We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Berkeley downtown location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Shattuck Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Berkeley downtown location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Hotel is well situated to see downtown Berkeley. Staff very spirited and helpful. Curbside assistance was well appreciated. Room are well appointed without any frills. Didn't use the restaurant but it was well occupied in the evening.

Room Tip: Had a room on the back side of the hotel and the only down side was the rumble of the AC unit on top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Plainview, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Was there for five days, the staff was wonderful. The first night I was in room 500, which was by the elevator. The gentelman at the desk warned it was by the elevator, but was only room available. While the elevator was noisy, worse was the sound of running water( must have plumbing running near by), first thing in the morning the hotel was able to move me and the rest of the trip was great. The rooms are very clean which is most important to me and the hotel is in a great locaton. Well worth the cost.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spoozing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Shattuck Plaza was fine and a fairvalue for the rate we paid as we visited our son who is a grad student at Cal Berkeley. We requested a room with a bay view and were accomodated. We had a nice view of the Golden Gate Bridge. the hotel was refurbished a few years ago and is immaculately clean. The room was nicely done but very small. There was little storage space for clothing and the bathroom fit only one of us at a time. The problem in Berkeley is that there are very limited choices, especially in the city near the university. My guess is that the Shattuck Plazqa is probablt the best option, especially if you don't have a car as the BART staion is right outside. I suspect we will stay here again when we visit Berkeley again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed for just over a week with an adjoining room for our three kids and have a lot of great things to say. Very welcoming and attentive staff, clean, comfortable rooms, well decorated and comfortable public spaces. Good new equipment in the exercise room (although a bathroom available during exercise would be nice). The restaurant food was very good and the staff friendly and flexible with the kids' likes and dislikes. Like everyone else, we found the street noise more than we woud like and some better soundproofing on the windows would do a lot of good. Great location next to BART, shops, restaurants, movie theaters, campus, etc. We used the garage across the street; totally fine for our needs although it would be great if the hotel had some kind of deal with the garage so we could go in and out without starting a new fee session each time. All in all, a very welcoming and pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want to ensure quiet be specific with staff and request a room away from the street, the gym...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed here for a few days before Christmas while visiting my daughter. It is conveniently located near the Downtown Berkeley BART station in a beautiful old building downtown. The first room I stayed in was very small, but what it lacked in size it made up for in charm. It was a corner room, and I had windows on two separate walls, which made it seem larger. On my last night there I needed a larger room. This room was facing Shattuck, and unfortunately not as quiet as the first room. Every evening in the lobby there were fresh cookies and hot spiced cider. All in all, it was a very nice place to stay during the holidays.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The location is great and there aren't many other options so that's its big plus. It seems to be trying to look like a luxury hotel; I’ve heard it used to be not-so-good and was recently renovated. Unfortunately, the money spent on bells and whistles (e.g. input plugs for the TV built into the wall) would have been better spent on soundproof glass so that one could sleep past 6:30 in the morning, when I wrote most of this review. Most of the rooms face Shattuck Ave, so there's not much chance of escaping the road noise that starts early in the morning. And while the walls are solid, thick, and block all sound, the doors between rooms are extremely thin, meaning that if your neighbor is watching hyperactive Japanese cartoons early in the morning, you'll hear them too.

Many of the details seem to have been done without anybody actually seeing how they work when somebody sleeps in the room. For example, the clock radio is quite nice with an iPod dock. But it also has such an incredibly bright backlight on the clock that it lights up the whole room and you have to put something in front of it in order to sleep on that side of the bed. I had to look up the manual on the internet just to figure out how to set the time (I guess the makers figure the power will never go out?) and dim the light. Likewise, they proudly point out that they have down comforters and high-quality sheets. Except that in between the two is a heavy, coarsely-knitted blanket with a high-relief honeycomb pattern. Did no one sleep under it and notice, "hey, this feels like a bunch of overweight chickens standing all over my body"?

The beds are short-sheeted as standard; this seems to be common in most hotels, and is something I find baffling. It means the housekeepers put a lot of effort into something which I then have to put a lot of effort into to undo. Am I unusual in wanting my sheet, blanket, and comforter to be the same length? Do most people out there bring the sheet up over their head but the comforter only up to their waist?

Finally, they say they pride themselves on service. However, when I went down and pointed out shortly after checking in that several of the lights in my room didn't work, they claimed that it was due to a power outage in the building and that the backup generator wasn’t capable of running everything. I'll take their word that that was true (the internet was down at the time), but when I pointed out that generators seemed to be capable of powering every single other light in the building except for these small ones above the bed, and that these seemed to have been partly pulled out and hanging loose, they replied "oh no, that's how it's supposed to be; and those lights are on a special system, so they're still not on." Of course, in the morning and for the next three days, the internet was back up, and unsurprisingly the lights still didn’t work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel is reasonably priced, well maintained, and right next to the downtown Berkeley BART station. A short BART ride takes you into SF. There are a lot of restaurants, coffee shops and bakeries up and down Stattuck and University Ave. U.C. Berkeley is only a block away. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and new. This is my second stay and I would highly recommend it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank pml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
0.7 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 638 reviews
1.6 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#3 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.8 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#8 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shattuck Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Address: 2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Berkeley
#1 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shattuck Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shattuck Plaza reopened in June 2009 as the jewel of downtown Berkeley, California. After a multimillion dollar renovation which combined the building’s historic charm with modern technologies and amenities, this landmark, boutique hotel provides an upscale haven for business or leisure travelers. Located two blocks from the UC Berkeley campus and next to the Berkeley BART station, the hotel is perfectly positioned for guests visiting the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Shattuck Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shattuck Plaza Hotel
Shattuck Plaza Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing