We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in Downtown Berkeley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Shattuck Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
Beverly Hills, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great Location in Downtown Berkeley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights while visiting UC Berkeley and the location can't be beat if you're looking for something in the heart of town. It's just a block or two from campus, adjacent to the BART station and walking distance to many great restaurants. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a large corner suite which was nice and spacious. My only complaint is the bathroom had no space for toiletries and there was a bit of street noise in the evenings (not so much that it disrupted sleep). There's no hotel parking but the concierge recommended a very nice and secure parking garage just a block away when i made the reservation. Otherwise, very clean, comfortable, spacious and very friendly and efficient staff. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want super quiet ask for rooms away from Shattuck Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear mintchip17:

Thank you for your positive review about your stay with us while visiting on a college tour. Our location is central to Berkeley and exploring the Bay Area and being at the door steps to Gourmet Ghetto is hard to resist.

We can’t wait to welcome you back to the Hotel Shattuck Plaza!

Kindest regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    239
    59
    35
    17
See reviews for
160
170
90
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The stay at the Hotel was just perfect. I was pleasantly surprised and highly recommend it. The staff from Josh, the Doorman when I arrived to Michael when we left were so helpful. Dining was excellent - normally I don't eat in a hotel, like to waunder around the town but the food was excellent and service was over the top in the professionalism of Guillermo. He was the consumate professional. Ramon was also excellent. Rooms were nice - loved the shower. Stayed on the 5th floor for quiet and the inside rooms at night have the sound of the hotel's heating and air conditioner equipment but that was the only downside. Will opt for an outside room next time.
Biggest plus is how absolutely friendly and cheery every single person we came in contact with was. I was very impressed.

Room Tip: Top floor and not over the roof area that has all the heating/air conditioning equipment. That is wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear PGEureka:

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and are humbled that you named so many of our team that made your experience truly remarkable. We have shared your review with them and made sure that they have been recognized for creating such a compelling experience during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Shattuck Plaza!

Kindest regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwest Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My son and I stayed in this hotel on our college tour. We were looking at UC- Berkeley. This hotel was perfect as it was a block from the BART station and about 2 blocks from UC- Berkeley. The hotel is beautiful and very comfortable. The only thing I did not appreciate is that an extra $100 that was tacked on the bill for incidentals that was not mentioned at check in. Only after I asked about it at check out was this explained. I would have appreciated if this had been mentioned. Otherwise was very satisfied with stay.

Room Tip: Higher is better as there is a lot of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear mjcrooksmomof3:

Thank for sharing on Trip Advisor about your experience and that our location worked for your college tour. Feedback like yours helps us to know what we get right and what we can work on.

We hope to see you again when travels bring you back to the Bay Area!

Kindest regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I think the best of many great things was that every person involved was interested and helpful, tremendous customer service attitude! Wish all hotels were like this! Best I have been to in a long time! More than exceeded my expectations!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Husto,

Thank you for making us your first review! We are honored to have created such a compelling experience for you and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
2086 Allston Way | Berkeley, CA 94704
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The rooms were mostly clean and well appointed and the location is great, but there were so many problems. First, they gave me a $15 discount on my room. I thought it was because I was local, but later realized they anticipated problems with my room. First, the heat/air did not work. The power turned on but none of the buttons worked. Same with the bathroom - the light buttons did not work correctly.

I found a hair on my bed cover. There were HUGE A/C/heating units directly outside of my windows. The kicker was that there were water pipes for the whole floor running through my walls, so whenever anyone used the water, it sounded like a freight train ran through the room - every ten minutes ALL NIGHT LONG. To top it off, I could hear every word my neighbors said, and every door shut on the floor. I literally got 3 hours sleep.

When I complained, they barely apologized and didn't offer to let me speak to a manager or offer any sort of recompense. They acted like the water pipes were news to them, yet multiple people complain about it on this site (wish I'd read up on the place first). Now I know why I got $15 off - they had problems with that room. I don't need $15 - I needed a safe and peaceful place to sleep after having one of the worst days of my life. That room should have been free. instead I was told that 'next time' would be better. What next time? I live locally, and need a place to refer friends to. I also need a hotel to stay at for a week while my home is remodeled. It won't be here.

The final straw was that it was Easter Sunday, and they offered a brunch menu that was advertised in each room's hotel guide. But when I went to the restaurant (which only had 3 tables dining), I was told that the ENTIRE restaurant was closed ALL DAY. so basically I didn't even have anywhere to eat, and much of this hotel's reputation is supposed to be the restaurant. When I checked in the night before, it was full of 20-30'somethings partying and picking each other up.

I doubt management will reply to me directly, but if they would like to offer recompense, my phone number is in the system - room #249 on 3/30/2013.

Room Tip: DO NOT rent room #249. Also, many of the rooms on the 2nd floor get walked past by everyone using th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Flatlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Hotel Shattuck was renovated not too long ago after a fire, and it shows: it is polished and modern. However, the lobby is a little cramped, as is the reception desk. This is not such a big problem except during the busy hours, when you'll be rubbing shoulders waiting on line to check in, or fighting for a table/seat to hang out with your guests. But this is a small drawback to be in a wonderful town. Shattuck's main competition is Durant, which beats it in the lobby spaciousness area. But I think in terms of room quality, Shattuck is the clear winner.

The room I had was very comfortable, and I could sleep well (when I wasn't working). The room lights required the room keycard to operate. This could help you keep track of the keycard's whereabout. There wasn't a good place for the luggage rack in my room. There was a walk-in closet, but for some reason they decided to put a dresser in there, so there was no space for the rack. I especially liked the bathroom. The sink bowl was elevated, which was just at the right height and prevents splashing. I liked the soap with the big hole in the middle (supposed to be environmentally sound, as short-term hotel guests never work down to the "core" of the soap.) The bathtub was new and clean. The big mirrors helped me look my best. The toilet was quiet.

My room faced the street (Shattuck), and the noise could be a problem for those who want to go to bed early. This also meant convenience -- restaurants and stores (including a Walgreen's across the street) were nearby. During my stay there was some sort of event with a lot of high schoolers, and so the hotel was noisy for that reason. It was both cute and sad to see the tuxes and prom dresses on teenage kids, but I digress.

The hotel was off a busy street, and so the elevators were keycard-activated to keep out the riffraffs that populate the streets of Berkeley. So don't forget your keycard!

The printing setup in the hotel was kind of a pain, but the staff was very helpful. At the end the reception desk printed my business documents for me on their printer. Kudos!

The fitness room is small. It has a few treadmills and a range of dumbbells.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Flatlander2011,

Thank you for your detailed review of your stay in November of last year. We love feedback as it tells us what guests enjoy about their stay and where we can improve. We enjoy our central location as you mentioned transportation and diversity of great cuisine is all walk able. We now have partnership with the YMCA across from the hotel and guests can purchase a day pass for $10. I am interested in your printing situation and hope you can email me about some specific details.

The only thing we are confused about is the mention of a fire. The hotel was distressed and needed a renovation which is why we focused on the quality of the renovation and trying to provide a comfortable and welcoming experience.

Thank you again for your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
2086 Allston Way | Berkeley, CA 94704
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Hotel Shattuck Plaza is a gem of a hotel. It is in a renovated building that has old-school appeal and feel.

The lobby is small, you check in via 2 stands. To the right side sits a Michelin rated restaurant which is quite good and is complimented with excellent service.

Up the small elevator and you are deposited into a corridor of vibrant colors that are rarely found in hotels. The palette is lively and lends to a good "feel" of the property. The room I had was small though very well maintained and decorated. It included a king bed, a smaller wall-mounted flat screen TV, a clock radio with an iPod dock, and an over-sized bathroom with marble floors and a large shower stall. Despite the size of the bathroom counter space for your toiletry kit, etc, is limited and forced me to use the toilet tank as a shelf.

The bed was quite comfortable and the heating/cooling system worked well (it is activated by your room key BTW). There is no room safe so keep that in mind if you use hotel room safes to store valuables.

There is no parking at the hotel so you are relegated to street parking. A parking garage is across and down a bit from the hotel but it is a separately-owned business and it is not 24/7. A number of restaurants are located within walking distance of the hotel (you will see some of the seedier side of Berkeley if you walk the neighborhood) and Cal is just a few blocks north of the property so location-wise it is spot on. Noise filters into the room easily so you'll hear police sirens and other street sounds, and on my particular Sunday morning at 8AM, a generator being used by someone out front.

Overall - Hotel Shattuck Plaza is a nice property marred by a lack of parking and smaller rooms. However, it is nicely decorated and maintained so the negatives hardly play a factor in my decision to return during my next trip to Berkeley.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear BlueSpinnaker,

We appreciate you sharing about your experience while a guest at the Hotel Shattuck Plaza. We are installing safes alter this year and continue to try and find a solution to parking that won’t cost you $40-$60 like in SF.

We look forward to your next stay and until then safe travels.

Kindest regards.

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Shattuck Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Address: 2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Berkeley
#1 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shattuck Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shattuck Plaza reopened in June 2009 as the jewel of downtown Berkeley, California. After a multimillion dollar renovation which combined the building’s historic charm with modern technologies and amenities, this landmark, boutique hotel provides an upscale haven for business or leisure travelers. Located two blocks from the UC Berkeley campus and next to the Berkeley BART station, the hotel is perfectly positioned for guests visiting the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Shattuck Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shattuck Plaza Hotel
Shattuck Plaza Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shattuck Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.