We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - don't order the eggs for breakfast!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Durant

Save Saved
You added Hotel Durant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Durant
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Durant Ave., Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
Maui, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good location - don't order the eggs for breakfast!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel while in town for a performance at Zellerbach Hall. Location was ideal, only about 4 blocks from the hall and an easy walk. We booked two rooms and one of them was quite warm, even with the room fan on in October, while the other one was fine. There's no air conditioning in the rooms, just the fan, which seemed to work well in one room but no the other. There's very little insulation to block out the noise from other rooms - went to sleep listening to someone else's TV set, which was annoying. But the rooms were clean (except one stained towel that was left as a clean one for us) and nicely appointed. The hotel has a bit of a "student" theme being in Berkeley, with a sock cut-out for the "privacy please" sign on the door; a shower curtain that had dictionary definitions on it; and a room key in the form of a student ID card. Staff responded promptly and were helpful at the front desk, although they sent us on a pointless walkabout on a street with no stores at all which was supposed to be "antique row". Very wierd! The worst part was breakfast in the hotel dining room - we ordered one egg and toast, and were brought (and charged for) the bigger breakfast plate with eggs, bacon and toast. Moreover, the eggs were clearly powdered eggs, not fresh eggs, which was really awful. I would stay here again for a night - just avoid the eggs for breakfast!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    143
    67
    32
    22
See reviews for
95
118
53
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Location is the reason you stay at the Hotel Durant, otherwise a funky place. Does have that old Berkeley charm, but is small, dark, noisy, lots of things that don't work right (e.g., climate control, tv, toilets). Does have wireless, in room water/coffee, etc. Definitely needs a serious facilities upgrade! The service is well intentioned, but not the best. I will be back, and hope to find it more lovingly cared for next time...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Hill, Maine
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

It's really a too. Too hot . There is no air-conditioning. Too noisy. You have to to leave the window open and there is an "animal house" across the street partying until 3AM. Too small. You have to turn sideways to get between the bed and the dresser. Too dark. The subdued lighting is more depressing than atmospheric. Too crowded. Furniture needs to be rearranged. Even the pictures are hung wrong, with a too large TV right in front of the whatever-they-call-it for artwork.Too little water pressure. I couldn't even get a decent shampoo.
But NOT TOO helpful. The staff resisted changing our room but finally did after we heard them tell a new arrival there was space available and my husband insisted. Still wouldn’t give us a bigger room or one on a lower floor that would be (hopefully) cooler. We couldn’t even get more hangers for our clothes. In the new room, furniture arrangement was improved, and it actually has a closet door so the clothes and ironing board are not exposed. It was a quieter side of the building, the water pressure was better but not cooler since the fan is broken!
On the not too bad side, the toiletries are good. There are real glasses and mugs in the room and a Keurig coffee dispenser, which, no surprises here, didn’t work! Bed is comfy but they don’t know the difference between a queen and a double. Pillows are soft and nice. The staff was friendly and very polite, even when they weren't solving our problem. Breakfast at Henrys pretty good.
Last complaint: $5 to print a boarding pass.
Am I just crabby and hard to please? Don't think so. Chats in the elevator revealed similar displeasure from others.
Too highly rated at #3.
We will check out the Berkeley Club if we want to stay in town next time.

Room Tip: Don't stay there from May through October. It is too hot. Try a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WJones2600, General Manager at Hotel Durant, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear pellverm,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We appreciate your kind words about the room amenities and the restaurant. Regarding the comments about the shortcomings you encountered in the rooms, I thank you for the opportunity to improve our service as we will be addressing your concerns.
Warmest regards,
Will Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel is in the perfect location. Once you park the car you don't need it again because you can walk everywhere from the hotel. The rooms are a little cramped, and the bathrooms need a little updating, but the room has everything you need. The hotel bar is a fun place to hang out after a cal game. My biggest complaint is the cost of parking and since it was a game day you couldn't be guaranteed a parking spot if your car wasn't back at the hotel by 7pm even though you had to pay for the spot. Overall I would certainly stay here again. Go bears!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We were visiting friends in Berkeley and this was the best of the bunch. I didn't expect too much. But we were pleasantly surprised by the comfortable accommodations. The room was smallish, but the interesting decor made up for that: A shower curtain with vocabulary words to study while you get clean, a poster of the Graduate, lamps that look like beakers in a chem lab. trhe lobby is a library of sorts. The only downside was the extremely overpriced breakfast.
Eat somewhere else. Stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. We could hear the garbage collectors in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights on a business trip. The room rates were pretty good and I really enjoyed being in the heart of the Berkeley campus scene. The room had some updates, the bathroom was nice and clean with new sinks and vanities. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were nice. They have good new TV's and a work desk. The fridge has a key, but they don't mind if you take stuff out of the fridge and fill it with your own snacks, which was great. The rooms are very small but managable.
There were a few issues I had with this hotel.
1st - There is not air control. there was a ceiling fan. You are in the East Bay so it doesn't get too hot, however if you open a window expect to get no sleep. You are staying on the edge of the University, it is loud. That was not my biggest issue however.
2nd - The walls are thin. I could hear everyone around me. I could hear the guy sleeping in the room next to me and the couple upstairs having fun. Thin walls.
3rd - The biggest issue I had with this place was the power continually went out in my room. Multiple times a night. The breaker would blow and everything would turn off. It makes it very hard to get caught up on work with the power conintually going out. I was not over loading my power connections, I had the TV on, my phone plugged in and my laptop on. I had the small lamp by my bed turned on, that is it. The power kicked in the middle of the night while I was sleeping and caused my phone to die, thus me being late to a meeting.
They have some potential here but desperately need to update their electrical boxes.

Room Tip: If you get a room that faces Durant Ave, it can be very loud if you are visiting durning the warmer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was on a business trip and needed to be close to Campus -- the Durant is perfect for this. The rooms are very nice, the hotel has been renovated and is very pleasant. The noise levels were much lower than the Shattuck, so this is the hotel I will prefer in my future visits to Berkeley (a good nights sleep is important for me). The only regret I have is the lack of a gym, but there is an option to get into the Campus gym which I did not try.

The staff were very helpful and nice and the bar was very pleasant as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Durant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durant

Address: 2600 Durant Ave., Berkeley, CA 94704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Durant 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located one block from the nations' top ranked public university, UC Berkeley, the Hotel Durant, is a full–service, 143 room boutique hotel, with a unique blend of classic Spanish Mediterranean architecture, modern conveniences and strong ties to the campus and community. Following a multi-million dollar redesign in 2008 that combined traditional and contemporary cultures, this Green-certified, cheeky, rebellious, collegiate styled hotel, features guest rooms with 37” LCD flat screen TVs, iPod docking stations, a simple, efficient workspace, complimentary wired and wireless hi-speed internet access, in-room laptop safe, 300-thread count linens and designer bath products. The addition of an Executive Level Floor - “The Graduate” - features a cozy, comfortable lounge, with a 56" flat screen TV and Playstation 3, complimentary continental breakfast, evening wine and cheese hour, and upgraded guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Durant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Durant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.