We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in a city with very few options” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Shattuck Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
Oxnard, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in a city with very few options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Shattuck Plaza was fine and a fairvalue for the rate we paid as we visited our son who is a grad student at Cal Berkeley. We requested a room with a bay view and were accomodated. We had a nice view of the Golden Gate Bridge. the hotel was refurbished a few years ago and is immaculately clean. The room was nicely done but very small. There was little storage space for clothing and the bathroom fit only one of us at a time. The problem in Berkeley is that there are very limited choices, especially in the city near the university. My guess is that the Shattuck Plazqa is probablt the best option, especially if you don't have a car as the BART staion is right outside. I suspect we will stay here again when we visit Berkeley again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    239
    59
    35
    17
See reviews for
160
170
90
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed for just over a week with an adjoining room for our three kids and have a lot of great things to say. Very welcoming and attentive staff, clean, comfortable rooms, well decorated and comfortable public spaces. Good new equipment in the exercise room (although a bathroom available during exercise would be nice). The restaurant food was very good and the staff friendly and flexible with the kids' likes and dislikes. Like everyone else, we found the street noise more than we woud like and some better soundproofing on the windows would do a lot of good. Great location next to BART, shops, restaurants, movie theaters, campus, etc. We used the garage across the street; totally fine for our needs although it would be great if the hotel had some kind of deal with the garage so we could go in and out without starting a new fee session each time. All in all, a very welcoming and pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want to ensure quiet be specific with staff and request a room away from the street, the gym...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed here for a few days before Christmas while visiting my daughter. It is conveniently located near the Downtown Berkeley BART station in a beautiful old building downtown. The first room I stayed in was very small, but what it lacked in size it made up for in charm. It was a corner room, and I had windows on two separate walls, which made it seem larger. On my last night there I needed a larger room. This room was facing Shattuck, and unfortunately not as quiet as the first room. Every evening in the lobby there were fresh cookies and hot spiced cider. All in all, it was a very nice place to stay during the holidays.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The location is great and there aren't many other options so that's its big plus. It seems to be trying to look like a luxury hotel; I’ve heard it used to be not-so-good and was recently renovated. Unfortunately, the money spent on bells and whistles (e.g. input plugs for the TV built into the wall) would have been better spent on soundproof glass so that one could sleep past 6:30 in the morning, when I wrote most of this review. Most of the rooms face Shattuck Ave, so there's not much chance of escaping the road noise that starts early in the morning. And while the walls are solid, thick, and block all sound, the doors between rooms are extremely thin, meaning that if your neighbor is watching hyperactive Japanese cartoons early in the morning, you'll hear them too.

Many of the details seem to have been done without anybody actually seeing how they work when somebody sleeps in the room. For example, the clock radio is quite nice with an iPod dock. But it also has such an incredibly bright backlight on the clock that it lights up the whole room and you have to put something in front of it in order to sleep on that side of the bed. I had to look up the manual on the internet just to figure out how to set the time (I guess the makers figure the power will never go out?) and dim the light. Likewise, they proudly point out that they have down comforters and high-quality sheets. Except that in between the two is a heavy, coarsely-knitted blanket with a high-relief honeycomb pattern. Did no one sleep under it and notice, "hey, this feels like a bunch of overweight chickens standing all over my body"?

The beds are short-sheeted as standard; this seems to be common in most hotels, and is something I find baffling. It means the housekeepers put a lot of effort into something which I then have to put a lot of effort into to undo. Am I unusual in wanting my sheet, blanket, and comforter to be the same length? Do most people out there bring the sheet up over their head but the comforter only up to their waist?

Finally, they say they pride themselves on service. However, when I went down and pointed out shortly after checking in that several of the lights in my room didn't work, they claimed that it was due to a power outage in the building and that the backup generator wasn’t capable of running everything. I'll take their word that that was true (the internet was down at the time), but when I pointed out that generators seemed to be capable of powering every single other light in the building except for these small ones above the bed, and that these seemed to have been partly pulled out and hanging loose, they replied "oh no, that's how it's supposed to be; and those lights are on a special system, so they're still not on." Of course, in the morning and for the next three days, the internet was back up, and unsurprisingly the lights still didn’t work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel is reasonably priced, well maintained, and right next to the downtown Berkeley BART station. A short BART ride takes you into SF. There are a lot of restaurants, coffee shops and bakeries up and down Stattuck and University Ave. U.C. Berkeley is only a block away. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and new. This is my second stay and I would highly recommend it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This was my first trip to Berkeley and the Hotel Shattuck Plaza came very highly recommended. I had a great corner room with 2 flat screen TVs on the 5th floor. Although the view in one direction wasn't great I could see San Francisco from the other. The heater was located in the center of the vestibule so certain parts of the room didn't warm up as easily and the bathroom floor was always cold. A keurig machine was in the room as well as 2 bottles of water so i was a happy camper. Thankfully, there was also a walgreens across the street so I could buy some mouthwash, I'm sure my client was also thankful. The bed was very comfortable and there was ample space for my toiletries next to the sink and on the shelf above (pet peeve). The staff seemed a bit disinterested during check-in and check-out but no big whoop. I also have to say that breakfast at FIVE was fantastic for a hotel restaurant. The staff took my order promptly, kept the coffee flowing and food was delivered quickly. They also had by far some of the best breakfast potatoes I have had in a long time. Will definitely return on my next visit to the area!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

No room to open a suitcase, no closet, no drawers or shelves except two tiny drawers at floor level in a very small wardrobe. Too dark to read with every light on. Reception desk unstaffed at 6 pm, no sign, no apology when they came back 10 min later. Clean, modern bathroom. I do like boutique hotels, but this was devoid of both charm and comfort.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Weary W,

Thank you for your feedback. We do regret that your accommodations did not meet your expectations. Only a few of our rooms have this configuration and I welcome the opportunity to speak with you further so we can update your reservation information to make sure you receive a different room.

Kindest regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
2086 Allston Way | Berkeley, CA 94704
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Shattuck Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Address: 2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Berkeley
#1 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shattuck Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shattuck Plaza reopened in June 2009 as the jewel of downtown Berkeley, California. After a multimillion dollar renovation which combined the building’s historic charm with modern technologies and amenities, this landmark, boutique hotel provides an upscale haven for business or leisure travelers. Located two blocks from the UC Berkeley campus and next to the Berkeley BART station, the hotel is perfectly positioned for guests visiting the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Shattuck Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shattuck Plaza Hotel
Shattuck Plaza Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shattuck Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.