We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Considering as a home base” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Save Saved
You added Rose Garden Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rose Garden Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2740 Telegraph Ave, Berkeley, CA 94705   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 hotels in Berkeley
Garbervil
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Considering as a home base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We've been looking for a place to stay repeatedly on our frequent trips to the Bay Area to visit our kids. This might be it, because the ambiance is completely warm and homey, and the slightly run-down edge is wood and not plastic. Bed was comfortably firm; breakfast was great, seemingly containing actual food, again not plastic. Gardens and common rooms very welcoming. More tightly wound folks may not like the fact that the help can take their break in the living room too--we liked it. We experienced none of the problems mentioned in the lower-rating reviews.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    55
    9
    20
    25
See reviews for
24
51
19
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

As somewhere for a quick overnight stay, it's okay but otherwise the amenities are too basic for business travel. The rooms are yesteryear and in need of urgent refurbishment - plastic shower curtains in the bathroom showing signs of mildew; there's worn carpet and crumbling paintwork, etc. The main public lounge area is in better shape but overall value for money is low.
Breakfast is a help yourself buffet of cereals, pastries, juices, sausages, country fired potatoes and bacon; collected on a small plastic tray you have to return to the collection area near kitchen door after eating. There is no bar or other food facility.
Font desk staff are polite and helpful; and the gardens are pretty.
Regret being unable to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hockley, essex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had originally booked to stay at the Rose Garden for more than one night. However, when we first went through the huge old front door, our hearts sank a bit.Of course a property can be old, but not tired and old. Carpets were stained, doors, curtains, needed refurbishing, etc. Our room did not have any form of heating. It had a microwave and fridge, but no tea/coffee facilities. The bathroom was basic and although we had had a 12 hr flight and would dearly loved to have had a bath, felt we could not and we are not that fussy.The bed was fairly comfortable and the linen was clean. The breakfast was ok, but definitely self-service. No one wishing you good morning, - the kitchen staff were chatting in their own language and you had to clear away after yourself. The gardens were lovely and well cared for - when we left the plants were being watered. It seemed a shame, therefore, that the very faded silk flower arrangements inside the house were not replaced with a vase of fresh flowers.
We paid $163 for a nights stay. We needed a taxi to get into Berkeley although we were advised it was only a 15 minute walk. The place is probably ok for students.When we were leaving, I held the front gate open for about 10 students going in. Bearing in mind I am of pass pass age, had a suitcase in one hand and a floral bag in other, could not really be missed. However, not a single one of them bothered to acknowledge me. I hope this is not representative of Cal students.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

came and stayed at this hotel and instantly felt like I was in a horror movie. the man working the front desk was very friendly and my cousin tyler thought he was a cutie. when we carried our bags to the room a man in a top building stared the entire time and watched us. later I tripped over a table and cut my leg cause a ghost pushed me. then we watched two weird ladies making stupid poses by a tree and taking pictures. probably ghosts as well. or the old man upstairs' next victims. all in all I liked the fireplace

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appalachian Mountains
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Wonderful, smart, energetic staff. Big American style breakfast, the works. This reminded me of some tourist hotels in seaside towns in Holland. Charming garden. If you love flowers, and especially you aren't from California, you'll be very pleased with the roses and the hydrangeas, amazing. I stayed in 2 different rooms, 407, which was small but pleasant, and in 501, a multiple bed/family suite. Rose Garden Inn has a European pension feel, lived in, loved in, and there's a lot of life left in it.

Room Tip: In 501, with 3 king size beds, and a sofa bed, I warn you - the sofa bed is pretty bad. My friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The pictures on line make the inn look totally charming, but in real life it is tired and run down. The carpet in our room was not well vacuumed with lots of dust around the edges, and the bathroom was pretty disgusting with lots of mold around the tub and on the shower curtain and poor quality grouting in the floor and around the tub. Old caked dust/dirt on the panelling of the room and bathroom doors. Beds only fair. No way to have fresh air in room at night as only access to outdoors was a sliding door to an outside patio that did not have a screen on it, so did not feel secure leaving the door open at night. Breakfast adequate in volume but eggs very dried out, bacon rubbery, and pastries not fresh. Price high for quality of inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I stayed at the Rose Garden Inn while visiting my daughter in May of this year. What a nice surprise! I loved everything about the inn:

The rose garden is absolutely gorgeous and a quiet place to have lunch, or sip a cup of coffee while relaxing. Our room even had its own little patio with table, just out of the sliding doors on the first floor. Very pleasant especially when the weather is gorgeous as it was in May.

The location is perfect for visiting students at Cal, just a 10/12 minute walk to campus on Telegraph. Granted, Telegraph can turn a little scary at night with lots of homeless people, but this location is ok. And if you walk to College avenue (about 12 minutes), you are right in the area of many restaurants and shops.

The breakfast buffet is all you need to start your day (included in the price). You can even take your tray outside and enjoy it in the rose garden. Can't think of a better way to start a day!

My review would not be complete without adding a note on the kindness and professionalism of all the innkeepers. All this made for a very pleasant stay!
I already booked a room for my next trip. Would highly recommend the Rose Garden Inn!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Address: 2740 Telegraph Ave, Berkeley, CA 94705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose Garden Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Hotel Berkeley
Rose Garden Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.