We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Management did nothing about disruptive guests.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Shattuck Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
Irivine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Management did nothing about disruptive guests.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stood there 2 nights, the first night was ok. But from Saturday to Sunday was absolutely terrible. No one was able to sleep on the 5th floor or on the 3rd floor. Young people screaming, yelling, and having fights in the hallways. More than 10 people in some rooms, teenages riding the elevator up and down all night long. This went on from 9pm till about 4am. Hotel management did absolutely nothing to better the sitiation, they kept making noise and knocking on other guests doors all night long. Extremely noisy with wild paties in the rooms. It is extremely unfortunate that hotel management did nothing to better the situation. Other guests were all very upset to the point where many were considering calling the police because it was out of hand. The hotel is a very nice hotel with very clean comfortable rooms and the resturant is also very nice, but I strongly suggest you ask if there are going to be any frat parties or other parties of any kind the nights you are thinking of staying there, because the hotel does not ask to leave the noisy guests at the risk of losing the quiet guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Paula P.

We regret that you were inconvenienced during one night of your stay by other guests. We agree that this behavior is unacceptable and should not have been allowed to continue. Since this weekend we have retrained all our team in how to respond to such disturbances. I can assure you that what you experienced is not typical at the Hotel Shattuck Plaza and was a surprise to us as well. All the same, please do not hesitate to contact me so that we can discuss your stay further.

Kindest regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
2086 Allston Way | Berkeley, CA 94704
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    243
    62
    35
    17
See reviews for
163
173
92
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed one night at the Shattuck and had a great time. It is located in downtown Berkeley, right next to the BART station.The staff was nice and friendly, and the room was clean ans quite spacious. We would've definitely stayed a few more nights there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed 4 nights for a conference at UCB... Both my husband and I had attended Cal, but did not even realize this hotel was here before! The location is so easy next to the BART station in downtown Berkeley (which of course comes with some homeless folks on Shattuck, but they are everywhere in Berkeley so...) The room was pretty good sized, not huge but not tiny either. The bar and restaurant are really good (pricey, but delicious). Hubby loved the various beers on tap (especially the dark ones), and I had a sample of a bunch of drinks from their specialty menu (yum). Ate breakfast at the hotel every day (ok, spent a lot here, but convenience and friendly staff made it easy for us and our 4 year old daughter). We really enjoyed our stay! Only major drawback is there is no hotel valet or parking, we had to park in a lot (which had strange pricing policies, sometimes for overnight we paid $5, sometimes $7.50, sometimes $12). We faced Shattuck, so the noise level was not too bad except for some emergency vehicle sirens once in a while or some drumming late Friday night, but still not too loud with the windows and drapes shut.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
del mar ca
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Shattuck Plaza for a second time in order to attend an event at the university. The previous stay was two years ago. This time, the room was not as well-tended as before. The carpet was lumpy, creating a tripping hazard. It should be re-stretched. The bathroom had virtually no counter space, yet there was an entirely unused and rather large area in the bathroom that could have been used to install some shelves or a small vanity to accommodate travelers. Also, a hallway door opposite our room's door had a plaque (even in Braille) indicating that it was a stairway down. In fact, when we opened it to descend to the lobby, we discovered that the stairway only went to higher floors! What a savety hazard To the hotel's potential credit, it sent us a questionnaire asking us to provide comments regarding our stay. However, we did so right away, particularly emphasizing the hazards of carpet and stairway sign, as well as service, etc. We received no comment or reply. The reception staff were pleasant enough, but didn't seem as sincerely interested in being helpful as before.

We also ate at the hotel restaurant, FIVE, which is generally highly acclaimed. Afternoon bar food and service were just fine. Dinner for four was less so. It was a chore to get service to order food and wine. Our main server was best at serving up some attitude. Nobody checked re food preparation once put on the table, when we could have reported that some shrimp were undercooked while others were overlooked. There seemed to be a lack of training and a clear idea of efficiency.

All in all, this Shattuck Plaza experience was a bit disappointing as to room, service and dining. That's a shame because the location is great, and because our previous experience tells that all could be well again. However, attention to detail and training have fallen off. We'll have to rethink our hotel choice for our next Berkeley visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Delmarduo,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience while a guest at the Hotel Shattuck Plaza. I apologize that I had not responded personally via email sooner as I had earlier today. We value feedback like yours as it is one way we learn what we are doing well and where we have opportunity to improve. Rest assured that since receiving your survey that we have been working on addressing the issues. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that you will consider the Hotel Shattuck Plaza when you return to the Bay Area.

Kindest regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed in the Hotel Shattuck Plaza for a week in September, and were very glad we chose this hotel (mostly because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor). The room was clean and had all the amenities we could ask for, including coffee machine, free wi-fi and a free bottle of water every day (a very nice touch!). Anything we asked for was delivered very promptly (iron & ironing board, extra blanket) and with a smile. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom has the kind of light that goes on automatically when you enter the room, which is also a nice feature to have at night! The only problem was some noise from the street (no fault of the hotel), but it didn't bother us that much.
We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant twice and enjoyed it both times: good food and excellent service. There are also many many good restaurants in the center of Berkeley within walking distance of the hotel, and we were also able to walk to the "Gourmet Ghetto" in North Berkeley (about 20-30 minutes walking).
Also within walking distance of the hotel is the Berkeley Repertory Theater, where we saw an interesting play, and of course the U. of Cal campus which is 2 blocks away.
All in all we would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good place to stay in Berkeley.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I recently stayed in the Shattuck on business, and have to say I was very satisfied. From the moment I booked, until I checked out, everything was perfect, with one small exception. Will get back to that.

The people at the front desk were very friendly, and helped me out with all questions I had during my stay. A bit "layed-back", but that is possibly the liberal Berkeley charm? I have to commend the guys at the bar; very professional, knowledgeable and entertaining. If you're not a guest of the hotel, be sure to stop by for a drink when in town. Rooms are great, if a bit on the small side, and the beds/pillows were just wonderful. I have never slept so well in a hotel, even being jet-lagged from my flight from Europe. The room was spotless too! Be sure to request a quiet room facing the back of the hotel, or on the top (5th) floor.

Only downside; inadequate water pressure in the shower, something my business partners experienced as well.

I will certainly use the Shattuck Plaza next time I am in Berkeley!

Room Tip: Top floor or facing the back to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We asked for a quiet room. Got on over the physical plant. Moved to a room over Berkeley's main street. We specifically asked if it was quiet. Yes, we were told. No street life after 11 pm. This was as false as can be as troops of homeless camp out in front of the hotel, making noise at all hours. In addition, nearby subway entrance directs train noise directly to front of hotel. Stay away.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. If you must stay here (location would be great were it not for the noise and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Shattuck Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Address: 2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shattuck Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shattuck Plaza reopened in June 2009 as the jewel of downtown Berkeley, California. After a multimillion dollar renovation which combined the building’s historic charm with modern technologies and amenities, this landmark, boutique hotel provides an upscale haven for business or leisure travelers. Located two blocks from the UC Berkeley campus and next to the Berkeley BART station, the hotel is perfectly positioned for guests visiting the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Shattuck Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shattuck Plaza Hotel
Shattuck Plaza Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shattuck Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.