We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the heart of Berkeley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Shattuck Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the heart of Berkeley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for a conference and graduation. It is convenient to the U.C. and other facilities; and a plethora of restaurants. The hotel was clean; and the staff friendly. We drove, but it is very convenient to the BART on Shattuck Ave. (Self-parking is at a facility across the street, and there is a charge for that -- this is common for the bay area.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    243
    62
    35
    17
See reviews for
163
172
92
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Hotel Shattuck Plaza several times over the past 4 years of visiting our daughter at Cal. The service is always superb. Rooms are clean and fashionable. Dinner delicious (although my only complaint is the dining room is quite noisy). Location excellent for visiting the campus and the area. You can BART from SFO or park in the garage.
The doormen always friendly, desk clerks couldn't be more helpful.
It is new, clean and well kept.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear MEAK,

Thank you very much for the positive feedback. We are delighted that we have been part of your family’s CAL and Bay Area experience. We have made some improvements to the acoustics in FIVE over the past year and are always working to improve the overall experience of our guests. Many of which is learned through feedback such as yours.

Best regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a wonderful hotel! As we entered the lobby, we were warmly greeted and given excellent suggestions of where to eat for dinner that night. The rooms were beautifully appointed and the hotel was extremely well-situated (near the BART, UC Berkeley and great restaurants). We would definitely go out of our way to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Annie F:

We are grateful for your feedback and that we exceeded your expectations. It is humbling to know that you will go out of your way to stay with us and look forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My stay at the Hotel Shattuck was a great experience due to the wonderful staff! They were so helpful in making suggestions for transportation from the airport to the hotel and getting around Berkeley. The location made it very easy to access the public transportation to get around campus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear HoustonShutterbug:

We are grateful that to know that we made your visit a great experience. We do believe our team members make the difference and it is rewarding to know that they delivered genuine hospitality.

We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights while visiting UC Berkeley and the location can't be beat if you're looking for something in the heart of town. It's just a block or two from campus, adjacent to the BART station and walking distance to many great restaurants. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a large corner suite which was nice and spacious. My only complaint is the bathroom had no space for toiletries and there was a bit of street noise in the evenings (not so much that it disrupted sleep). There's no hotel parking but the concierge recommended a very nice and secure parking garage just a block away when i made the reservation. Otherwise, very clean, comfortable, spacious and very friendly and efficient staff. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want super quiet ask for rooms away from Shattuck Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear mintchip17:

Thank you for your positive review about your stay with us while visiting on a college tour. Our location is central to Berkeley and exploring the Bay Area and being at the door steps to Gourmet Ghetto is hard to resist.

We can’t wait to welcome you back to the Hotel Shattuck Plaza!

Kindest regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The stay at the Hotel was just perfect. I was pleasantly surprised and highly recommend it. The staff from Josh, the Doorman when I arrived to Michael when we left were so helpful. Dining was excellent - normally I don't eat in a hotel, like to waunder around the town but the food was excellent and service was over the top in the professionalism of Guillermo. He was the consumate professional. Ramon was also excellent. Rooms were nice - loved the shower. Stayed on the 5th floor for quiet and the inside rooms at night have the sound of the hotel's heating and air conditioner equipment but that was the only downside. Will opt for an outside room next time.
Biggest plus is how absolutely friendly and cheery every single person we came in contact with was. I was very impressed.

Room Tip: Top floor and not over the roof area that has all the heating/air conditioning equipment. That is wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear PGEureka:

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and are humbled that you named so many of our team that made your experience truly remarkable. We have shared your review with them and made sure that they have been recognized for creating such a compelling experience during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Shattuck Plaza!

Kindest regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwest Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My son and I stayed in this hotel on our college tour. We were looking at UC- Berkeley. This hotel was perfect as it was a block from the BART station and about 2 blocks from UC- Berkeley. The hotel is beautiful and very comfortable. The only thing I did not appreciate is that an extra $100 that was tacked on the bill for incidentals that was not mentioned at check in. Only after I asked about it at check out was this explained. I would have appreciated if this had been mentioned. Otherwise was very satisfied with stay.

Room Tip: Higher is better as there is a lot of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear mjcrooksmomof3:

Thank for sharing on Trip Advisor about your experience and that our location worked for your college tour. Feedback like yours helps us to know what we get right and what we can work on.

We hope to see you again when travels bring you back to the Bay Area!

Kindest regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Shattuck Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Address: 2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shattuck Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shattuck Plaza reopened in June 2009 as the jewel of downtown Berkeley, California. After a multimillion dollar renovation which combined the building’s historic charm with modern technologies and amenities, this landmark, boutique hotel provides an upscale haven for business or leisure travelers. Located two blocks from the UC Berkeley campus and next to the Berkeley BART station, the hotel is perfectly positioned for guests visiting the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Shattuck Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shattuck Plaza Hotel
Shattuck Plaza Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shattuck Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.