We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stylish oasis in Berkeley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Shattuck Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A stylish oasis in Berkeley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our family stayed here on a recent trip to visit and learn more about Cal as a potential college choice for our daughter. While we had considered other hotels such as the iconic Claremont on the hill - we decided to try a hotel downtown so that we could experience more of the Berkeley 'vibe'. We were so glad that we chose the Shattuck Plaza.

The hotel lobby is clean, inviting and historic. We arrived early in the day - and a room was not yet ready, but the staff gladly took our bags to store them for later in the day. We toured the campus on a beautiful sunny day - and by 2:00PM I received a call from the hotel letting us know that our room was ready for check-in at our convenience. Very nice service!

The room was big, clean and well-decorated. Our room was on the 5th floor which provided us with the ability to leave our window open all day/night without too much noise from the street below. We had absolutely no issues with the room - and it was clear that the entire hotel had undergone a meticulous renovation within recent years. Even the stairs in the emergency firewell were beautifully painted and clean.

Around the hotel are many great restaurants and shops. I would highly recommend a stop at Mike's Ice Cream shop which is right at the base of the hotel. Huge scoops of fantastic ice cream for $1 a scoop! Treat yourself...

We ate breakfast at the hotel. The food was nicely prepared and served. Nothing out of the ordinary, but very well prepared at reasonable hotel breakfast prices. Dining in the hotel restaurant is an elegant experience that everyone should try for a drink, dinner or other meal.

Overall, the Hotel Shattuck delivered on all of the promised and expectations that we had after reading reviews and viewing the website online. Nicely done. We'd stay there again anytime!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a view toward the outside of the hotel if you want to experien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    288
    75
    41
    19
See reviews for
206
201
99
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I loved the hotel the minute we entered. I loved the Peace sign in marble in the lobby, I loved the selection of wild wallpaper in the hallways, and the very comfortable room we stayed in. The lobby staff was great and loaned us out umbrellas due to the rain.

Our room was quiet, even though it looked directly on the main street. It's also super close to the Bart station so we didn't really even need a car (although we had one). One thing - I'm 6ft tall and the double bed was a little short for me. But that was okay, I slept diagonal and my daughter had the other bed.

We used this hotel as a home base for college touring. Obviously it's perfect for a Cal visit, but we also drove in to San Francisco, up to Stockton (University of the Pacific) and over to Davis so saw a lot of schools using one hotel.

Room Tip: Room 430 was nice and quiet, even though it was overlooking the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Wallingfordgal,

We love being the hotel for visiting Cal and all that the Bay Area has to offer and are delighted that you thought so, too. Thank you for appreciating the different wall coverings in the corridors. Our designer specially patterned the wall coverings to help guests have a unique experience, know where they are and not get bored with the monotony of a singular pattern.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza, home to FIVE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for a conference and graduation. It is convenient to the U.C. and other facilities; and a plethora of restaurants. The hotel was clean; and the staff friendly. We drove, but it is very convenient to the BART on Shattuck Ave. (Self-parking is at a facility across the street, and there is a charge for that -- this is common for the bay area.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
377 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Hotel Shattuck Plaza several times over the past 4 years of visiting our daughter at Cal. The service is always superb. Rooms are clean and fashionable. Dinner delicious (although my only complaint is the dining room is quite noisy). Location excellent for visiting the campus and the area. You can BART from SFO or park in the garage.
The doormen always friendly, desk clerks couldn't be more helpful.
It is new, clean and well kept.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear MEAK,

Thank you very much for the positive feedback. We are delighted that we have been part of your family’s CAL and Bay Area experience. We have made some improvements to the acoustics in FIVE over the past year and are always working to improve the overall experience of our guests. Many of which is learned through feedback such as yours.

Best regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a wonderful hotel! As we entered the lobby, we were warmly greeted and given excellent suggestions of where to eat for dinner that night. The rooms were beautifully appointed and the hotel was extremely well-situated (near the BART, UC Berkeley and great restaurants). We would definitely go out of our way to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Annie F:

We are grateful for your feedback and that we exceeded your expectations. It is humbling to know that you will go out of your way to stay with us and look forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My stay at the Hotel Shattuck was a great experience due to the wonderful staff! They were so helpful in making suggestions for transportation from the airport to the hotel and getting around Berkeley. The location made it very easy to access the public transportation to get around campus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear HoustonShutterbug:

We are grateful that to know that we made your visit a great experience. We do believe our team members make the difference and it is rewarding to know that they delivered genuine hospitality.

We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights while visiting UC Berkeley and the location can't be beat if you're looking for something in the heart of town. It's just a block or two from campus, adjacent to the BART station and walking distance to many great restaurants. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a large corner suite which was nice and spacious. My only complaint is the bathroom had no space for toiletries and there was a bit of street noise in the evenings (not so much that it disrupted sleep). There's no hotel parking but the concierge recommended a very nice and secure parking garage just a block away when i made the reservation. Otherwise, very clean, comfortable, spacious and very friendly and efficient staff. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want super quiet ask for rooms away from Shattuck Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear mintchip17:

Thank you for your positive review about your stay with us while visiting on a college tour. Our location is central to Berkeley and exploring the Bay Area and being at the door steps to Gourmet Ghetto is hard to resist.

We can’t wait to welcome you back to the Hotel Shattuck Plaza!

Kindest regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
1.6 mi away
Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#2 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#7 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shattuck Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Address: 2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Berkeley
#1 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shattuck Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shattuck Plaza reopened in June 2009 as the jewel of downtown Berkeley, California. After a multimillion dollar renovation which combined the building’s historic charm with modern technologies and amenities, this landmark, boutique hotel provides an upscale haven for business or leisure travelers. Located two blocks from the UC Berkeley campus and next to the Berkeley BART station, the hotel is perfectly positioned for guests visiting the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Shattuck Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shattuck Plaza Hotel
Shattuck Plaza Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shattuck Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.