (2 blocks from UC Berkeley, 2 blocks from Telegraph) and the accommodations are comfy and fun. It's green boutiquey essence (i.e.: IPod mounts on the alarm clock, modern and retro artwork and furniture and environmentally friendly certification) is complemented by the funkiness of being an older building (windows that open, vaulted ceiling lobby, old style bathroom tile). It's much more interesting than staying in a Super 8! The restaurant off the lobby ("Henry's") is open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and has a bar. The food is pretty darn good and reasonably priced. The whole place has a nice, youthful (but not rowdy) feel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 4th or 5th (or higher) floor and you will be less disturbed by the street noise. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Durant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durant

Address: 2600 Durant Ave., Berkeley, CA 94704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Durant 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located one block from the nations' top ranked public university, UC Berkeley, the Hotel Durant, is a full–service, 143 room boutique hotel, with a unique blend of classic Spanish Mediterranean architecture, modern conveniences and strong ties to the campus and community. Following a multi-million dollar redesign in 2008 that combined traditional and contemporary cultures, this Green-certified, cheeky, rebellious, collegiate styled hotel, features guest rooms with 37” LCD flat screen TVs, iPod docking stations, a simple, efficient workspace, complimentary wired and wireless hi-speed internet access, in-room laptop safe, 300-thread count linens and designer bath products. The addition of an Executive Level Floor - “The Graduate” - features a cozy, comfortable lounge, with a 56" flat screen TV and Playstation 3, complimentary continental breakfast, evening wine and cheese hour, and upgraded guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Durant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Durant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.