We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sleep, easy access to UC Berkeley and SF” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Shattuck Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent sleep, easy access to UC Berkeley and SF”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Shattuck Plaza on Thursday and Friday nights and appreciated the convenient proximity to the BART station and UC Berkeley (a 20-minute walk to North Central campus). We parked in the garage across the street at a reasonable cost of $30 for 48 hours. Our room, like the hotel lobby, was thoughtfully-designed and immaculate. The king bed was very comfortable, and though we were on the third floor adjacent to the HVAC units, we experienced no issues with street or mechanical noise. The room's working/sitting area was on the small side, perfect for one person, but cramped for two people with laptops. The staff were neither super friendly nor particularly visible, but they were accomodating with our few requests (e.g. a late checkout). In summary, we slept well, worked adequately in somewhat tight quarters, and easily commuted to meetings in San Francisco and at UC Berkeley. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Sara S.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback. We value all feedback and incorporate it into our culture and operations. It is also good to know we were convenient to your appointments at both UC Berkeley and San Francisco.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
2086 Allston Way | Berkeley, CA 94704
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    243
    62
    35
    17
See reviews for
163
172
92
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here for three nights for a conference at the university. Was mostly very happy with the hotel. I love old hotels and this one has a beautifully restored exterior that gives you an idea of what it looked like in the 1930s. This was my first time in BErkeley and I loved the art deco architecture downtown and the well-preserved buildings..if you have time check the BErkely Public Library as well, also a gorgeous deco building.
When you're in the lobby of the hotel, check out the fascinating original menus and newspaper clippings from the hotel's early days that are on the wall above the computers that are to the left of the check-in desk.
The hotel location is great, right near the bart station, making it easy to get to and from San Francisco. I wanted to spend more time in SF than in Berkeley when I had spare time and was pleasantly surprised how easy it was to get to the downtown SF area from Berekely..a quick trip on the bart and then transfer to muni line at the Embarcadero stop. Coming back at night can take a bit longer because you have to transfer in Oakland Bart rather than getting a direct train to berkeley from downtown.
I was very happy with the hotel itself. The interior has been given a contemporary modern deign look rather than trying to make it look as it might have looked in the 1930s (which I would have preferred), but the rooms have been smartly done.
Even though my room was very small, things were organized well. I felt glad that my room was not above the street because I was concerned it might be noisy if it had been. I looked onto the back of a different wing of the hotel and could see across to the BErkeley public library, so I didn't have to worry about street noise.
The dark blue carpets in the halls were a slightly odd choice, because I noticed they tended to show every bit of dirt and lint...when I would get off the elevator on my floor, the carpets outside the elevator always looked like they needed to be vacuumed, with lots of white lint and dust.
There are many restaurants in short walking distance from the hotel. We had a nice breakfast at Venus down the street. And try the Italian gelato shop also nearby, run by a guy from Italy, with some unusual and interesting flavours, like lavender blueberry.
The main thing I didn't like about the hotel was how extremely noisy the lobby always was..mainly because the lobby is really just a tiny little section directly across from the bar/restaurant, which is not closed off from the lobby in any way..So when I first walked in to the hotel I thought I had come in to the restaurant by mistake and that there must be a different door for the hotel lobby...But the check-in desk is actually just a tiny desk over to the left when you come in..Because there is a big, long bar right as you walk in, and the floors and walls are all hard surfaces, it is extremely noisy when people are there having drinks etc after work..
I prefer a quiet, relaxing hotel lobby when I'm coming and going , so did not enjoy this at all..I felt sorry for the desk clerks having to work in all that noise all the time. I wish the hotel designers had found a way to separate the lobby from the restaurant to create a quieter space, but it's a small space, so that would have been difficult, I guess.
The workout room is very small, so I didn't bother, but the Berkeley YMCA is just down the street about a block, so I went there to exercise each day. I happen to be a Y member so was able to use their gym with a $5 charge. Apparently the hotel can also give you a day pass to the Y..not sure if there is a charge for this, but the Y has great facilities.
So overall, I would definitely stay at this hotel again for the location and convenience of being so close to the Bart station. Just be prepared for a very noisy lobby, especially at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Steve1,

We appreciated your review as your feedback was rich with specifics and provides us with greater insight into our design and operations. While we enjoy a vibrant and energized lobby/bar we understand that is not always appreciated by all guests and we do have plans to make those enhancements middle of this year. Your comments about our convenience to BART and some of our local purveyors like Almare Gelato and downtown Berkeley has become a marketplace for great variety of cuisines to experience and ranges from fast and convenient to fine/casual. We expect to have worked out a partnership with the YMCA across the street and while in our test phase it is complimentary, we do expect that a small fee for the day use pass will begin in April. But as you attested, it is a magnificent YMCA.

Thank you again for the feedback and w look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next stay.

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
2086 Allston Way | Berkeley, CA 94704
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We love this hotel. The restaurant itself is enough of a draw; its some of the best food we have had period. It makes other hotel restaurants look like mediocre fast food. The staff is always welcoming and pleasant. The rooms are always well appointed and clean. This hotels is across from the BART station and within walking distance to many other great restaurants as well as the UC Berkeley campus. We come here to visit our son at CAL. The first thing we do is have dinner at the restaurant Five. It is something we all look forward too. The wait staff is great.

Room Tip: Ak for an upper floor. Less street noise and a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Eekmama,

Thank you for your recent review and we are delighted to have consistently met or exceeded your expectations. Chef Banks and the team at FIVE was honored you spoke so favorably to your dining experience.

We look forward to your next visit and trust that you will once again be delighted by the seasonally changing menu at FIVE.

Best,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
2086 Allston Way | Berkeley, CA 94704
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed at the Shattuck for one night for a visit to UC Berkeley with my teenage son. We had a nice room with 2 double beds, a desk and arm chair, and a nice bathroom. The staff were welcoming and our room was clean and comfortable, with a warm but modern look. I used the workout room, which is pretty small and has just two treadmills, an elliptical machine, and free weights with a single bench. But considering that's all I really use, it was great! There were a bunch of casual restaurants nearby, a Starbuck's on the same block, two pharmacies in walking distance, and a parking garage right across the street. Though our room was right on Shattuck on the second floor, street noise wasn't really noticeable. We ate breakfast in the morning at the restaurant--delicious omelettes! I would definitely come back here if I were to stay in Berkeley, again. It was cozy and comfortable and inviting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear KristiS,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay while a guest in Berkeley at the Hotel Shattuck Plaza. It is great that we have so many conveniences in our immediate area. Recently we have entered into a pilot program with the YMCA (one of the best in the Bay Area) across the street for guests to use their facilities with a day pass.

We love that you have added to the picture gallery and I have made sure to pass on your appreciating for the omelettes. The morning culinary team was thrilled to be mentioned!

Thank you for your time to share about your stay and we look forward to seeing you again!

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
2086 Allston Way | Berkeley, CA 94704
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westchester
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We've stayed at the Shattuck Plaza before, and were happy to go back. Service, as before, was excellent, and attitude towards guests remains wonderful. We did ask for a room change because the first room was slightly small, but the replacement was made quickly and without fuss. The restaurant was completely satisfying. We'll go back when we're in Berkeley again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear deenaclaire,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are thrilled to have delivered you another satisfying stay. Creating an experience where our guests feel welcomed, comfortable, and taken care of is our primary goal and to know that we have consistently created this for you provides us with valuable insight.

We wish you safe travels and look forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
2086 Allston Way | Berkeley, CA 94704
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I was pleased by the location, which was especially perfect on the day I arrived, as it's right next to the BART. (I had to take a car service to SFO on Sunday morning, as I'd forgotten that BART doesn't wake up early on Sundays.) Downtown Berkeley isn't the most exciting Bay Area neighbourhood, but there's good Cal-Mex and good coffee in the neighbourhood, and there was very good gelato in the next block.

The biggest annoyance was that the restaurant is super-popular, and so the first floor is very noisy from 5:00 on, with large crowds of obnoxious people in suits blocking the exits and the like. It was more of a pain than I expected.

The other annoyance is that the rooms really are postage-stamp-sized, which was a bit of a surprise both considering the not-cheap prices and that Berkeley is not Manhattan. They had good layout, but if I'd been travelling with another person I'd probably have been really annoyed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Melted Snowball,

Thank you for your recent review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Berkeley does have much more to offer and if your travels bring you back, we welcome the opportunity to share some of our favorite places and adventures. Almare Gelato is one of our faves and they provide to us all of our selections sorbets and gelatos and coordinate with our Chef for some of our custom flavors. I do regret that during your stay FIVE was busy and perhaps there was a large group a the hotel as generally access to FIVE is not such a challenges as described.

I can also presume by your room description that you might have been in one of our Business class rooms. These are the smallest of our rooms however for $20 more our deluxe rooms have a noticeable space difference. We still find that our room rates are considerably less than SF and with our proximity to BART make us a serious alternative when travelling to the Bay Area.

All the best to you in your travels and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
2086 Allston Way | Berkeley, CA 94704
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpe
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Location is good, which is right near the BART station. The room is relatively large and clean. The hotel should have offered complimentary drinking water or at least a fridge with mini bar in the room.
The lobby/bar where people come here for a drink on Friday is a bit crowded and noisy.

Room Tip: Choose high floor room facing west if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Tyst,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel Shattuck Plaza and taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all feedback as it helps us understand what we are doing well and what we can do differently. We look forward to your next visit.

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza, home to FIVE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Shattuck Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Address: 2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shattuck Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shattuck Plaza reopened in June 2009 as the jewel of downtown Berkeley, California. After a multimillion dollar renovation which combined the building’s historic charm with modern technologies and amenities, this landmark, boutique hotel provides an upscale haven for business or leisure travelers. Located two blocks from the UC Berkeley campus and next to the Berkeley BART station, the hotel is perfectly positioned for guests visiting the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Shattuck Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shattuck Plaza Hotel
Shattuck Plaza Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shattuck Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.